A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

21st Century Witch

I don’t think I’m a masochist, but I do begin four or five days a week by reading the news. I do this even though it often angers and/or upsets me, because I don’t believe that ignoring the mounting problems in our world is at all advantageous to making the world a better place; ignoring the issues certainly doesn’t make them go away… I know… I’ve tried.

One of my goals for the month of February is to find at least one thing in the news that doesn’t piss me off, break my heart, irritate or disturb me… I am finding it very difficult to meet this personal challenge. In fact, the only article that really met that criterion for me this morning was the sports report for the hockey game I attended last night (my team won – go team!). Perhaps there is some tidbit in the news today that would inspire hope, but I gave up after reading http://www.cnn.com/2012/02/18/world/asia/nepal-witchcraft-burning/. Unfortunately, my brain got caught up on this one, and like a dog with a bone, it wouldn’t stop gnawing… I just kept thinking of the little girl who witnessed her mother’s abuse and, ultimately, execution. I have yet to decide if I am more depressed or pissed off by this article. Regardless, the following poem was born as a result.

It’s in a pretty raw form right now, and likely I’ll come back and rework it at some point, but for now it simply is what it is, and I’m off to read blogs that are most likely to inspire a smile.

21st Century Witch

The demons; they came in human masks

to plunder all radiance from life,

for you see, she was my mother dear,

and not the devil’s wife.

Still, tearful did they drag the woman

up! out and through the street,

ten on one, as I ran weeping,

tripping over my own feet.

I cried out to her; my panic mounting;

but I could not reach her side.

She ordered me to run away,

but where was I to hide?

They beat her down with sticks and stones,

ignoring all my pleas.

They threw the straw and lit the match;

a cure for their disease?

The fear that twists men into beasts;

that sick and superstitious fright;

the madness that then stirred their hands

to extinguish mother’s light.

Look away, my lovely girl,”

she did cry out to me,

but all that I could think was ‘NO!’;

for there’s no way that this could be!

We are not lost in ignorant times;

in some medieval hell;

but still it was I saw true darkness

as I heard my mother’s knell.

Powerless, it was, I watched

as the flame licked across her skin.

Acidic, my tears did feel,

as they dribbled down my chin.

I witnessed the death of hope today;

I saw it devoured in a blaze;

it bled away with mother’s glow

and left me wandering and crazed.

Those demons now, will torment me

in dreams and nightmare fields,

for I have lost my mother dear,

and seen the evil each man wields.

6 responses

  1. I usually don’t like preludes to writing, but I fully enjoyed this one. Do you consider yourself an Essayist? It’s done quite well and really set up the poem. I totally relate to your sentiments (as a news junkie here), and really do work hard to find something good in it. 🙂

    The poem is so melancholy and tender and I love your descriptive language.

    Very impressive!

    Pete

    February 20, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    • Thanks. I don’t typically like preludes to writing either and I usually shy away from adding them myself… however, I had a pretty strong reaction to the news article and I did want to attach it to my poem. A link on its own might have been ignored or maybe even confusing… I don’t know. I don’t consider myself an essayist, but I am no stranger to the essay. A lot of what I write for myself (clinical explorations of life and my often emotional reactions to it) come out in essay form. I don’t always know that I start out for them to be that way, but sometimes, as I’m sure you know, writing has a will of its own. I’ll probably go back to reading the news later this afternoon if only to put more effort into hunting down something bright and positive for the day. In the meantime, yours was the first blog I went to hoping to find a little giggle… straight back to LOVE IS WHAT YOU WANT. Thanks Pete!

      February 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      • Oh remember though again that your intro really was very good. I’m not much of an essayist either but whenever I’m writing something “true” like from “how I see it” I consider it an essay. Even if it’s just silly haha 🙂

        February 20, 2012 at 1:18 pm

      • Of course, that makes sense!!
        I really appreciate the feedback… lol especially since the feedback is good! Thanks so much!

        February 20, 2012 at 1:22 pm

  2. Reblogged this on kylemew.com and commented:
    wonderful writing – real insight – true originality

    February 20, 2012 at 1:28 pm

  3. Pingback: New Orleans’ Baby « My Own Private Universe

Leave a Reply

