A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Challenge Day 13: A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days… (write a letter)

 Dear Mr. Johnson,

            You don’t know me, and you likely never will, but I felt it was important to let you know what you’ve inadvertently done for me.  

            Some years back I found myself in a very bad headspace. My life had begun to spiral out of control. I was dangerously depressed and having a difficult time relating to people; I’d begun pulling away from everyone and everything. I was desperate and reckless and basically hoping that death would find me because I couldn’t imagine a future when the pain would end, but guilt stilled me from taking my own life. I’d lost myself, you see, and maybe I never really knew myself all that well to begin with. It was somewhere in the midst of this fog that I was introduced to your music, and though I didn’t know what it would do for me then, looking back I can’t help but credit you – at least in part – for the dawn of my age of healing.  

            Though I am – and have always been – an avid lover of music with varying tastes, I was never all that much into folksy/soft rock as a rule. This makes your contribution to my healing a little ironic. What makes it even more ironic is that you were introduced to me by a person who – during that that already unstable segment of my life – caused me a great deal of pain. Initially I thought that it was only harm that this person contributed to my life, and it was only with retrospective eyes that I was later able to see the wondrous gift that they –  in fact – bestowed upon me. That gift was a song, and that song was ‘Bubble Toes’.

            I admit, though I liked the song, I didn’t fall instantly in love. It wasn’t even until I heard ‘Fortunate Fool’ that I felt the first blossom of infatuation. I ran out the next day and bought myself copies of ‘Brushfire Fairytales’ and ‘On and On’. As my dark days went ‘on and on’ I found myself turning away from my more typical playlists of the time; songs generally ranging from angry to depressing in nature; and started listening to your music on an almost continuous loop. By the time ‘In Between Dreams’ was released, I was already on my way to a healthier – somewhat saner – existence, but that one CD did more for me than I can even begin to convey. Nearly every track on that disk seemed to be speaking directly to me; the songs somehow connecting with a lot of the things I was going through; and your tunes helped to move my feet (and heart) forward in an attempt to reach out, reach up and grab hold of life. I was finally head-over-heels in love with your unique brand of music and I had your every song on my MP3 player – which I never left home without – so that anytime I needed a lift, you were there for me.

            I recognize that it was something deep inside me that threw the switch and began the change, but in some strange way that might not make a lot of sense; certainly no one I know would get it; you helped me to help myself, and I will be forever grateful. Your music was the soundtrack playing eternally in the background of my time of revivification, and has continued to be my go-to tunes anytime I need a boost.

            In closing, I’d like to thank you for giving me a handle hold in the world when I needed one most. If not for your personal drive to be an original, I don’t know what I would have done during my dark days.

 Sincerely,

 ~Robin~

26 responses

  1. I adore Jack Johnson. His words and his music, even though so simple, always leaves some sort of an impact. Normally good. 😛

    March 14, 2012 at 6:07 am

    • I love Jack… I can always count on him to calm my nerves when I’m having a rough day. His music is different than almost everything else I listen to, but he’s awesome!

      March 14, 2012 at 7:12 am

      • Hahaha. He’s my indie man too. 😛 His is the only music that calms my mind down.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:14 am

      • Heh! Usually when I write, the only music I’ll listen to is like ambience stuff… but I will listen to him now and then, particularly the limited edition of ‘To the Sea’.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:19 am

      • I love that song! *sighs*

        I listen to mozart and crap when I write, because that’s only music that I don’t care enough about to listen to. Lol.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:27 am

      • lmao ya, classical can be great for when you’re writing too… anything that doesn’t have you singing along to it. That gets way too distracting.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:32 am

      • I swear! I went to the coffee shop like I said I would, and after like an hour or so, they started blasting music for a while. They were playing songs that I don’t even like yet I found myself singing instead of writing. Lol. Thankfully, they shut it off after 30mins or so.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:44 am

      • Ya, music is a major weakness for me. It’s always playing when I’m not writing, but I try to keep it away from me if I hope to concentrate at all. I’m having that opposite of writer’s block this week as it is – was thinking of writing a post about that today too. Too damn many ideas all at once running around in my head and I can’t seem to focus on any one thought long enough to get it entirely out. It’s driving me nuts.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:48 am

      • Hahaha. Write it all out!! Have the visitors left?

