A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

The Unwanted

{Here is the first of the ‘old stuff’ I warned you about. I wrote this in grade 10 for an English assignment – it earned me a three day suspension. I wrote it as a direct statement against my teacher at the time (I think her name was Mrs. Hansen, but I don’t really remember), instigated by the woman’s comments just days earlier. She’d voiced her opinion that nobody ended up on the streets (homeless) unless they deserved to be there. I’d just left home about two months previous and was struggling to get through school while working two jobs to pay bills (I’d attempted to get emancipated so that I could get financial aide, and been turned down) and there was a very scared part of me that could easily envision a future wherein I ended up on the streets myself, so I took her comments as a direct slap in the face and I wanted to slap her back. In retrospect, it was not a very healthy way to deal with the situation – I know this – but at the time I thought I was brilliantly clever. She had each student read their poetry assignment out loud at the front of the class. That’s where I started my presentation, but by the time I got to the end, she was attempting to shut me up and so I’d jumped up on a desk and was practically screaming it out, to the great amusement of my classmates. Ah, good times.}

The Unwanted

Spoiled

Pampered

Pretentious

Close your eyes…

Step away…

So far away from your perfect little world

Enter the real world.

Hate

Anger

Corruption

Confusion so deep it drowns you

Drowns me

Sadness in the eyes of those you ignore

In the eyes of those you’ve never met

The weak

The meek

The Unwanted

Littering the streets like garbage.

Society puts them there;

Hunger

Disease

Death

Starving for the things in life you take for granted

STOP!

Don’t leave yet!

Don’t step away!

Don’t be afraid;

It’s not your face amongst the homeless

Where are you going?

Are you ill?

Is there something you’ve forgot?

YOU are society

You fucking hypocrite

We all are

But you turn away…

Why?

Look to what we’ve created;

He, who has the most toys, wins

Fuck generosity!

Fuck humanity!

NO

FUCK YOU!!!

Are my words too harsh?

Look to the people;

That there, my friend, is the harshest

Profanity that you will ever

Hear

See

Ignore.

11 responses

  1. if it don’t get you suspended, then it ain’t no good

    March 1, 2012 at 9:17 am

    • heh! That’s one way of looking at it.

      March 1, 2012 at 11:16 am

  2. Haha. I just played the film in my head while reading the poem. You start off as a tween in the front of the class, reading the poem, grasping the paper in both your hands. As you go on, the teacher realizes and her eyes widen in horror. She tries to reach for you, but you sprint and climb onto one of the desks until finally you’re done reading.

    *sigh* I have a weird mind. I don’t really see words as words. It’s like I have a projector in there. Lol.

    Beautiful work though! LOVE it!

    March 1, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    • HAHA that’s pretty much how it happened! And don’t worry… that’s how my brain works too. I often find myself giggling away at little scenarios running privately through my brain.

      March 1, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      • Haha. I swear! Which is why it’s so hard for me to keep my expressions in check more than half of the time. Lol.

        March 1, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      • lmao I know the feeling. I am really bad for giggling at the most inappropriate times… or even just grinning like a fool… and it usually has nothing to do with the situation I’m actually in but with the crazy in my brain lol.

        March 1, 2012 at 12:35 pm

      • Hahaha! I totally understand. Somehow whenever I’m being scolded or being told off, I have this insane grin on my face which leads people to be believe that I’m not sorry at all when the truth of the matter is that whatever their talking about is probably the last thing on my mind. Lol.

        *sigh* Us poor people. So gravely misunderstood.

        March 1, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      • yes, *sigh* poor us. I once couldn’t contain a fit of giggles at a funeral… I found nothing funny at that time, I just felt really uncomfortable and somehow that mutated into giggles. I was not very popular that day!

        March 1, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      • Aaaah. I can imagine.

        March 1, 2012 at 12:55 pm

  3. This is so powerful! I wonder if you were in school today if it would still earn a detention. I guess it would depend on the teacher….
    Love it!

    March 1, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    • Ha, these days I don’t think it would stir as much of a stink… I’d have to be a lot more creative to achieve any kind of shock now.
      I’m really glad you like though… thanks:)

      March 1, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

