A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Ragged

{Okay folks, I’ve hinted at this, now here it is; the poem that goes hand in hand with Ashes2Ashes. I’m not overly fond of it, but this was the first thing that poured out when the idea got inside my head (before I knew the idea wanted to become a story) and I thought it might be interesting for at least a few of you. Enjoy ~Robin~}

Ragged

Dark room

Covered windows

The smell of something rank

Desperate

Rising panic

Alone in some place dank

Cold body

Coarse shroud

A bloody, beaten face

The handle turns

Beneath her fingers

She’s trapped here in this place

Leering grin

Evil laugh

The beginning of her pain

Hard truths

Brutal lessons

Designed to drive her quite insane

Groping hands

Upon her flesh

Hands tangled in her hair

Busted heart

Stolen peace

His inability to care

Burning wrists

Aching limbs

The scratching ropes that bind

A bloody lip

A rain of blows

And only cruelty can she find

Apt attention

No escape

Try to be all that he wants

Wounded spirit

Perfect victim

She lacks the power that he flaunts

She doesn’t whimper

Doesn’t sob

Just weeps a steady stream of tears

Sick mind

Vicious spirit

He lives to feed her fears

Movement there

Within the shadows

Where even darkness breathes

Horrified

But laying still

While within her, horror seethes

Footsteps

Coming torment

She drifts away inside her head

Given up

All desire

But that she’ll soon be dead

A sunny dream

A world forgot

A time before the hell

An angry clock

With every tick

She becomes an empty shell

Hard hands

Violation

Her body belongs to him

A battered toy

A ragged doll

She dances to his whim

A stranger’s tone

A spark of hope

She finds her voice to shout

Her stirring

Another game

As he batters her about

“Welcome back

My little bird”

He greets with evil glee

Struggling

So terrified

She’s fighting to be free

Sadistic laugh

Fresh desire

He holds her on the ground

Broken bones

Bloody nose

He gladly beats her sound

Drooping lids

Oblivion

She’s living in the past

Fight to stay

Can’t maintain

The present comes back fast

Footfall

Roaring thunder

There are voices all around

Soft hands

Beneath her body

Replacing the hard ground

Whining sirens

In her ears

Gentle contact on her skin

Swirling lights

They bring redemption

Too late to save her from his sin

Damage done

A shattered mind

Time cannot be turned

Too hard

The darkness set

She seeks to teach the lessons learned.

14 responses

  1. it belongs with ashes tho – good to see inside your creative mind

    March 13, 2012 at 11:37 am

    • Ya, I thought it was a neat way of looking at how the idea formed and mutated.

      March 13, 2012 at 11:38 am

      • love it

        March 13, 2012 at 11:52 am

  2. How cool, this was like seeing the spine of the story before you added the flesh.

    March 13, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    • Hehe, I called it that exact same thing yesterday. Thanks!

      March 13, 2012 at 2:36 pm

  3. LittleEmz

    This is a fantastic piece of writing. What you may not have considered is that for some of my friends who live an alternative lifestyle, this poem could actually be more erotic than alarming. Very well written no matter which way it is interpreted. You have a very creative mind. I hope this doesn’t come from experience though, but massive hugs if it does x

    March 13, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    • No, it’s a complete work of fiction, but thanks – X -! And yes, I’m aware that some would find it more erotic than alarming. That’s the great thing about a work of fiction; that everyone might take something a little different away from the same thing. When I wrote it, I wanted it to be scary for most, but I also wanted some to be aroused, and some to be aroused and a little guilty about that arousal.
      I really appreciate the feedback and the praise, and I’m ever-so-happy that you enjoyed it.

      March 13, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    • Actually, I’m curious now… did you read Ashes2Ashes too, or just the poem?

      March 13, 2012 at 2:43 pm

  4. *shivers*
    Why does this remind me of being locked in a dark room with an evil clown?

    March 14, 2012 at 6:12 am

    • lmao Being trapped in a dark room with a clown would be far worse… now I’m gonna have nightmares!

      March 14, 2012 at 7:13 am

      • *shudders* The worst thing I ever got was this STUPID forward mail that said the clown would come get you (like stand and stare at the foot of your bed) if you didn’t pass it along. Not a forwarding fan, but I just HAD to re-send that mail. Creeped me OUT!

        March 14, 2012 at 7:16 am

      • Yuck! I avoid stuff like chain letters… but I think even I’d pass that one on… just to be safe!

        March 14, 2012 at 7:20 am

      • My point exactly. I slept with my mom that night. It was a BAD week.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:27 am

      • awwwwwww! Stupid damn clowns.

        March 14, 2012 at 7:33 am

Leave a Reply

