A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

THE END IS NIGH!!!!

… or is it?

It seems to me that everything is clouded by the threat of impending doom these days.

I can’t even count the number of T.V. shows I’ve watched in relation to this topic, let alone the movies, books, video games and even music that plays to the tune of “Armageddon”.

That’s really not so strange when you consider just how fragile humanity is. I suppose the delicacy of our race makes it only natural for us to fear our end.

It used to be that only the uneducated and mentally unstable took these fears to an extreme; went so far as to stockpile food and other goods and built bunkers in which they could hide out until the worst was over. Presently, however, it seems that the majority is infected by this doomsday bug, at least to some degree. Even those that refuse to buy into it can not deny they have thought about it, and likely often.

Today, surviving the end of the world is big business. Big business of course equals big money. It makes me a little sick that there are people out there cashing in on the fears of others, but really, this is nothing new.

Here we are living in a civilization built on extreme excess. Modern society trains us from day one that the more we get, the more we conquer, the better we are as people and the happier we will be. And yet no number of possessions seems to make us entirely content. We always want more. These wants get confused with needs to such a degree that we live well beyond our means in an attempt to have it all.

The fact that we’re also living in a world where the number of people using prescription, mood-altering drugs has been on a steady rise in recent years only serves to tell me that we’re not really achieving happiness through retail therapy, despite the vast add campaigns designed to dictate otherwise.

Now you take this hardwired need to have it all, blend in a little media hype about the end being nigh, shake well and voila!!! what we’ve got here is a recipe for a whole other breed of obsession. Of course the wealthy get the good bunkers while the poor get an extra box of tomato soup, but the rising fear is equal despite one’s financial situation.

Do I buy into the hype?

The truth is I have spent a great portion of my life focused on some dark vision of future destruction. It started for me when I about 7 years old. Instead of being asleep like a good little girl, I lingered in the shadows listening to the grownups discussing the implementation of Regan’s Star Wars program.

That was the first moment in my life that I realized the world in which we live is not an absolute and this knowledge has stayed with me ever since.

I’m a little ashamed to admit that I spent the better part of my teens convinced that the world would end in 1998, as predicted by Nostradamus, and when the world continued to spin I began focusing my attentions on Y2K… which was also a bust.

Over the years there has been at least half dozen other prophecies of the end (that I can recall) but 1998 and Y2K were my two big ones. After both those dates passed without incident, I think my paranoia started to lift.

But here we are again, on the brink of a major date prophesized to be the end. December 21, 2012 –the end of the Mayan long count calendar– has become a deadline of terror for many around the globe.

Deadly storms, aliens, polar shifts, the return of planet Nibiru, disease, nuclear holocaust… ah, so many daunting possibilities. Yet despite spending hours a day reading the latest news from around the globe; despite all the bizarre, hair-raising tidbits popping up now and then; I just haven’t found myself getting wrapped up in the paranoia.

Sure, I love to discuss the topic; what’s not fascinating about the end of times? And yes, the weather patterns have been a little peculiar of late, and there are hundreds of people around the globe reporting the observance of bizarre ‘trumpet-like’ sounds in the night sky. Yes, the possibility of a major epidemic popping up, or mutually assured destruction at the hands of our ‘leaders’ is always a possibility… but… likely?

I don’t know.

More importantly, I don’t think so.

While I do feel we are on the eve of great change, I don’t feel that that change is necessarily negative.

I think we need to change; urgently. I think our entire race is overdue for a tune up and for the first time in my little block of history I think people are waking up to the realization that even the most average amongst us now holds the power to change things.

Viva la internet!!! The average man’s super highway; the modern day path to enlightenment and the greatest known tool for constructing a new and better world.

Here in this cyber reality we the majority, we the average and we the concerned can openly share out thoughts and feelings and bring new idealism into a world starving for a little hope.

Here the underprivileged have access to the same great stores of knowledge as the wealthy.

Here we can all stand up for what we believe in and be heard.

And the best part?

Little by little we are proving that it does make a difference and with each success we grow a little bolder. Today its protests and petitions, but imagine what we can achieve over time?

So… the end of the world?

Likely not, but perhaps it is the end of the world as we know it, and I’m pretty much okay with that.

At any rate…

… good or bad, right or wrong, inspiring or completely inane… thanks for stopping by my own private universe.

Leave a Reply

