A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Challenge Day 11: Something people seem to compliment you the most on…

One of the things that tends to garner me the most compliments; physically speaking; is my eyes. This is a little strange since my eyes are also (often) the cause of many unusual comments – not really insults, more like odd observations. I suppose this is one of those eye-of-the-beholder deals, which I’m entirely okay with, I just find it a little curious from time to time.

I have been told that I have beautiful eyes… I’ve also been told that there seems to be something a little creepy about my optic orbs. I’ve been told that I have ‘bedroom’ eyes… and I’ve been told that there is a very unnerving quality about my gaze. I’ve been told that I have very haunting eyes; sometimes this is a compliment, and sometimes I’m not entirely sure what it’s meant to be; and I’ve been told that I have the eyes of an ‘old soul’; whatever the hell that’s supposed to mean. I’ve had a little old lady try to chase me off because she said I had, and I quote, “the devil inside”; she claimed she could see him in my eyes; and I’ve (though quite infrequently) had people tell me that I have very innocent eyes. Eye-of-the-beholder, and all that jazz; what can I do but shrug?

Now if we’re going to go beyond physical traits for this topic, I’d have to say that I’m most often complimented on either my vocabulary, or my OCD-like organizational skills. When it comes to my vocabulary, you should know that I think a lot of the people in my day-to-day life are a little too easy to impress. I don’t walk around talking in perfect English; this is a skill that’s beyond my grasp; and I never (EVER) use words like whom (even when I know it’s the proper thing to do). I do, however, like to play a lot of word games, and I do like to find more interesting ways of saying common things because I’m rather fond of being a little different. Plus (for me) this is another way to be constantly practicing my writing skills – and I feel I need a lot of practice.

Additionally (just a fun side note), I have favourite words and hated words; I hate the word ‘moist’ and I love the word ‘insidious’, for example; and every now and then I get stuck on a word that – for whatever reason – tickles me for a time. Whatever that word happens to be (last week – or was it the week before? – I was really hung up on the word ‘debauchery’) I’ll go out of my way to find uses for it both in my writing, and in conversations in the really-real world. Why do I do this? I have no idea, it just sort of happens.

When it comes to compliments on my OCD-like organizational skills, I again think people are often too easy to impress. If this knack for maintaining order reached to all corners of my life, I might think otherwise, but it does not. I am a chronic list maker and when it comes to my vast collections of movies, music, books, and videogames I can be a little obsessive; for example, I have a 300+ page guide book containing my entire movie collection (each page boasting five titles a piece and neatly preserved in a plastic sleeve) complete with illustrations, minor descriptions and listings of the top 3 billed actors for each film; but when it comes to a lot of other aspects of my life, I’m lucky if I even know what’s going on; for example, I lose my cell phone and wallet an average of twice a day, and my desk frequently looks like the site of some natural disaster. That’s me though, two sides to damn near every coin, in this case… order and anarchy twined so tightly together that one is often difficult to tell from the other.

12 responses

  1. Word games! Wooohooo!

    Love the post though. The devil in your eyes? REALLY? 0_0 It would majorly creep me out if anyone ever said that to me.

    Also, please come visit and organize all of my crap! I have so much stuff just LAYING around that I don’t even know about until I stumble across a few months later.

    March 14, 2012 at 7:21 am

    • Seriously… she wasn’t messing around either, she tried to hit me with her bag. I really felt weird for awhile after that… like I believed her or something. LOL
      Ya, the things that I keep in perfect order I think (in part) comes down to my eternal obsession with office supplies. I love binders and plastic sleeves and pretty looking presentations… anything I can turn into a pretty book gets turned into a pretty book. LOL I even started a new binder for all of my WordPress posts… even though I have all this stuff saved in other folders. Weird eh?

      March 14, 2012 at 7:24 am

      • I love stationary, I really do but somehow everything ends up OVERFLOWING. It’s so pissing off. Or maybe I just have too much crap that I should just throw out. Oooo. You print your posts??

        Crap dude. Evil little lady! You should’ve just smacked her back and said, “If I am the devil, do you really think hitting me with a bag is going to save you? REALLY?”

        March 14, 2012 at 7:37 am

      • haha no see, I’ve always been super respectful of the elderly… I actually felt bad that I was causing her obvious distress… like it took me hours to start feeling irritated by the situation.
        And yes – all in pretty plastic sleeves. It looks awesome lol.
        I just ordered an entire box of my favourite binders from Staples.. this weekend I’m looking to drop around $150 bucks just on stationary and whatnot. I told you… I have a sickness!

        March 14, 2012 at 7:40 am

      • I respect the elderly too.. But only the sane! x_x Not the ones who’re gonna say that the devil is in me. That’s just WRONG. Old or young.

        Hahaha. I LOVE YOU ALL THE MORE! I spent all of my birthday money at Staples last year. Heehee. I plan on buying a few more things this month if I manage to save up. WOOHOO.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:49 am

      • One of my worst expenses is pens… I love pens of all colours and sizes BUT there is only one type of pen I really like writing with, and they cost like 4 bucks a piece (you can get a box of ten for around 22 bucks though). I just ran my last one dry the other night… I have to go pick up a box or two this weekend. PLUS I need more printer ink and more printer paper… the box of binders will be just about the cheapest out of all of it lol.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:52 am

      • Marry me? Seriously.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:00 am

      • Okay… let’s do it. Ohhhhh then we get cake!

        March 14, 2012 at 8:06 am

      • AND AND we can register for gifts! 😛 (*hint* stationary *hint*)

        March 14, 2012 at 8:18 am

      • ohhhhhh! I wonder if Staples has a registry! How flippin cool would that be?

        March 14, 2012 at 8:21 am

      • They would they would! THAT WOULD BE THE BEST-EST THING EVER!

        March 14, 2012 at 8:40 am

      • I know, right?

        March 14, 2012 at 8:41 am

Leave a Reply

