A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Challenge Day 18: Your views on gay marriage…

In one of the past challenges, we explored my (personal) views on marriage, but for those of you just tuning in, let’s reiterate; Robin’s not a huge fan of the whole ceremonial, walking down the aisle in a big fluffy dress to stand before some solemnly faced preacher-type-guy while asking the big man above to lay a blessing down on her. Okay, talking about myself in third-person is creepy – let’s not do that anymore. The thing is, I personally believe that marriage is an antiquated institution, but I’m also a firm believer in ‘to each his own’, and I completely understand the desire to wed, even if I personally have no interest in it.

Let’s explore the ‘to each his own’ statement a little deeper, shall we?

In a post I wrote last month (Exorcising the demons…) I basically went on a rant about my perception of the ignorance still alive and well in the world today. In that post I said, and I quote, “Personally I believe that until I have achieved perfection I will not have gained the right to judge others, and since I am far away from attaining flawlessness, I am chained (by my own rules) to acceptance.” I went on to say a bunch of other stuff, including, “I don’t believe that anyone else living on this planet has earned that right either, since there is not one amongst us that has achieved anything even slightly akin to perfection.” I quote myself now because it summed up my beliefs pretty damn well.

You see, I personally do not give a rat’s ass if you white, black, green, or sky-blue pink with orange pokkadots. I don’t care if you’re straight, gay, bisexual, asexual or even if you’ve opted for a lifetime of celibacy – I don’t have to understand your choices, I just have to accept the flaws in my own humanity and remember that I don’t have the right to judge you… you… you… or anyone else on this glorious little globe.

I think if the population of the world – as a whole – would just embrace this way of thought, we could eradicate the hate and live much happier – more peaceful – lives. However, I’m an idealist only sometimes while a complete realist at others, and I understand that this euphoric world I sometimes like to daydream about is – at this point in time – nothing more than a fantasy… but wouldn’t it be nice if we could all just get past our stupid little hang-ups and begin seeing and loving one another for what’s in our hearts rather than what’s painted on our meat suits?

Now I’ve heard it said (on numerous occasions) that those subscribing to ‘alternative lifestyles’ are not extended the right to wed because of the Church and the beliefs housed within. And I’m sure we’ve all heard that the bible condemns homosexuality (calling it an immoral and unnatural sin) and though my biblical referencing is more than a little rusty (I admit) I believe its somewhere in first Corinthians that it states homosexuals will not be allowed to inherit the kingdom of God. I’m not going to get very deeply into my religious beliefs at this point in time (mostly because that topic is next up on the challenge list) but one question I need to get off my chest, is this; how can any of us be asked to give our unconditional love to a god that isn’t willing to do the same for us?

Keeping that in mind, let’s say for the sake of argument that there really is a big guy in the sky looking down on us… let’s even say that he did set the ball in motion for the big book of books to be written… even if this is true, that book has been translated time and again by the imperfect hands of humanity; whose to say that the original message has even stood through the tests of time? Are we really willing to hate and hold back acceptance because of words that could have – quite likely – been corrupted by the influence of the translator(s) throughout the ages?  

If you ask me (and since you’re reading this, I’ll take that to mean that you are) love is love, and real love is blind. It doesn’t care about your color. It doesn’t care about sexual preference. It’s not going to go away just because someone else says it shouldn’t exist. If you want to express your love for one another by sealing that union in the company of your friends and family under the watchful eyes of a god who may or may not exist, you should have that right just as I have that right. Even though I’m not a huge fan of the hoopla myself, I think every man and woman on this planet should have the right to make that choice for themselves. I find it a little upsetting that there are still so many places in the world that gay couples who’ve spent their entire lives together are still not recognized under their local legislation as legal partners. I find it incredibly sad that so many of us on this planet still believe we’re superior enough to dictate what’s right for others, and thereby make these ridiculous rules and laws that force compliance with our own beliefs.  

So yes, though I’ve allowed myself to get a little rambly once again, and though I may have stumbled a little along the pathway to my point, I believe that every human being on Earth is entitled to the same rights, and that includes the right to wed.

{Note: Due to my personal life philosophies, I am bound to accept and respect  even those I perceive as being narrow-minded; this does not mean I feel the need to gag and/or censor myself or my opinions. While I believe that it is our differences that make us interesting – I’d be miserable in a world full of me-clones – and our differences that make me love you, I don’t expect that you should subscribe to my way of thought anymore than I’m willing to subscribe to yours. Though I am human (and thus prone to erring both greatly and often) I do not mean to come across as harshly judgemental to those of you who believe differently in this or any other matter that I may ramble on about. Though I personally believe that everyone should live under the warm blanket of equality, I love and respect you no less for your difference in opinion. ~Robin~}

9 responses

  1. lookingforapurpose

    I agree, everyone should be free to make thier own choices in life. If someone wants to be gay, lesbian, straight, or other wise that is their choice to make and people who believe other wise shouldn’t be poking thier big noses into thier lives.

    Even if you believe in the bibles way of things you are still bound to respect and love those people according to …… the Bible lol.

    March 17, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    • Here here brother! Love is a beautiful thing.

      March 17, 2012 at 2:38 pm

  2. I share a lot of the same views as you. I was raised in a very strict, christian household and ever since I was a teenager, I argued that the “word of God” was rife with double standards. Not to mention the fact that the laws defining the traditional institution of marriage are based on Christianity. What ever happened to the separation of church and state?

    I agree. To each his, or her own. Blind acceptance is one of the hardest things for human beings to do. It is ingrained in most of us to project our set of beliefs onto those around us. Excellent post.

    March 17, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    • Ah yes, while I wasn’t raised in a religious household (my religious knowledge is the result of personal curiosity and a need to understand things) I was raised in the company of many (very) closed minded people. There were always plenty of colourful expletives being thrown carelessly around when I was a kid, and yet even from a young age I had a deep suspicion that there was something very wrong with this way of thinking.
      I believe that while blind acceptance is not something common to our nature; while we are all prone to snap opinions; I think it is incredibly healthy to try to look at all situations from a number of angles in order to better understand both that which we’re quick to judge, and ourselves. I truly do believe that none of us is really fit to judge another since none of us had reached personal perfection, and I love that we live in a time when – despite the very nature of our race – there are obvious signs of want and willingness to change; to become more accepting. Perhaps a much brighter, more tolerant future is on our horizon… one can always hope.
      Anyways, thank you so much for your comment.

      March 17, 2012 at 2:35 pm

  3. Aaah. How I wish I could get my parents to read this! 😛

    March 18, 2012 at 2:14 am

    • lol Unfortunately, once people hit a certain age, it’s like they become completely unable to change… that’s why no one gives the super old guy that many dirty looks when he goes off on a racist rambling I think.
      OMG i’m a little hungover and I’m not sure my brain is working!

      March 18, 2012 at 7:04 am

      • Hahaha. True. My mom’s pretty much okay with everything as long as I’m not involved in it. Gay marriage? SURE! As long you’re not the one marrying another woman. I swear that woman fascinates me everyday. My dad, on the other hand, is immensely rigid since the day he was born. EVERYTHING HAS TO BE DISCIPLINED! Bah!

        Hungover? 😛 Watchu get up to last night?

        March 18, 2012 at 11:01 am

      • We had a party (more of a gathering) at my house last night… up till almost 4. More tired than truly hungover.

        March 18, 2012 at 5:49 pm

  4. You have my attention, darling!

    March 18, 2012 at 8:45 am

Leave a Reply

