A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Ashes2Ashes – Part 3/3

WARNING: The following story may be offensive to some readers.

(Part 1/3)

(Part 2/3)

Afterwards, when he’d invited her to walk with him along the beach, it had seemed like such a perfectly romantic notion that it never even occurred to her that he might not be all that he appeared to be… 

~

His animalistic grunts were interrupted by the ringing of a bell. He growled and rolled off her, leaving her sprawled across the table, pausing only briefly – almost as an afterthought – to strike her solidly in the right temple with the balled hammer of his fist. Dazed – but driven back into the moment by the blow – she lay where he’d left her as he rushed from the room.

She could hear hushed voices; his sounded a little anxious; but couldn’t make out the age or gender of the visitor. She tried to tell herself that it didn’t matter; nothing mattered but that she lay still and silent, and wait for a time when her mind would no longer connect with her bodily tissue. She told herself it would happen soon; that shortly she’d be freed of this torment forever… and all she need do was maintain perfect motionlessness.  

But though she cautioned herself to stay silent, she could hear a strange mewling wail rising in her throat. Without making a conscious decision to call out, she suddenly heard her own voice issuing from her cracked and swollen lips. “Help,” she rasped. And then again, much louder, “Help me! Please… please… help me!”   

She heard the voices rise in the other room. She heard his nervous laugher, the door slamming shut and then the thumping of footsteps as he barrelled back towards her.

All at once, she knew that calling out had been a terrible mistake; no one was going to help her and all it had done was unhinge the physical calm she’d worked so hard to achieve. Panic washed over her, swept through her and threatened to drown her.

She found herself scrambling off the table, but her limbs weren’t responding quite right. She rolled to the floor with a loud thud, knocking her elbow against the leg of a chair. She winced at the new agony in her knees and arm, and immediately began crawling in the opposite direction of the approaching footfall. In a lurching creep, she managed to make it across the threshold and into the kitchen. She could see a sliding glass door peeking out at her from beneath heavy drapes and felt the first surge of hope she’d known in… was it weeks… or months? She kept scrambling forward on all fours, telling herself she could make, she could make, she could…

One hand closed around the nape of her neck, the other reached around to clasp tightly on her throat. He yanked her – flailing and screaming – off the ground, twisted her around so that she could see the horrible amusement in his eyes, and half pushed-half threw her towards the doorway she’d just scrambled through. The side of her skull erupted with pain as she connected with a corner, and her vision swam with the brilliance of stars. He took two quick steps forward and reached down to twine his fingers through her hair. With the other hand, he took hold of her throat again, and pulled her into a standing position with his face just inches from her own.  

“It’s good to have you back, Ash,” he hissed. His lips curled into a grin and she could see that awful delight in his eyes that denoted the beginning of a new lesson. His grin widened, and he smashed her head against the wall at her back.  

She heard herself whimpering and fought to reclaim the silence that had been so comforting just minutes earlier; but she’d given up that control, and couldn’t seem to relocate it now. She tried to look away, to disappear into the safety of dreams, but they wouldn’t come to claim her.

With his hand still in her hair, he dragged her – scrambling in his wake– across the tiled floor. He flung open the basement door and she heard him chuckle as he shoved-kicked her across the brink. She felt herself toppling – felt something in her side crack, and a finger dislocate – going head over heels as she flailed downwards. The floor seemed to appear too quickly and she went sprawling – face first – into the cement. Instinct spurred her into movement as he began the decent behind her. She slithered forward on her belly trying to get her legs moving beneath her.

And then he was on her again, a horrid growl rumbling from his throat, “What the fuck do you think you’re doing, Ashley? You know you can’t leave me… you know you need me you little bitch.” For just a moment, his laughter filled the air before dropping off as quickly as it had begun. His tone grew poisonous as he said, “Oh… you will thank me later for this lesson.”

She whimpered, “No… p-please, no more…” And he kicked her in the ribs once and then again. He gripped her by one arm and flipped her over so that she was lying on her back. He knelt with a knee on her chest; pinning the air in her lungs even as she struggled to release it and draw a fresh breath; and began battering her face with blow after blow.

The room around her began to sway… began to swim… and the last image in her mind before she slipped into the merciful embrace of unconsciousness, was the sweet illusion of his face below her, and her fists battering against it. 

~

A girlfriend had suggested the chat room as a place to meet people. “It’s fun,” she’d said. “You’ll like it,” she’d claimed.

Ashley’s schedule made it difficult to get out much, and it had been ages since she’d last been on a date, but the idea of hooking up with strangers seemed dodgy at best. Still, she’d allowed her friend to set her up an account, and after an hour or so of watching the colourful text constantly scrolling up the screen, she’d found enough courage to join in on the conversation.

That was the first link in the chain of errors she now dangled by, and it all began with a shy, “Hi!” typed in neon pink, Tempus Sans ITC.

