A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Ember

In the middle of the darkness

I find a tiny

Ember

Flickering

Like the last fragment of hope

That once lingered;

Daintily;

On my mind.

I open my eyes to the minute shard of light;

Wanting it.

Needing it.

Welcoming it.

I open my heart to the quiet warmth

Spider-webbing its way

Through the bitterness in which

For so long;

Too long;

I’ve resided.

I reach out my hand,

Extend one shaky finger

In a desperate attempt

To catch freedom

In my palm.

My soul brushes against the soft blue light;

Ever so briefly.

I tremble;

My heart racing.

I shiver;

My head spinning.

I try to stand

But the breath is knocked

From my chest

By an unseen blow.

My eyes fight to maintain the glow,

My lids are heavy

My heart is as stone .

I try to rise – 

I stumble in desperation.

The light is failing.

The ember;

Flickering,

Fading.

I’m floating away in a sea of shadows.

16 responses

  1. You. Are. Good.

    March 24, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    • Thank you so much for saying so!

      March 24, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  2. Fantastic poem. Very simple yet profound at the same time. The image somehow fits the theme perfectly.

    March 24, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    • Ah, thank you so much. 🙂

      March 24, 2012 at 5:56 pm

  3. lookingforapurpose

    The imagry is beautiful, but its the meaning behind it thats moving. Great poem , maybe there will be another ember of sparkling light to fire up your hearts passion. I will be waiting for the next poem or post with much anticipation. 😉

    March 24, 2012 at 6:02 pm

  4. Nice shape. All you need for embers to ignite is someone to blow on them, like Nintendo cartridges of old.

    March 24, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    • lol, fine words of wisdom there. Thank you! 🙂

      March 26, 2012 at 1:33 pm

  5. What a beautiful poem! You are GREAT! (taking a step further than Brian!)

    Bisous,
    Dawn

    March 25, 2012 at 1:42 am

    • Hehe… thank you SO much!

      March 25, 2012 at 9:53 am

  6. “Like the last fragment of hope..” Fuck woman.. You blow my mind every time.

    March 25, 2012 at 7:45 am

    • awww shucks :$… and to think; this was another of those poems I almost didn’t post.

      March 25, 2012 at 9:53 am

      • *gasp* POST EVERYTHING.

        March 25, 2012 at 10:05 am

      • lol not a chance in hell!

        March 25, 2012 at 10:06 am

      • *sniffles*

        March 25, 2012 at 10:11 am

      • awww… seriously, of a hundred thousand words I write, I’m lucky if a hundred are worth reading lol.

        March 25, 2012 at 10:15 am

  7. This is great, you always have been great with poems and hooked stories and interesting responses! I am halfway catching up at your blog and yea it take me two days indeed to read each post in proper appreaciation and understanding! Thank You!

    April 13, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Leave a Reply

