A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

New Orleans’ Baby

{During the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina in 2005, I was sitting in an airport lounge watching a news program discussing the devastation of the storm. Along the bottom of the screen scrolled snippets of tales; bodies found, people missing, etc.; and one of these stories reported the discovery of a mother and infant found dead in the attic of a ruined house; they’d died of thirst and starvation, having waited too long for rescue. There were a lot of stories similar to this at the time – as I’m sure most of you will recall – but for some reason this one in particular twisted something inside of me. I scribbled the following poem on a napkin with tears free flowing down my face – openly sobbing even though I’m not fond of doing such things in public. I’ve been trying to locate this poem to share with you ever since I wrote 21st Century Witch (I believe they share a few commonalities) and I finally managed to stumble across the proper file this morning. ~Robin}

{Image: The Gift – Mother with Infant by Vikki North}

~

New Orleans’ Baby

Hush now, my New Orleans’ baby,

Lay your head on my bosom and sleep.

Rest now, my sweet little angel,

There is no reason for us to weep.

You’ll see that things soon will get better,

For someone is destined to come.  

We live in the richest of nations,

So rest now; just listen to mum.

Hush now, my dear little darling

Mommy’s here to keep her babe warm.

We’ll soon be released from this nightmare

I assure you; we’ll come to no harm.

We live in a country too great

To ever stand casually by

Watching as hundreds and hundreds of people

Waste slowly away and die.

Hush now; there’s no need to fear love;

It’s only a matter of time.

For to ignore the pleas of its people

Would be some other society’s crime.

But you and I now, my precious,

Will never know such a dark fate

For soon – you will see dear – they’re coming

And our lives again will be great.  

Hush now my sweet cherished baby,

We’ll soon find our way back to the light.   

Be strong now my dearest, I beg you; 

Please, don’t you give up on the fight.

Oh – why do you lay there so still love?

Wake, and let me assure you we’re fine.

This can’t be allowed to happen

No, not in this great country of mine!

Hush now my tiny beloved,

I’ll never believe that it’s true

But if this is the way that you need it,

Than mommy will lay quiet too.

Yes mommy will close her eyes dear,

And we’ll both just drift for awhile

For if I never feel your pulse, love

I can coast peacefully into denial.

So hush now, My New Orleans’ baby,

and mommy will hum you a song .

We’ll rest here, but just for a moment;

For our salvation will be right along   

10 responses

  1. That’s very deep. It brought humanity to those who were lost in the chaos that was Hurricane Katrina. Thanks for sharing it.

    March 8, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    • Thank you for reading it. It was one of those moments in human history that deserves to never be forgotten.

      March 8, 2012 at 9:00 pm

  2. Wow. That was really beautiful! 😀

    March 9, 2012 at 11:38 am

    • Thank you ma’am!
      I haven’t started reading blogs yet today… I barely took time enough to write the last challenge because I’m working on a new story, but I WILL definitely get to reading them soon. I’m assuming (hoping) that you have some juicer details about yesterday up in your latest post, so I’m looking forward to that.

      March 9, 2012 at 11:40 am

      • I’m doing my catching up right now. Lol.

        I haven’t written about my day YET. I got a request to write about how to go about celebrating, so I wrote a post about that as of now.

        I’ll write about my day soon. I’m just so so tired. I’m still recovering from yesterday. Lol.

        Hope to see your new post SOON! 😀

        March 9, 2012 at 11:46 am

      • Aww ya, I bet you’re beat. Sounds like it was a crazy busy day. Don’t stress about getting the writing done… your readers (me too, me too!!) will wait.
        My new post (well, what I’m working on – still don’t know if it’s entirely post worthy yet) is kind of different. It’s a lot darker than most of what I’ve previously posted, and since I couldn’t tell if it wanted to be a poem or a story, I did both. If i end up posting, I’ll put up both poem and story, but it might be strange, lol.

        March 9, 2012 at 11:49 am

      • I am SO tired. I’ve even slept like a baby, but I don’t feel I’m recharged AT ALL.

        I really really do wanna write it all out though before the memories start getting hazy. I was intoxicated for most of it, so I don’t even know how much of it I remember.

        Haha. I’m looking forward to this “dark” post of yours. 😛 Sounds like it’s gonna be very very interesting.

        March 9, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      • Awww! Just do a quick voice recording on your computer about the events… that’s what I do sometimes with ideas so I don’t lose them when i have no time to write them down…. you can get back to it tomorrow, or whenever you feel more up to it.
        Like i said… still not sure if it will be post worthy… I hope so, lol, but I’ve had a lot of failed experiments this last week.

        March 9, 2012 at 12:14 pm

      • Ooo. That’s a good idea. I should keep that in mind for later. 😛

        The post will be fine. Don’t worry about it.

        March 9, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  3. Pingback: The Word Factory… « My Own Private Universe

Leave a Reply

