A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

MirrorrorriM

Each morning of every day…

I greet the stranger in the mirror.

I ask for guidance;

Beg for direction.

The stranger flashes her crooked grin

And turns away.

Each morning of every day…

I plead that she share her knowledge.

That she open up;

And let me in.

She disappears into the shadows

Of nowhere.

Each morning of every day…

She takes a fragment of my soul.

She gobbles up my sanity

And mocks away my tears.

Somewhere on the other side

She thrives on the loneliness I fear.

Each morning of every day…

She becomes something less familiar.

I see a monster;

This horrid, evil thing.

The stranger greedily consumes the hate

That beats me to the ground.

Each morning of every day…

 Her laughter at my weakness grows louder.

Her disdain emotion;

My familiar pain.

I can not endure her hate,

I long only to be her friend.

Each morning of every day…

She watches me with cold, dead eyes.

Her heart blackened,

Her soul of glass.

“Reach out your hand to me,” I beg.

But she does not.

Each morning of every day…

I’m left alone in an empty world.

I’m only half a person;

Less.

Anger and confusion are fighting for control,

But in end, only dull awareness.

14 responses

  1. omg – that’s so sad but yet so beautiful – and i love the palindromic title x

    March 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    • Thank you dear sir! I actually have a short around here of the same title that I can’t seem to find atm… which sucks because I haven’t read it in years. I think it must be on a floppy disk somewhere – I know for sure I’ll have a hard copy in one of my boxes in the basement at the very least so I might end up down there digging around later lol.

      March 20, 2012 at 2:33 pm

  2. How is it that words describing something dark create beauty…and the beauty is what allows me to relate and then as a result, the beauty has diminished the power of the dark. I read The Gulag Archipelago a million years ago and I think I read it because I needed to know that beauty could still exist under horrid conditions. In fact, beauty seems concentrated and brilliant under horrid conditions. I ramble in thought. LOVE your words, they’re always provoking and smart.

    March 20, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    • Ha! As one thought rambler to another, thank you so much!

      March 20, 2012 at 3:58 pm

  3. And here I thought I was the only one! I love it. We all have many faces/sides to ourselves. You did a great job here! Kudos.

    March 20, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    • Thank you so much Chrissy!

      March 20, 2012 at 4:18 pm

  4. Dark days revisited?

    Love the poem. It addresses the dark side that so many of us have. Every one has their own way of dealing with it. Some choose to ignore it, some go insane because of it, others embrace it.. You know.. What ever works.

    But really. Beautiful work.

    March 20, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    • Heh! It’s something I originally wrote a long time ago… it related nicely to today’s blog challenge which is why I chose it… still looking for more that fit the criteria.
      I’m so happy you liked it!

      March 20, 2012 at 6:30 pm

      • Oo. I’m still getting around to your other post. I’ll read that one and then let you know. 😛

        March 20, 2012 at 6:38 pm

      • Groovy!

        March 20, 2012 at 6:39 pm

      • You have one long ass comment waiting for you on that post.

        And yeah. I see how the poem fits in now. Crazy beautiful.

        March 20, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      • Yup, lol it was a long one! I love that though.
        I got to run for now… I’ll catch up with you later missy! Love ya.

        March 20, 2012 at 7:08 pm

      • Oookie. Take care you. 🙂

        March 20, 2012 at 7:19 pm

  5. Another great piece from you and yea sometimes i look in the mirror, i always feel that there is another character of me on what i saw. Thank You! 🙂

    April 13, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Leave a Reply

