A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Challenge Day 16: Someone or something you definitely could live without…

I was really hoping to find today’s prompt a little more straight forward (things to do, people to see and all that jazz) but unfortunately, what I find staring back at me demanding an answer seems – once again – just a little vague. Cleary the creator of this list doesn’t know me, or they’d never tempt me to open such a rambling can of worms… but since the prompt appears to want me to open said can, I shall oblige…

Let’s see… things I could definitely live without would include (obviously), war, global hunger, child abuse, nuclear weapons, nuclear power, nuclear war, massive solar flares, crime, racism, bigotism (yes, I’m aware that’s not technically an English word, but it should be), economic collapse, non-renewable resources, ignorance, corruption, water shortages, mass media, pollution, irresponsible breeding amongst those undereducated and unprepared to offer a fair chance to innocent offspring, overpopulation, terrorism, extinction of species, pandemics, asteroids, and of course, the Bush administration… may they never rise again.

Then of course there’s any classification of cancer, heart disease, HIV, AIDS, malaria, Tuberculosis, high cholesterol, low blood pressure, Ebola, herpes, syphilis, the Spanish flu, cholera, Hepatitis (a, b, or c), yellow fever, gingivitis, polio, smallpox, the bubonic plague and/or dandruff.

And let’s not neglect Paris Hilton, Perez Hilton, Justin Bieber, Snooki, Lindsey Lohan (and all Lohan films but for ‘Mean Girls’ – I admit I kind of liked that one), Miley Cyrus, Kanye West (the celebrity – a lot of his music’s great, he’s just a very annoying person to hear talk), the Kardashians, Donald Trump, Robert Pattison (ya – I know how many people love this guy, but something about him drives me nuts), Jennifer Lopez, Mariah Carey (and her attempt at acting – thinking of ‘Glitter’ still makes my skin crawl), M. Night Shyamalan movies (I’ve liked a few, but most were almost criminally bad), 80’s heartthrob (*rolling of eyes*) Kirk Cameron and his homophobic ramblings, Nicolas Cage (and about 80% of his movies), Mike Meyers (yes, I’m aware that I’m Canadian, but this man has grown to annoy the living hell out of me in recent years), every ‘Austin Powers’ movie, ‘The Cat In the Hat’ movie (and the currently airing kid’s show), Borat, Christian Bale (I find this man to be an insufferable douche – though I have liked a small number of his movies), Chris Kattan, Seinfeld reruns, Oprah (I don’t know why, she’s just always annoyed me), The Blue Man Group, every Reality TV show ever aired, and – how could I forget – Britney Spears.

Now, if we’re talking about things and/or people in my day-to-day life that annoy me, or that I could live quite happily and/or healthier without, that’s a long list too. There’s cigarettes, chocolate chip cookies, butter pecan cookies, sugar cookies – er, pretty much any kind of fresh baked goodie is a major weakness that I could live without – ice cream, fried foods, salt, alcohol, caffeine (at least I think I could live without it), 30-60% of my relatives (who I mostly live without already, but they never entirely go away) and nearly every single woman my dad has ever dated.

What else could I happily live without? Hmm, there’s my (sometimes) penchant for over sharing, my (sometimes) penchant for under sharing, excessive ego, rudeness, poorly constructed pickup lines, clowns, mimes, people who ask ‘are you okay?’, people who ask ‘what’s wrong?’, horrible movie or TV adaptations of my favourite books, men I’ve never met (and who don’t even share ‘friends’) that try to add me on facebook (especially when I have pictures of my kids up rather than a personal photo – creepy), religious zealots, door-to-door salesmen, people who don’t clean up after their dogs – thus leaving surprises for you to step in, people who pick their noses in public, people who read over my shoulder, people who interrupt other people, men who like to yank on their junk in public places, 45+ women with muffin tops who like to wear their pants low and their tops high, guys who like to wear pants 5 sizes too big and let them ride down to their knees so that the rest of us can see their skid marks, older people who ‘tut’ their tongues in a disapproving way because they don’t approve of something, people that are unnecessarily rude to older people, acquaintances (not friends) who ask too many favours, and people who say things that start with ‘you should…” because this almost always turns out to be preachy and annoying.

Wow! I could easily go on like this for the rest of the day, but I think you get the point; there are many things in this world that I could quite happily exist without.

21 responses

  1. yup, i reckon i agree with about every one of those things.

    March 16, 2012 at 11:07 am

    • Ha! There’s about a million more that didn’t occur to me till after I’d posted, lol.

      March 16, 2012 at 11:09 am

  2. The only things that I disagree with are Nicholas Cage, Austin Powers, and Seinfeld but everything else is spot on! Lol. My favorite out of all these would probably be when people read over my shoulder. It irritates the crap out of me. I could punch the jackass in the face!