For the following month she’d spent her evenings on the site. Gradually, it ceased to matter that the room seemed an unlikely place to meet Prince Charming, since she found herself enjoying the general camaraderie, with or without romance. It was nice to socialize without the hassle of going out to a noisy club, even if she’d likely never meet a single person behind the vibrant font.

By the time he introduced himself, she’d moved past the idea of finding true love through the medium of her computer, and so it came as a complete surprise when it appeared to have found her.

It all began with a simple “Hi” typed into an IM box in navy-blue, Times New Roman font.

 

Devon27: Hi!

Ashes2Ashes: Hi 🙂

 

By the end of that first week, she was staying up too late each night just to get an extra five minutes longer with Devon27. They talked about everything; their day to day lives, their dreams, their goals, their likes and dislikes; and she found herself sharing things with him that she’d never imagined herself sharing with any man.

By the end of the second week, they’d moved from typed conversations to voice calls, and within a week of that they’d began having sex with no more than the power of language.

By the time he suggested meeting in person, she was so head-over-heels in love with Devon27, that meeting with the man in the flesh seemed like the only natural progression…  

~

There was heavy footfall and shouting.

There was a loud boom – like thunder resonating in a steel drum – and a moment later it was followed by a second.

There was commotion and swirling movement all around, and then the sensation of being lifted.

She blinked her eyes against the brilliant light as a voice whispered near her ear, “It’s going to be alright sweetheart… everything’s going to be okay.”

And then more movement; like the gentle rocking of a boat.

As she ascended the stairs for the second time that night; this time strapped to a board with strangers supporting her weight on either end; she was vaguely aware of a group of people standing in her prison below. They hovered in a semi-circle around a black-shroud covered heap, and she thought, poor Amy… or is that me?

The fresh air felt amazing, and there was cool rain falling on her face.

There were lights strobing blue and red and white all around her, and so many people.

She heard someone say, “… been missing?”

And someone else respond, “Twenty-three weeks.”

And then she drifted away.

~

As she stood over him, watching him squirm in terror, she didn’t see the pretty blonde man she’d seduced earlier that night. She saw only Devon27; they were always Devon27.

She grinned and licked her lips as he struggled against the ropes that bound his hands to the bedpost. She lifted the heavy blade in her hand – relishing the comforting weight of it – and let the light dance off the steel as Devon’s eyes widened in terror.

She straddled his naked body, leaned close to his face and whispered, “You’ll thank me later for this lesson.”

30 responses

  1. TheOthers1

    She turned into a psycho???

    This just solidified it for me, I am officially creeped out. I don’t think I can meet a man online after this story. Man . . . Just great story telling at work here.

    March 12, 2012 at 8:49 am

    • Yep, her mind snapped and she started seeking revenge.
      Honestly… meeting people from off the net is not all that different than meeting people in the reall-real world; you never know who someone is deep down, right? I’ve known plenty of relationships born online, and a few of those have ended up working rather nicely… only one has turned out bad – not as bad as in this story, but bad enough. I’ve also known 3 murderers in real life… none of which used the internet at the time, mind you, so like I said… you never really know.
      And I’m glad you enjoyed the story – thank you:)

      March 12, 2012 at 8:54 am

  2. Reblogged this on kylemew.com and commented:
    wow

    March 12, 2012 at 9:34 am

  3. fanfuckingtastic!!! just WOW! what an end. what suspense. what brilliant brilliant story telling. it sent shivers down my spine. i’ve been waiting all day for the words “new post on my own private universe” and it was worth waiting every second
    thank you, thank you, thank you.

    March 12, 2012 at 9:38 am

    • YAY!!! Thanks hun… I was waiting for your response (above all others) on this final instalment. Glad to know I didn’t disappoint after all.

      March 12, 2012 at 10:14 am

  4. Wow. Crazy shit. Reality. Raw.

    March 12, 2012 at 10:41 am

    • T’was a little south of sane, wasn’t it? Hope you liked it!

      March 12, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      • topic is disturbing but writing is incredible. You have quite a talent!

        March 12, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      • Thank you so much!

        March 12, 2012 at 5:39 pm

  5. Thank you for shining your light on the darkness. Fascinating and haunting all at once! I loved how you let me in on the moments before the cold real possibility of a hideous death.

    March 12, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    • Thank you so much for reading… I’m thrilled that you enjoyed it!

      March 12, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  6. Pingback: Ashes2Ashes – Part 1/3 « My Own Private Universe

  7. OMG.

    First off, I’m never gonna meet anyone I know online in real life EVER again. Never never. This is just totally creeped me out.

    Secondly, OMG! OMG! OMG! Like, best ending EVER? Normally the ending are completely what you expect or leave you hanging. BUT WOW! You really nailed it here.

    Third of all, SHE WENT PSYCHO? WTF? 0_0 I pray for her. I’m not a big believer in God, but if anyone like that really exists, I pray for them.

