A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Challenge Day 27: What’s the best thing going for you right now?

At this exact moment in time, the best thing I have going for me is a little peace and quiet, and a hot cup of coffee; perfect silence in my world is hard to come by, and so when I manage to grab a slice, I like to savour the hell out of it. Of course, this little pleasure is not meant to last long, whereas I have many wondrous things in my life that – while perhaps not eternal – are designed to keep me smiling and laughing for some time to come.

The very best of the best – the cream of the crop – would have to be my family…  

Because of the way that I grew up in the world that I grew up in, I never wanted (or expected myself to) settle down and have children. At some point I even thought about joining the army just to get away; I pictured myself in a long life of singledom with the occasional hook-up to meet any physical needs I might have – you know what I mean.

Even as a little kid, when a group of us would play house or what have you, I was something like the single working neighbour-lady; she was often a little neurotic. When we’d play ‘wedding’ I was usually the preacher, occasionally the groom, but never the bride.

As I got older and began my experimentation with the dating scene, heartbreak and soul-ache only served to solidify my aversion to all things denoting domestication. There was no way I was going to have children and sit around playing someone’s dutiful wife while they ran around town doing whatever the hell it was that I thought all men would eventually do. No sir, I was going to get out of my home town and see the world and never be tied down to anyone or anything.

Flash forward to the present, here I am playing the roll of the dutiful wife with two little’uns at my side. How the hell did that happen?

The easy answer; life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans… and sometimes, life knows what’s best for you even when you don’t.

What I didn’t understand growing up was that family could be the most amazing thing in the world. A real family gives you love and support. They’re a never failing shoulder when you’re sad, strong arms to hold you when you’re having a hard time staying on your own two feet, and a well placed joke or two to coax a smile to your lips just when you think you’ll never smile again. They’re the ones that keep your secrets, eat your kitchen disasters – pretending to like it even when you know it’s terrible – and are constantly there to give you a hand when you stumble. Real family is bloody amazing.  

Growing up I scoffed at things on TV like families sitting around having what we used to call ‘Theo moments’ (for those of you who didn’t grow up in the 80s, that’s a Cosby Show reference). I guffawed at the TV dad coming in, setting down his lunch pail, and saying, “Honey, I’m home!”. I mocked people who lived in houses with little white picket fences, and at the very concept of a ‘soccer mom’…

Funny how things change.

Conflicts in our house are not solved with screaming and violence… we actually have those ‘Theo moments’; which always brings a twitch of a grin to my lips. My man does come in the door and shout out, “Honey, I’m home!” even it is just to make me laugh. I don’t have a picket fence, but I do have a white fence; the boards run parallel, but it’s close enough; and while my oldest doesn’t play soccer, she is on the basketball team, and I do attend every single game.

Yes, if a seventeen year old me was to pop into the future for a glimpse, she’d ridicule my life while never really believing it to be valid… but I know that girl well enough to say – with all certainty – that deep, deep down, I have the life she’s always secretly wanted.

Life isn’t perfect; it wasn’t designed to be perfect; but it’s pretty damn good and I can say – without an ounce of doubt – that my family is prime the reason for that.

9 responses

  1. love what you have to say about family – took me years to learn that – love ya

    March 27, 2012 at 8:12 am

    • Thanks.. love ya too doll.

      March 27, 2012 at 8:19 am

  2. Awww. You gave me the sniffles. It’s such an honest post and anyone who reads it can tell. Love it! 🙂

    March 27, 2012 at 10:19 am

    • Aww, thank you hunny-bunny! LOL@hunny-bunny… ah, I kill me.

      March 27, 2012 at 10:21 am

      • Lol. I love your little nicknames for me. 😛

        March 27, 2012 at 10:27 am

      • hehe it’s a terrible habit… not everyone likes it, but I’m glad you do!

        March 27, 2012 at 10:29 am

  3. SweetP

    That is so nice!!! Wonderful to hear someone living a fulfilled family life, it’s what matters in the end! 🙂

    March 27, 2012 at 12:16 pm

  4. Beautiful post and I agree so much with what you say; without hubby and the two kids I would have gone nuts (well, already am a little bit)…it’s the time to write I don’t seem to have because I’m being Mom. I have an incredible mom who taught me everything i know – how to love and caress and adore your kids NO matter what. My dad was my post, my balance, my first call and now he looks down at me and smiles at all the running I do for the kids. I always knew I wanted to be a mother.

    March 27, 2012 at 3:54 pm

  5. My family isnt that close as yours but I will make sure when I have my own family like you, I will want a family like yours, i will build that! Thank YoU! 🙂

    April 13, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Leave a Reply

