A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Masquerade

I’ve seen you here before – though then you wore a different face –

and while the surroundings may be altered, I’m sure it was this place.

I have sampled of your charms and I’ve tasted your warm skin

and I’ve longed to run my tongue across your cocky little grin.

Oh – we’ve played this game before, and though the memory’s not clear,

I know I’ve ached to drink your kiss and feel your hot breath in my ear.

I have heard your every line – though there’s something different in your voice –

and I have given myself blindly as if there were no other choice.

I have danced with you these steps – though the song was not the same –

and though I once wished you to leave, now I’m tickled that you came.

I’ve stared into your eyes – though now they’re green instead of blue –

and I have swallowed all your pretty words, knowing not a one was true.

We have done this all before – we’ve played the roles that we’ve been cast –

we’ve preformed this little masquerade of lusts not meant to last.

13 responses

  1. my god – you write so wonderfully – there must be a million men in love with you – there bloody should be

    February 25, 2012 at 11:42 am

    • lol you are way way way too flattering. Damned if I don’t love it though:P

      February 25, 2012 at 11:48 am

  2. First of all, I LOVE YOUR NEW DISPLAY PICTURE! 😀 I’m telling you there no way that I’m believing you’re a day above 20. NO WAY.

    “and I have swallowed all your pretty words, knowing not a one was true.” <- WOW!

    I love the poem. It's got so much depth. It's the perfect mixture of the pain and pleasure you feel of being in a dysfunctional relationship.

    February 25, 2012 at 11:42 am

    • haha thanks… gotta love the ability of a crappy cell camera to hide all the flaws :P. And I admit, I still get carded for smokes so I’m confidant that they’re not going to try and shove me in an old folks home just yet.
      I’m glad you like this poem! I like to think I’m over most of my insecurities these days – and sometimes I can actually convince myself of that – but the relief that comes with positive feedback on my writing is undeniable.

      February 25, 2012 at 11:52 am

      • Haha. I really doubt that there are any “flaws” to be hidden. 😛

        You? You’re insecure about your writing? WHY? It’s so beautiful. There’s no reason for you to believe other wise. You’ve got TRUE talent. Never forget that!

        February 25, 2012 at 11:56 am

      • Ah but I do adore you ever so!!!

        February 25, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      • And I you. 😛

        February 25, 2012 at 12:03 pm

  3. lookingforapurpose

    I liked this but never comented on it. Till now! lol

    It reminds me so much of how relationships usually go. I feel desire for alot of things and lusts. But in the end it goes like the poem. It is very moving, thank you for your blog. Even if i don’t comment i always read what you post.

    February 25, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    • Thank you very much. To me, this poem is pretty much the definition of dating.
      I’m loyally following along on your blog as well, even if I don’t always leave comments either.

      February 25, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      • lookingforapurpose

        Thank you 🙂 that means alot to me. I just hope its not disapointing.

        February 25, 2012 at 7:09 pm

      • Never! You’re so deep and insightful. I’d comment more often, but usually by the time I get there your many followers have already found more eloquent ways than I could to express the same things that have come in to my mind as I read.

        February 25, 2012 at 7:13 pm

      • lookingforapurpose

        P.S.

        I love the new profile pic of you to. 🙂

        February 25, 2012 at 7:14 pm

      • awww thanks :S

        February 25, 2012 at 7:15 pm

Leave a Reply