    March 16, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    • Okay, well, Nicholas Cage has some great movies, but I find him to be a horrid actor. I keep getting in debates about that with people… he’s much loved apparently.
      I used to love Mike Myers and even the Austin Powers movies… some switch flicked in my brain awhile back that made me unable to stand him. It’s a mystery.
      I liked Seinfeld well enough when it was current, but I’m a little sick of the reruns being on like ALL THE TIME on multiple channels.
      Oh ya – people that read over my shoulder are practically begging for a broken nose!

      March 16, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      • I don’t love him, but I don’t hate him enough for this. Lol. I deserves some of the lime light he gets. I just hate it when he goes about making out with woman half his age. x_x The Weather Man was pretty good.

        I loved Mike Myers in something World.. I don’t remember the name of the movie, but I couldn’t laughing.. Might’ve been because I was high.. Hmm..

        I don’t know about the Seinfeld re-runs because I haven’t watched TV in ages. But I end up watching Friends and Seinfeld on repeat on my laptop anyway. Lol. It’s good stuff to have on in the background. You don’t have to pay attention to it because you’ve already seen it so many times.

        BREAK THEIR NOSE! BREAK IT! (Or should I do it for you so that you can concentrate on whatever you’re doing? :P)

        March 16, 2012 at 1:17 pm

      • Wayne’s World rocked! So I married an Axe Murder rocked – still does! And yes!!! That’s it! I found him way funnier when I still got high… that’s the mystery right there. Oh, well that and that flippin Cat in the Hat movie makes my brain want to move out of my skull.
        LMAO that’s the funny thing… I can watch all the Friends reruns in the world and never get sick of them… Hell, I even watch the Fresh Prince reruns all the time without complaint… but I’m sick of Seingeld.
        Oh y’know what, about that… I once broke an exes nose. It was almost an accident… but it was funny as hell after the fact.
        I’m not really doing anything very constructive right now… Laughing a lot and being lazy, but that’s about it lol.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      • YES. THAT! I think Mike Myers is the kind of guy who’s probably high more than half of the time anyway. His acting’s always so abrupt and spastic. I haven’t seen So I Married an Axe Murderer, but I’ll be sure to check it out. Lol. Cat in the Hat was sad. That I agree to.

        Fresh Prince? Never heard of it.

        AND OMG! You broke his nose? SUPER WOMAN AWARD! Lol.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      • Ok, do check out Axe Murderer! It’s funny as hell! Cat in the Hat wasn’t just sad, it was bloody painful. My nephew made me watch it like 2 dozen times. Ick!
        Seriously? With Will Smith – Fresh Prince of Bel Air? I loved that show.
        Ya, it was one of those urge control issue things that sometimes get me in trouble… oddly enough, we’re actually friends now.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:30 pm

      • I shall. I shall. I’ll download it before the week ends.

        You’ve watched that movie two dozen times? Fuck! I sympathize!

        Will Smith was in it?? HOW HAVE I NOT HEARD OF THIS SHOW? This will also be checked out soon.

        I love your spontaneity. 😛 Damn cool that he got past that. 🙂

        March 16, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      • Ya, I sympathize with me too *sniff*.
        I can’t believe you never heard of Fresh Prince!!! Dude, that’s just crazy talk!
        And ya, well… if I could get over him being a cheater-cheater-pumpkin-eater, it’s only right that he should forgive me for punching him.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:36 pm

      • I really haven’t heard of Fresh Prince!! I’ll download. I promise. But only once I get home and have unlimited internet. Lol. It’s on my to do list though. Pinky promise! 🙂

        Oh fuck. Cheat, huh? Should’ve punched him out once more.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      • Ah, hindsight, hehe.
        Fresh Prince is from a simpler time, lol… ah the good ol’ 90’s. You should enjoy it, it was always amusing.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      • Eeks. Might be hard to find a torrent, but I’ll do my best! 😀 If I don’t find it, then I’ll get you to burn some CD’s and courier them over. Haha.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:44 pm

      • I actually don’t even have Fresh Prince in my collection now that you mention it… I should! I used to see the downloads plenty, but that was before the death of Megaupload. I imagine there’s torrents though… it was a pretty popular show.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      • *gasp* My back up plan has collapsed. I’ll look for the torrent. No issues. Then maybe I can burn the CD’s for you. 😛

        March 16, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      • Tee hee! Sounds like a plan. One of these days I’m gonna end up downloading again… I can feel it in my bones.

        March 16, 2012 at 1:51 pm

  3. gypsy116

    Just wanted to let you know that Ive nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, if youd like to participate follow the rules here http://gypsy116.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    March 16, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  4. gypsy116

    Love this, huge smiles, even though there are a few i disagree with, pretty much spot on 🙂

    March 16, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    • lol thanks!
      P.S. You’ve just been nominated :)… and thank you for the earlier nomination!!

      March 16, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      • gypsy116

        lol, your welcome, and thank you 🙂

        March 16, 2012 at 2:38 pm

  5. Yea i guess we can actually live without all this existance! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    April 12, 2012 at 8:00 am

Leave a Reply

