A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Challenge Day 02: Something you love about yourself

Over the years (I do say that a lot, don’t I?) there are many things that I have come to love about myself. However, for the purpose of this challenge – and to avoid sounding entirely narcissistic – I am going to focus on my favourite thing (at least at this moment in time). And what, you ask, is my favourite thing about myself this fine morning? Well, my ability to make myself laugh, of course.

I was intending on – at some point – doing a post entitled, ‘If it makes you feel good, do it…’ but this challenge offers an opportunity to deem that unnecessary…

You see, I am a firm believer in the healing powers of laughter and I think that most of us have a ‘Break-In-Case-Of-Emergency’ chuckle button backup for those situations that leave us feeling less than buoyant. For some that would be a funny friend, a favourite movie or poem or song, or maybe you just dive into a much-loved, witty WordPress blog that has given you a giggle in the past. These are all great things… and all things that are in my ‘Break-In-Case-Of-Emergency’ box as well… but I simply love that I have the power to give myself the gift of giggles. I will be the first to admit that many of my methods for doing so are not exactly fitting to a woman of my years – yes, I have moments of great and terrible immaturity – and that the average person would (likely) get absolutely no amusement from the things that twist my lips… it is what is.

So what, you ask, are some of these awesome and awfully immature methods for bringing myself to giggles? Oh, I am so glad you asked!

If I happen to be in a department store when I’m feeling down (or if I’m feeling blue enough I’ll just go to one), there is an almost sure-fire way to get me in a good mood; even if it pisses off nearly everyone else around (Oops). I love – like, LOVE it – going down the toy aisles and pressing every button, pulling every string and/or flipping every switch on every single talking, laughing, dancing, burping, crying (you get the picture) toy in sight. This is doubly awesome at Christmas time in the seasonal section because a billion and one cutesy-cartoonish characters shaking their rears while singing a cacophony of carols is about the funniest thing in the world (to me). I’ll go from one end of an aisle to the other trying to get all the toys going in unison – this is much harder to do than it might sound – and before long, I’m usually laughing like a fool.

If I’m feeling just a little blah, but not completely down (this only works for minor blahs) I go on facebook and post leading headlines just to get a chuckle out of the feedback. Here’s the thing, everyone who knows me knows full well that I’m not the ‘boo-hoo pity-party-for-me’ type. You will never see me sign on to facebook and gripe about how I feel sick today (unless I can find away to spin it into a joke), how I’m feeling like the world is out to get me or how I wish the world would just cut me some slack. (Note: You people may not be so blissfully spared from my down days – and yes, I do have them – since this is a place of writing, and writing is supposed to be honest, and honesty is sometimes dark, sad, angry or self-pitying, but please note that if I write a post about the shitty day I’m having, I’m not fishing for sympathy, just saying what’s on my mind) You’ll never see me post pictures of my dinner either – totally off topic, but that drives me bonkers so I thought I’d throw it out there.

While I’m not the type to fish for sympathy from my peers, my peers (knowing this full well about me since everyone on my facebook – with the exception of maybe six long time internet buddies – know me in person) continue to fall for these ‘leading headlines’.

Here’s how this game works… I’ll go on and I will post something like “Oh my god! I can’t believe this is happening to me! :(” and within twenty minutes I have a ten to fifteen people going “Oh hunny, what’s wrong?” “Hang in there, it will be okay” “Is everything all right?” “What’s going on? Can I help?” “Do you want me to call?”… Do you people even pay attention? You fell for this EXACT same line two weeks ago! At some point I will go back on and post my response to their responses. It will typically be something like “Me bum fell asleep… but it’s better now… thank you!!” (Taken from an actual post)

The funniest thing about this is that a simple “Oh damn!” comment will pull in an easy fifteen responses in as many minutes, while I’m lucky to get a thumbs up for a “Wow! What a beautiful day!”… People are drama mongers, and for whatever reason, I’ve managed to turn this into a game for my amusement. If that makes me look like a terrible person, well… you obviously haven’t been inside my head. I don’t do it to be mean or take advantage of people’s kindness. I don’t know exactly why I do it, other than that it can make me grin (and sometimes even LOL) and I am ever so addicted to good moods that I rarely deny myself anything that will put me in one.

Another thing that I do for my personal amusement is move random objects around on people and then feign complete ignorance. Keys, cups, glasses, cell phones… whatever…. I’ll just pick them up from one place and deposit them somewhere else. I’ll sit back and watch my victim go half out of their mind trying to find said item, then scratch their heads befuddled by how the object ended up where it ended up. The funniest thing about this to me is that the only person who’s ever figured out that I do this is my oldest daughter (she’s actually started playing this game herself, but she knows better than to set her devious sights on the master). I have been doing it for more years than I can even remember, and yet I’ve never been caught snickering in the corner… that in itself just about kills me every time.

There are many other equally trivial things that I do to make myself laugh, but I could go on about them all day, so we’ll leave it at that. And do you know what the strangest thing is? People who don’t know me well would likely never guess that I laugh half so often as I do. There is a strange/intensity about my eyes, you see, that sometimes leads people to believe that I am a much darker soul that I actually am, especially if they’ve caught me in one of my frequent moments of thoughtful concentration. People I meet online (until we get to know each other) rarely guess that I’m big on laughter either, since I don’t take pictures of myself smiling. The truth to that one is that I simply can not take a picture of myself smiling– I end up looking like I’m being held at gunpoint when I fake smile for the camera. The best I can manage on that note is a sort of sinister half-grin.

Despite people’s first impressions of me, I laugh, giggle, smile, grin (and even occasionally laugh-snort) all the time. I laugh at myself and with myself. I laugh at the world and the irony often found it. I laugh at stupid things like comedy movie headshots, and I laugh at cats that lose their balance. I laugh at the five inches of butt crack showing on the guy in front of me at the grocery store, and I laugh at the old lady who farts in the middle of a restaurant…

… I laugh, I love that I laugh, and I especially love that I can make myself laugh.

10 responses

  1. Haha. I love this!! When I go shopping the next time around, I am so doing this! I’ve never actually tried that method before.

    Your post literally made me laugh like a hyena. No joke. My neighbor was on his balcony and he thought I’d gone mad, mostly because he could only see the top of my head and didn’t now I was using the laptop. Lol. *sigh* All my neighbors think I’m insane by time point anyway, so it doesn’t make much of a difference. XD

    March 2, 2012 at 10:15 am

    • HAHAHA that’s so kickass! I love making other people laugh as much as I love making myself laugh. And, btw, it’s good to have at least a few people that think you’re insane:P… it keeps them on their toes.

      March 2, 2012 at 10:18 am

      • Haha. Somehow I can never make other people laugh. My sense of humour is really twisted in some way that I even don’t understand.

        A few people? EVERYONE I know thinks I’m insane at one level or another, depending on how well they know me. Lol.

        March 2, 2012 at 10:22 am

      • lol most people don’t get my sense of humour either, so don’t feel bad. And while not everyone thinks I’m crazy anymore, enough of them still do to make it amusing!

        March 2, 2012 at 10:26 am

  2. Nobody makes me laugh like I do, but you are coming pretty close.

    March 2, 2012 at 11:05 am

    • Whoot! It’s always nice to come across another proficient self-amuser!

      March 2, 2012 at 11:17 am

      • self amusement is nice, but it never hurts to have someone else join in.

        March 2, 2012 at 11:20 am

      • So very, very true!

        March 2, 2012 at 11:20 am

  3. gypsy116

    I love this, you just a laugh out of me 🙂

    March 2, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    • Excellent!! I am so glad.

      March 2, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Leave a Reply

