A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Challenge Day 23: Something you wish you had done in your life… (One Last Cup of Tea)

This challenge did not want to be met simply; it begged of me to greet it in verse; and so I – ever the slave to the written word – have chosen to do just that.  

One Last Cup of Tea

The day the Reaper came for me –

As we drank that final cup of tea –

He gave me one last chance to reminisce;

To look back through my life and see –  

To see the things that I had done

And things I’d always wished to do;

To count my failures and my feats

Afore I moved on to something new.

I sipped Earl Grey from a china cup,

And I thought of days gone bye;

And though I was in no rush to go

I found I was not afraid to die.

For I had lived my life quite well

And I’d done so very many things…

I’d learned to pride myself my virtues,

And I’d danced on no man’s strings.

But still it was – you see – I saw

There were things that I would miss;

I’d never have the chance again

To give my love another kiss;

To say, “My dear, you’ve been my rock.”

And let him hold me to his chest…

But though I could not go back in time

I’d leave knowing we’d done our best.

We’d done our best to show our love;

To honour every day;

And those little words that meant so much,

We were not afraid to say.

We’d fought the war, to save the ‘we’

So we might overcome our past,

And upon a foundation built of shit

We erected something meant to last.

So no regrets I’d leave behind

When thinking of my sweet…

For I would always have great joy

And the remembrance of our heat.

The Reaper slowly shook his head,

And said, “You’re not quite finished yet.”

And so it was, that I kept thinking

Of things I might regret.

I wished that I had had the chance

To know my daughter’s twin –

A single tear slipped from my eye

And dribbled down my chin –

But even this, I could not lament

Not truly, and not for long

For though it was, I’d lost one light

The other had grown strong.

I reflected then on both my girls,

And knew I’d miss most every thing;

I’d miss the way the big one laughed

And the way the little one would sing.

I’d miss their eyes and lips and toes

And the warmth they gave my soul,

But alas it was, that I was certain

I had achieved my greatest goal.

For I had given them the best of me

And I’d helped them to grow well;

I’d taught them how to stand up tall,

And I kissed them when they fell;

I told them each and every day

What children need to hear,

And in my actions, I made certain

To show I held them dear.

So though I wished that I could stay;

To see the women they’d one day be;

I knew that I had done all I could

To leave them the finest parts of me.

And though in my heart, I’d always want

More time to walk with them in stride,

No matter where I might be going

I’d carry bits of them inside.

I thought about my father then,

And wished we two, could have more time.

For it was, that I was leaving

Before we could build something more sublime.

I thought then of the work we’d done

To mend the bond that once was shattered,

And I realized how far we’d come

And knew that that was all that mattered.

I thought about my mother next –

With sadness in my heart –

So many things left wrong between us

Had been the same right from the start.

Though there was grief still deep within

I found I was not sorry,

For I had tried my very best

To rewrite that same old story.

No more blame, I held the woman,

Who’d once caused endless ache

But just because she gave me life,  

Does not a mother, make.

Though I wished then that things were different,  

I could move forward without fret,

For it was, that I was certain

My obligations had been met.

I thought then of all my friends –

Both of present and long ago –

And though I saw some ties had frayed,

It did not fill me up with woe.

For in this life we will know many,

But not all of them can stay

And those who walked long at my side

Would be with me come what may.

I knew too then, that I had done

My best to show I care,

And certain was I, they’d not soon forget

The times that we did share.

So as I prepared to leave the world

I was grateful that I’d shown

All the love that I had held

For all of those I’d known.

Ah – there were places I’d always hoped to see

And people yet to meet.

There were books unread and crazy things

I’d always hoped to greet,

But in the end, I saw the truth;

That I’d done what mattered most;

And this filled me up with waves of pride,

For I had what so few boast…

I’d earned contentment in a world

That too often can be cold.

I’d dug my way out of the pits

And learned to live out bold.

And so it was, I could leave free

Without remorse trapped in my mind

For I had found the greatest things

I’d once set out to find.

The Reaper smile at me then,

But grim, it did not seem,

Instead the kindly look he gave me

Was full of deep esteem.

He nodded slightly, and set down his cup

As he offered me his hand,

And it was – with great excitement,

I allowed him to help me stand.

Into the morrow, still left unknown

I was now prepared to tread;

For I’d left no deep thirsts unsated,  

And no great hungers still unfed.

Yes; I had lived my life quite well

And I’d done so very many things;

I’d learned to pride myself my virtues

And I’d danced on no man’s strings.

{One of my favourite songs of all time set to a movie about one of my favourite video games of all time… how could I not share?}

9 responses

  1. Fuck! I Love this. I love the idea of that last cup of tea. I hope that when I go, I get a chance to look back.

    March 23, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    • As soon as I read the prompt this morning I got this image in my head of having tea with the Reaper… I liked the idea so much I think I might have to use it again in the future.

      March 23, 2012 at 4:12 pm

  2. F**K! I love this too! I don’t need a chance to look back. Very incredible poetry!

    March 23, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    • Thank you get again, dear sir! I’m thrilled that you enjoyed it.

      March 23, 2012 at 4:11 pm

  3. Reblogged this on Nae's Nest and commented:
    Excellent poem

    March 24, 2012 at 5:46 am

    • Thank you so much.

      March 24, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  4. Love it!

    March 24, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  5. Love how you response to the challenge in a different way and it is not that simple either getting the words together! Great Job, i enjoyed it! Thank You! 🙂

    April 13, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