    March 14, 2012 at 7:09 am

    • Hehe, I loved that she turned into a nutter at the end; I didn’t know that was going to happen until I wrote it. I didn’t even know she met him in a chat room at first… it wasn’t until I got nearly to the end of the first draft that I figured that out, then I just built the foreshadowing into an earlier part of the story.
      I’m glad you liked it, and ya, if there’s someone like her out there in the world, she deserves our – I fully hesitate to say prayer here, but like, our best wishes and whatnot.

      March 14, 2012 at 7:18 am

      • I don’t meet people in chat rooms.. Well.. Mostly because I’ve never really tried it and this story is gonna keep me well AWAY from that.

        And the thing is. I’ve met YOU online. Please don’t kill me or torture me, yes? 😛

        Yeah, maybe prayer wasn’t the right word. Like positive thoughts or whatever.

        You put this together AMAZINGLY! I have me leaving the light on when I sleep tonight.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:26 am

      • LMAO I promise not to torture and/or kill you. I’m a different kind of crazy altogether.
        I used to frequent chat rooms – in fact, that line about it all beginning with a simple ‘hi’ typed in neon pink, Tempus Sans, ITC…. that’s the font I used the first time I ever visited a chat room lol.
        I’ve also had two (mostly harmless) stalkers over the years… which is why I was breaking my rules about talking about my family online… but like I said to someone else; you can’t really know who a person is in their heart online OR in the real world… how many times have you seen a story in the news about some poor lady who finds out her husband of twenty years was quietly murdering women all across the country?
        I’d suggest using extreme caution meeting with peeps from online, but I wouldnt caution entirely against it.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:32 am

      • Hahaha. The fun kind of crazy… I hope.

        Ooo. You’ve had your very own stalkers! It sounds cool even though I bet it’s a pain in the ass to actually be stalked.

        I feel sorry for the people who’re.. I’m sorry to say it.. But so blind to comings and goings of their other half. I mean, you’ve been living with them FOREVER. You should’ve kinda at least had a clue. Honestly though, I shouldn’t judge because it’s not like I’ve ever been in that situation.

        Yes yes. LOTS of caution. Only my words are me. The rest is all Gabs. 😛

        March 14, 2012 at 7:42 am

      • Ya… I never really understood how you could share your life with someone that long and not have a clue about who they really are. Of course, until we’ve been in someone else’s shoes, it’s easy to say we would do this or that, but we never REALLY know.
        And ya… one of my stalkers was a woman… did you ever see ‘Single White Female’? I keep playing with the idea of writing a whole post about it.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:46 am

      • Ooo. I haven’t seen it, but I have heard about it. Do write about your stalker! It’ll make an amazing post! 😀

        That’s the reason I give up on judging unless I’ve been in the situation myself. If I have, then I really start shouting at the person if they act like a wuss. Lol. I’m not the best person to have around to comfort you.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:57 am

      • LMAO ya, I’m not always the most sympathetic person when it comes to some things either… I hate it when people allow themselves to be victims when there is a clear way out of the situation. My opinion changes quickly though when I can see there is no easy escape route. I yell at people in movies too… like, when people in horror movies start being stupid, I turn and start cheering for the bad guy.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:00 am

      • Lol. I’m a stupid horror movie person. I scream. *sighs and drops her head* Yes, I’m a wuss.

        I only scream when I know I’ve been there, and that the option out isn’t the easiest, but it’s the right thing to do. Meh.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:15 am

      • hahaha you’d hate watching horror movies with me… I’m mean. I am almost impossible to scare these days (when it comes to fiction anyways) and I get a sick thrill out of freaking out those that aren’t as desensitized as I am.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:18 am

      • Okay. So it’s decided then. NO HORROR MOVIES WITH YOU EVER!

        March 14, 2012 at 8:38 am

      • awww 😦 Okay, I understand.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:39 am

      • Maybe something gory.

        Gory movies don’t scare me. It’s just the supernatural ones.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:46 am

      • HA! My beau is a total wuss when it comes to gory and scary… I torment the crap out of him for my own amusement. See :$ I told you I was mean.
        Gory doesn’t bother me in the least, but I hate movies that are gory just for the sake of being so… you know, with no actual story worth following. It always seems like lazy writing to me.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:50 am

      • *gasp* You ARE mean. Torturing your better half like that!

        I swear. The final destination movies really fit into that category. The first one was bearable. But everything just went downhill after that.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:59 am

      • Heh! I love the first one… that was some good story telling… but then you’re right, it just got repetitive and it became more about the gore then about the story. Still, I don’t hate the many sequels (certainly not like I hate the god-knows-how-many sequels to the Saw)… they’ve amused me a time or two. Just wish there was a little more substance to them.

        March 14, 2012 at 9:04 am

      • Oh god! Saw is more horrific because of the fact that you have sit through that nonsense rather than the actual gore. x_x I like some parts, but I’d rather watch something where I can appreciate the whole story.

        I gotta run now. I shall see you soooon. 🙂 And I promise the TMI award is the next post.

        March 14, 2012 at 9:06 am

      • Have a great evening darlin! ttys

        March 14, 2012 at 9:07 am

Leave a Reply

