A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Drowning

{The following was written as a song and though I usually rewrite songs into poem form for easier consumption, I never did so with this one… not sure why, but it is what it is. I did cut a little away for your viewing pleasure/horror since it really didn’t translate well as reading material – at least not in my opinion. This is still following yesterdays challenge theme. ~Robin~}

You’re drowning in waste high water

Hands flailing above your head

You don’t know exactly who you are…

You’re uncertain of what’s been said

And I see the man in the moon

He’s smiling – he’s laughing down on you

‘Cause you’re not alone, you’re just lonely

But you lock me out…

Like the cancer…

At your door…

At your door…

At your door…

I can’t take this pain anymore

And here have another drink;

Drown your sorrows in the bottle

It solves your problems – doesn’t it?

If even ‘till tomorrow

Wake up – questioning – the face beside you in your bed

And do you ever wonder…

Would it better off – If you were dead?

And here – take this knife

And drive it deeply through my soul

‘Cause I can not stay

To watch you kill yourself no more… 

No – more…

No – more… 

No – more…

And – I know where your money’s going…

Up your nose with that candy – not right.

I know now why you sleep all day…

And then you’re out and you’re gone all night.

I try to reach out to save you

But this time you’ve fallen too deep…

Be careful my friend – or I’ll lose you…

Ever more to eternal sleep

And I know….

You’re not the same

Oh I know…

It’s not the same…

mmhmm…

You’re not the…

I’m not the…

You’re not the…

Same.

10 responses

  1. love the parallels here – nice one x

    March 21, 2012 at 11:25 am

    • Thanks doll x… it’s a little scary how many I’ve come across that are drug and/or alcohol related lol.

      March 21, 2012 at 11:26 am

      • its kinda a powerful place to write from
        and you just made me really think: how come i’ve not written from there, or written so little about addiction. i really must i think, so tanks sweeddee x

        March 21, 2012 at 11:29 am

  2. Intense twinged with tragedy.

    March 21, 2012 at 12:23 pm

  3. Deep and beautiful… I could put myself in those shoes. That scares me a little.

    March 21, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    • Ah… how much scarier would it be if I told you I wrote it to myself? lol

      March 21, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      • 0_0.. Creepy scary? Lol. I’ve literary got goosebumps here.

        March 21, 2012 at 2:34 pm

  4. I LOVE THE PHOTO. The poem/song is so touching, I have to tell you that your pictures are sometimes just as intense as your words.

    March 22, 2012 at 3:42 am

    • Thank you, but I can take no credit at all for the pictures I use… most of them were collected so long ago that I have no idea where they originally came from or who to properly credit… but I do love them all.

      March 22, 2012 at 7:17 am

  5. The words fits perfectly for the poem/song, I even try to give it a tune and sing it like they meant to be lyrics! Its sad though. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    April 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Leave a Reply

