A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

An apology to an old friend…

My Dearest Poetry;

Yesterday I said some pretty harsh words, and though I know that you’re incapable of feeling the emotion that you’ve so often helped me to express, I feel an apology is in order.

You see, I was frustrated. I know that’s a lousy excuse, but that’s the meat of it. Yesterday, when I found myself labouring away at birthing yet another of your children instead of working on The Trinity, I just felt so annoyed… but that annoyance should have been pointed at myself; not you. You’ve done no wrong here and the blame is all my own. You can not be faulted for my inability to stay on task; all you’ve ever done is offer me inspiration and guidance.

Please believe that I could never hate you. You have been my truest and most cherished friend for more years now than I can even remember. You have been there for me when there was no one else in sight; holding my hand through the darkest moments and seeing me back through into the light. Whenever I found myself standing at a precipice; head down, eyes closed, arms thrown wide in a posture of utter defeat; you reached out for me and gently led me away from the edge.

No, my dearest friend, I could no more hate you than I could hate myself, for you are a part of me; a deeply important, wholly necessary part of me. I don’t know what I would have done without you over the years. I don’t know that I would have even made it this far.

And so I beg you, old friend, forgive me my transgressions. Continue to walk beside me as I journey through the world. Know that I am truly sorry and that I would be devastated beyond words if I ever lost you.

Eternally in your debt,

~Robin~

P.S.

Though I know I’m in no position to ask for more favours, I just beg that you refrain from impregnating my mind for at least three hours so I can finish the current chapter. I am way behind in my goals for this week and you, more than anyone, know how terrible I can be to myself when I start feeling inadequate. Thank you.

2 responses

  1. Brilliant , witty and so very clever

    February 24, 2012 at 12:01 am

    • Why, thank dear sir.

      February 24, 2012 at 10:08 am

Leave a Reply

