A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

A Dedicated Dare

To laugh at ourselves is divine

and so I offer a dedicated dare

If only to find where I go

when I strip all insecurities bare.

What ideas I have in mind,

I give them the freedom to soar

to find themselves an oasis

somewhere upon a warm shore.

To be bold for some is easy,

to be daring, for others is hard.

To sample our own imperfections

can leave some of feeling too scarred.

Still words flow like water from thought,

as they splash down all over the page

and to let them have free will is wondrous;

especially in this pedestrian age.

To believe in ourselves as rare starts

and to allow our brilliance to shine;

well this is a thing i most covet,

and a talent I wish to call mine.

And so I offer this dedicated dare;

so clumsy as it wriggles for fame,

and I urge each of you to laugh with me

because I truly am glad that you came.

 

{From fingers, to page to publishΒ – in dedication to a brilliant mind – you know who you are}

 

22 responses

  1. “What ideas I have in mind, I give them the freedom to soar”

    Sigh. You are magic, m’dear. Pure magic.

    February 27, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    • LMAO you have to be kidding me!!! I am sitting here reading it and laughing at myself like you wouldn’t believe. Oi… there is a reason smart people never respond to dares.

      February 27, 2012 at 2:28 pm

      • What??? Why’re you laughing at it. It’s so nice, so full of passion! x_x STOP LAUGHING.

        Ah, but smart people are stupid. It’s WISE people that we’re looking for. They’re the ones who choose to take risks to reach for greatness. πŸ˜›

        February 27, 2012 at 2:38 pm

      • hehe yes… and you are definitely one of the wise ones. The laughing has tapered away now, now I’m just fighting the urge to go back and fix the typos… but I’m not going to do that! I REFUSE! hehe

        February 27, 2012 at 2:55 pm

      • Haha. DON’T then. Let it be raw.. πŸ˜›

        February 27, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      • Sure… why not. Who doesn’t like a little sushi now and then? πŸ˜›

        February 27, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      • *sigh* I’m craving sushi now. x_x

        February 27, 2012 at 3:07 pm

      • ya 😦 me too. Me and my big mouth!

        February 27, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      • One more day till March begins! When my allowance finally comes in, I’m gonna be treating myself to sushi! (Especially since I wouldn’t have eaten in two days. Gah.)

        February 27, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      • OMG WOMAN! Yes, yes eat sushi till you burst! I remember those days… I used to live on ramen noodles… I hate them now. I remember being so broke once that all I had left in my cupboard was a single can of corn… I split it between two days to make sure I had something to eat till payday lol. Ahhh… youth!

        February 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm

      • I’m in such a shitty state right now that I can’t even afford ramen, and I’m craving for a smoke SO BAD!! *sigh* 2 days, 2 days. *deep breath*

        It’s good to know that I’m not the only one who doesn’t know how to save on a limited budget. πŸ˜›

        February 27, 2012 at 3:25 pm

      • OMG you have no idea… I used to have to pick between what utilities to pay some months. I remember sitting in the dark craving a smoke and considering which organ I could best live without – you know, so I could sell it for food and smokes and stuff lol. Of course I never did get that brave… still got all the original parts.
        Here’s the secret I learned; when you get money for food, make sure you buy a couple of things that come cheap and last forever… like a HUGE bag of rice, or oatmeal, something like that. Then, even when you’re completely broke, you always have something to fall back on.

        February 27, 2012 at 3:31 pm

      • I’m gonna try that come the new month! πŸ˜›

        *sigh* As for cigarettes, I’ll probably go bum one off of someone tomorrow. Thankfully, most of the people I know smoke. *wooohooo*

        February 27, 2012 at 3:33 pm

      • Amen for a bounty of those with bad habits!

        February 27, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      • Haha. Amen!

        February 27, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    • Though… aside from having some hideously ugly typos… it may have some slight merit. At the very least, it was a learning experiment.

      February 27, 2012 at 2:31 pm

  2. Wonderful. You already have a talent that I’m pretty jealous of: the ability to write poetry. It’s a skill that has always evaded me, and I’m glad to run into others who can wield it so well.

    Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

    February 27, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    • Wow thank you for the kind words. πŸ™‚

      February 27, 2012 at 6:03 pm

  3. i love this

    February 27, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    • I’m glad you like it! I’ll have to get back to you later.. my life exploded again lol

      February 27, 2012 at 6:11 pm

      • i know the feeling, happened here too earlier – forgive me if i have to go to bed :p

        February 27, 2012 at 6:18 pm

  4. Thanks I’m laughing! πŸ™‚ Perfect cadence and structure in this poem, and very affirming too.

    Love it.

    February 28, 2012 at 2:35 am

Leave a Reply