        I know what you mean about fragmented thoughts. It gets so annoying after a while. Normally what works for me is, a glass of wine, a corner, good light, and no interruptions.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:59 am

      • No company YET this morning, but I’m expecting my sister and her kids to drop by within the hour. If I can’t find myself quiet time to focus properly, I’ll grab a bottle of wine for Friday night and lock myself in the basement with my new office supplies lol, that ought to do it! I have been writing like mad all week… just have yet to see any one thing to completion. It’s really annoying.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:05 am

      • Ooo. You’re sucha busy bee!! So many people always dropping by!

        And do that! It feels AWESOME.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:16 am

      • I often hide in my basement lol. When I finish something, I like to read it out loud so I can see if it rolls properly… I go lock myself down there and read away. No wonder people think I’m nuts!

        March 14, 2012 at 8:20 am

      • Haha. There’s nothing nutty about that! I think it’s AWESOME. I’d do the same if I ever in your position. 😛

        When I’m at home the only place I have to lock myself away is the washroom. x_x

        *sigh* I’m gonna miss living alone.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:39 am

      • Ah ya, no doubt.
        If I was smart, I’d just move my office to the basement, but I (mostly) like being in the hub of where everything’s going on.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:41 am

      • I need activity around me to concentrate which is why I always runs to the coffee shop. Lol.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:46 am

      • That’s the funniest thing… I can concentrate plenty in crowds, just not in crowds of people that I care about. LOL when I care, I tend to pay them more attention then the page. I actually love writing at coffee shops – mostly in the warm weather so I can sit on the patios and be inspired by the activity all around me.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:48 am

      • Oh, I know what you mean! I love being surrounded by strangers. (Not in the kinky sense :P.. Actually, maybe… Never really thought about it that way.)

        March 14, 2012 at 8:50 am

      • HAHAHAHAHAHA oh damn, it’s a good morning for the giggle-snorts.
        Do you ever find yourself writing stories about random strangers? I do it all the time. I actually have a book full of these quirky little character imaginings… I’ve even ended up using a character or two in other work.

        March 14, 2012 at 8:52 am

      • Yes. Yes I do. I wrote seven today since I was sitting in the coffee shop for a good four hours. Lol. Strangers are always such good entertainment! 😛

        March 14, 2012 at 9:00 am

      • I know!!!! I’ve written these really long imaginings based on what my brain’s created after witnessing a two minute phone call between a seen stranger and an unseen one… it’s a good thing people aren’t typically as devious as I tend to imagine they are.

        March 14, 2012 at 9:06 am

      • I swear! Or the world would be falling apart at the seems! 😛

        March 14, 2012 at 10:46 am

      • Lol no kidding!

        March 14, 2012 at 10:47 am

  2. Robin, I have to agree with you about Jack Johnson. His voice and music are all encompassing of an amazing artist. I have so many artists that I could mention: I can’t pin it down to just that one…from the start it’s always been U2 that touches my soul; especially, the song: Sometimes You Can’t Make it on your Own. It helped me through some heartbreak after my father passed away. Even now if I listen to that song a piece of me cracks every time. Thanks for sharing fellow Canadian!

    March 14, 2012 at 9:44 am

    • Ah yes, there have been so many great musicians that have helped me through so very many things… but Jack definitely did something very special for me and so I’ll always love the man.
      ‘Sometimes You Can’t Make it On Your Own’ is fantastic song!! And it’s nice to finely wordpress-meet another Canadian! Hehe, I was starting to feel like the only canuck around here!

      March 14, 2012 at 9:49 am

  3. fishandpoi

    Cool post – did you hear the new Best of Kokua CD with Jack on it? http://www.mainlandkamaainas.com

    April 25, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    • Ah, no I haven’t… thanks!!

      April 26, 2012 at 6:14 am

Leave a Reply

