A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Challenge Day 08: Someone who has made your life hell, or treated you like shit

I think if this question were put to damn near anyone on our little green and blue globe, they’d have a list of names on the tips of their tongues. Maybe I’m wrong, but I don’t think so. On that note, I’m really no different than the average Joe – or Jane, as it were. I have my list of past offenders, and every now and then I add a new name or two to the directory; there’s an employee at my local Walmart by the name of Patty – for example – who recently made my brain bleed with her amazing stupidity and excessive rudeness; though a lot of them are only temporary fixtures who eventually get entirely forgotten.

While I could now choose from any of many on my personal list – wrongdoers great and minor – for some reason one name popped instantly to mind when I  read the prompt; Roxanne Bro… er Green (I guess she should have an alias too).

I have not seen Roxanne since I was eleven or twelve years old – haven’t thought of her at all in ages – so I’m not sure why she was the first to come to mind now. I am curious to see where this goes, however, and so I’ll just roll with it.

Roxanne Green was my elementary school bully. She was only a year or two older but she had a face, I recall, that was somewhat resemblant to that of a haggard old man’s. She had a curly mop of wiry, dark brown hair that always reminded me a little of a brillo pad, and these cruel, beady little black eyes (I don’t know if they were actually black or if my mind is inventing details to fill in the gaps left by time) that had an almost piggish quality about them. She was easily mistaken for a boy at even the slightest distance, and she was – as most bullies are – mean.

This girl tormented the hell out of me nearly every day for the better part of the fifth grade. During the lunch hour she’d seek me out just to hassle me, and after school I had the misfortune of sharing a travel route home with her, so she always had plenty of opportunity to poke, push, punch, pinch, trip, tease and generally torture me.

Because of how my family is (not referring here to just parents, but my very large family of cousins, aunts, uncles and the sort) kids growing up in my clan usually didn’t have to worry too much about tormentors that didn’t share the bloodline. In my hometown, my DNA goes back (literally) to the founding fathers and a good 30% of them (throughout the generations) have been well known scrappers, low level drug dealers and generally, all around thugs. As I got older I learned to loathe this about my kin, but as a kid the gene pool did offer certain advantages; number 1: we didn’t get bullied! So imagine my dismay when my mother shoved me into the only school in town not spilling over with my relations. Imagine next my even greater dismay when I somehow managed to land myself a bully!

Now, being as that I went to school in a time before kids started habitually shooting up their classmates over the trauma caused by bullying, as a rule, we didn’t tend to talk about such things. Back in my day (now I feel really old) kids just dealt with it in their own quiet way. Of course, back then it seemed like bullies were a lot less inventive. At any rate, it never occurred to me to tell anyone about my bully, and it certainly never occurred to me to act out in violence.

Roxanne Green was – for a time – the bane of my existence. I ate, slept and breathed thoughts of her for the greater part of a year, right up until the day she made one tiny – fateful – mistake. One afternoon – perhaps bored with my noncommittal responses to her constant taunting – she turned her beady little, bullying gaze towards my little sister. Often in my life (particularly in my young life) I have only found my own strength when faced with someone else’s well being – most often with my siblings – and this was one of those moments. The second that Roxanne turned her attention on my sister I turned into a wild thing. I threw myself at the poor girl; scrawny arms flailing, feet kicking, claws clawing, teeth chomping… the works. I toppled her over and kept pulling on her brillo pad of a hairdo until clumps of the frizzy mess littered the alleyway. The poor girl was shrieking and crying so loud that the old lady in the nearest house came rushing – if hobbling with a walker can be called rushing – to her defence.

The sweet little old lady was coming down the alley hollering something like, “You trouble making little whippersnappers stop that this instant!” (I have no actual recollection of what she hollered at us that afternoon, but my brain finds this amusing so I’ll roll with it).

As the woman’s voice reached into the bowels of my brain, I suddenly stopped yanking on the hair, looked up with eyes as big as saucers, glanced at my little sister – who’s eyes were even bigger and expression even more surprised than my own – glanced back into the horrified eyes of my one-time bully, and realised for the first time what I’d just done. With the little old lady still hobble-rushing towards us – still about sixty or so feet away – I leapt up, grabbed my sister by the hand and dragged her in a stumble-run all the way home.

The brillo-headed, piggy-eyed older girl never picked on me again after that day – in fact, I think she went out of her way to avoid me, since we never walked home the same route again – but for a time, Roxanne Green treated me like shit, and generally made my life a living hell.

15 responses

  1. awesome – i love how you point out how people we hate fill our thoughts almost as much as the people we love
    and i love the phrase “bowels of my brain”
    nice work – i am loving this series

    March 8, 2012 at 9:09 am

    • heh! I’m rather enjoying it myself… some days more than others though.

      March 8, 2012 at 9:09 am

  2. She reminds me of the headmaster in Matilda. Lol.

    March 9, 2012 at 11:31 am

    • HAHAHAHAHA ya… she was a special breed of girl.

      March 9, 2012 at 11:32 am

      • Lol. Kudos to you though, for beating her up like that! 🙂 I’m very very proud.

        March 9, 2012 at 11:34 am

      • lmao it was the first time I ever did anything like that… what a heady damn feeling! It’s probably the only reason I even remember the whole thing so well.

        March 9, 2012 at 11:37 am

      • Haha. The first huge fight I had was in the 1st grade. This girl, my mom’s best friend’s daughter, pissed me off, so I gave her a fat lip. 😛

        March 9, 2012 at 11:40 am

      • HAH! Sweetness!! My oldest did that to the daughter of the girl who used to babysit her… the kid kept picking at her and it was driving her nuts so her dad told her to just punch the kid in the mouth – jackass was joking, but she took him seriously. It was actually kind of funny, even if we’re not supposed to laugh about that kind of thing, lol.
        In my early youth, I was way too nice to ever think about hitting someone, no matter how terrible they were. I grew out of that, lol, but ya, I was a really nice little kid.

        March 9, 2012 at 11:43 am

      • Hahaha. I like your eldest daughter! 😛 GIRL POWER!

        I’ve never been a big fan of beating up people either, but she just ALWAYS pushed the wrong buttons.

        March 9, 2012 at 12:03 pm

      • Sometimes – though rarely it seems – violence is the only way to achieve peace. And sometimes… it just feels right to pop someone in the nose!

        March 9, 2012 at 12:05 pm

      • When you’re a kid, it’s the best time to kick someone’s ass. People just laugh it off. 😛

        March 9, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      • lol so true! I’m a little afraid my little one’s going to be a scrapper. Every time another kid takes something from her, or even bumps into her, she’s really quick to respond with hitting. I’m all about defending yourself… but I don’t really want to end up with a bully on my hands!

        March 9, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      • Oo. That would be a change on perspective.. I’ve never known a bully personally.. Lol..

        March 9, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      • heh, I’m not really too overly concerned with it… she’s my kid so I’m not about to let her get away with being a meanie for no good reason… but you never know. One has to remain vigilant! 😛

        March 9, 2012 at 12:40 pm

      • YAYIEE! Awesome mommy award! 😛

        March 9, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Leave a Reply

