A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Zombie Land

{Sorry folks… I had a conversation earlier today that included both ‘work’ and ‘zombies’ and it made me remember this poem. Some background for you: once – for a very short period of my life – I worked in a call center; it was my idea of hell on earth. There were rows and rows of cubicles and everyone looked so bloody miserable all of the time; with good reason, the job was a soul sucking void of an existence; and I scribbled this down on the back of a requisition form, passed it to a buddy (a fellow writer actually) a few stalls away who looked just about as dejected as I felt, and we both managed to share a little giggle in the midst of that horrendous vacuum of a place. I imagine the only people that can relate to this one are those who have known the hell of a cubicle-existence first hand, but for some reason it struck my funny bone today and I felt like sharing it. ~Robin~}

Zombie Land

Oh – come with me – just take my hand –

Walk with me in Zombie land

Dance with me – I’ll strike the band;

Monotony across the land!

In this manmade garden we grow

In cubicles, lined row by row

Beneath the harsh, bright yellow glow

We wilt away, but cannot go.

Trapped here in this hollow place;

Not a smile on any face,

An environment like outer space;

All just rats in the same rat race.

All our dreams do quickly fade

As each new brick is daftly laid

In this world that we’ve all made –

Disgusted… but we’ll still get paid.

And daily do we wonder here

For reasons that aren’t always clear

Perhaps we return out of fear –

And at the others, do bitterly leer.

In zombie land, we never dream

We drift along upon the stream –

Silent, though we wish to scream –

Oh, how pathetic must we all seem.

Yet here we stay – we’ll never go

Too dull now to ever glow

Locked in our cells, lined row by row

We let dispassion slowly grow.

So come with me – just take my hand –

Walk with me in Zombie land

Dance with me – I’ll strike the band;

Monotony across the land!

13 responses

  1. Amazing! You’ve forever put me off working in call centres now, but if it produced such wonderful poetry it was worth the experience !

    March 14, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    • Haha, I’m sure not everyone would hate it near as much as I did… I mean, people do the job all over the world, so it can’t be THAT bad, right? It was just never my thing.
      I’m really glad you liked it… I was never much a fan of it myself, other than for the fact that it makes me giggle. I must have had Poe on the mind that day because it reminds me ever so slightly of The Valley of Unrest. Anyways, thanks a lot!

      March 14, 2012 at 4:56 pm

  2. love it

    March 15, 2012 at 3:08 am

  3. That was really good. It reminded of the santa’s factory up north though.. No idea why. 0_0 I’ve always thought of santa as a slave driver.. So I guess.. Nvm.. I’m going to shut up now..

    March 15, 2012 at 3:37 am

    • lmao you’re so funny… I have a really terrible short story around here somewhere about Santa the slave driver, I shit you not. In my mind those poor little elves are like umpa loompas stolen from their natural habitat to work for bits of stale candy canes. Oy… the things that swim in my brain are not the thoughts of a well woman, lol.

      March 15, 2012 at 8:24 am

      • Omg!! I wanna read it! I’m so happy to find someone who doesn’t think I’m crazy for thinking that Santa’s a slave driver.

        March 15, 2012 at 10:22 am

      • lmao dude, Santa the slave driver’s nothing… when I was a kid, I made up this horrible story about Santa the serial killer and told it to my little sister and younger cousins… I had them all freaking out and the little buggers told on me. I got in so much shit! Ah, but that short burst of amusement I got out of the deal made it all worthwhile.
        I have another short around here somewhere about Santa the drug dealer too… I think I was high when I wrote that one. Poor Santa, I don’t know why he’s so often been the source of my cruel amusement. No wonder he never brings me anything!

        March 15, 2012 at 10:28 am

      • Santa the serial killer?? Ooh. This sounds even better!

        I could do with reading Santa the drug dealer. I’m baked right now. Meh. My friends are evil. The hot box the entire room. x_x

        He is truly evil, isn’t he?

        March 15, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      • I suspect he might not be the jolly old guy he pretends to be. I mean, if anyone else broke into your house in the middle of the night, you’d shoot him right? But oh-no, not Santa. We leave him cookies and milk and practically put out a welcome matt for the guy. Seems a little creepy to me.

        March 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      • Hahaha. Have you seen the Family Guy episode where Santa Claus is over worked? Watch it!

        March 15, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      • no… what season?

        March 15, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      • Season 9.. Episode 7. It’s a part of the “Road to..” series with Stewy and Brian. Epic.

        March 15, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  4. Pingback: Challenge Day 15: Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it… « My Own Private Universe

Leave a Reply

