A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

On a seriosome note…

For some reason I’ve been incredibly tired for the last week or so, and even though I managed to get an actual eight hours sleep last night (a rarity for me) I’m still feeling a little foggy. It is because of this reason that I wasn’t planning on doing any further posting today, so please forgive me if I get to rambling. Since I’m drifting in a bit of a haze and not very focused at all (again today), I thought I’d just cut myself some slack and take the rest of the day off from writing or doing any serious thinking. I sent off my challenge today and sat back to catch up with the blogs I follow.

There were some try great posts waiting for me this morning (there always is; you guys are fantastic!) but only one hit a soft spot (sore spot) within me with enough force to cause an echo… before I get to that – since it all ties together – I want to talk about something I’ve been meaning to get around to for awhile now.

At the end of my street is a transition house for women (and their children) in the early stages of starting their lives over from scratch. The house is privately funded and depends on donations to keep it running smoothly, and this is how I came to know about its existence in the first place; shortly after moving here, a neighbour came by collecting goods (food, clothing, toys, etc.) for the house on his only day off from work. He was not asked to do this; he’d simply taken it upon himself to do a little good.

Before long the house became the sole recipient of all the things no longer needed around here; clothes, toys, appliances – what have you; all the things we used to donate to the Salvation Army and a little bit more. Often I would employ my eldest daughter to help me drop things off, and over time the both of us fell a little bit in love with the house and its rotating residents. I’ve become friends with the lady (we’ll call her Anne) that runs the house – her own life story is incredible and inspirational, and maybe one day (with her permission) I’ll tell it here – and my oldest goes to school with her oldest, and so the two of us have spent a fair amount of time down there over the past two years. This past Christmas, Anne put us to work making up little goody baskets for the three families staying with her at the time, and my beau has managed to secure a great deal on turkeys from a work contact, so we’re going to surprise Anne at Easter with three giant birds. She might be the best human being I’ve ever met; completely selfless and flawlessly beautiful inside and out. She makes me want to be a better person, which is part of the reason I’ve spent so much time trying to help out down there; charity is often an act of selfishness I’m afraid.

It’s always a little difficult to meet the newcomers; often they wear the telltale signs of abuse, and their eyes are reflective pools of the terrible things they’ve endured – this is hardest to witness in the eyes of the children; and what’s even harder is knowing that a great many of them will eventually go back to the conditions they’re trying to leave behind. The most incredible thing, however, is seeing that look that some of the women get in their eyes, that ‘enough is enough’ look that lets you know that they’re done – no question about it – putting up with a substandard quality of life. These are the women that don’t look back, but run bravely into an unknown future.

No one ever throws parades for these women… but I think they should. None of them set out in life to become someone’s punching bag, but as anyone honest with themselves can attest, it’s all too easy to end up in situations we don’t plan on, but much harder to get ourselves out of them. It takes great courage and strength of will to reclaim your life and make it yours, and I have heaps of admiration for those that manage to do it.

Now, I know a few people that think taking my 11 year old daughter to a place like that is less then ideal; my brother-in-law for one, thinks it’s borderline idiotic; and who knows, maybe they’re right. Personally though, I believe that it’s good for her. It’s good for her to talk to others that do not have her blessed life because it keeps her eyes open to the world around her; it keeps her aware and empathetic. It’s good for her to know that sharing the things we have too much of is going to a great cause, and it’s great for her to participate in the act of trying to better the lives of others.

I believe that those of us who see something terrible occurring in the world around us and do nothing to stop it are just as bad as those actually causing the harm, and this is something I very much want my own children to not just believe, but feel. As many of you know, domestic violence is something that hits close to home for me. Though I try to remain non-judgemental, I am human and thus I am flawed, so forgive me when I say that I have very little use for any grownup who would hit a child (or anyone weaker than them for that matter) for any reason, and nearly as little for someone who would witness such an act without doing or saying anything about it. I want my girls to grow up strong mentally, physically and emotionally. I want them to recognize a bad situation before they walk into it, and not be afraid of doing whatever is necessary to get themselves back out if they should err along the way. I also want them to be strong and brave enough to stand for those not strong enough or brave enough to stand up for themselves.

Anyways, I’ve rambled on near enough for one day, and by now you’re probably wondering what got me started in the first place, so without further ado…

Serisome is one of the fantastic writers at {Seriosome}.WORDPRESS. I love this blog; it’s always enlightening and offers great food for thought. I also love the fact that there are multiple posters and each of them has their own unique style and way of thinking. One of the posts I read by seriosome today (the one that set off the echo) was titled Jasmine’s Story, and I’ve not been able to stop thinking about it ever since. It’s a (true) tale about domestic violence and a woman’s brave decision to get herself and her unborn child out of a bad situation. Read it, and pass it on if you feel the inkling to do as such. I think there’s a great message in it.

I do feel a bit of poetry coming on, but now I’m REALLY tired, so I’m not sure if I’ll actually get to it just now, or if I’ll leave it for tomorrow.

11 responses

  1. Loved your post. I’m gonna check our suggestion ;-). Tks for stopping by. Write me a message and I’ll be really happy
    Bernadette

    March 27, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    • 🙂 Thanks for following along… I’m glad you liked the post and I’m SURE you’ll love where the suggestion leads. I must admit, I am a terrible commenter… but I’m TRYING to get better at it.

      March 27, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      • How come you say you are a terrible commenter… I’m smilling… can’t you see it? Now I’ll finish Jasmine’s story. Thank you!

        March 27, 2012 at 3:43 pm

      • hehe you’re most welcome!

        March 27, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      • Hi, Robin? I just read the whole post 27. Are you online? Can you write at gmail? ibelieveyouproject@gmail.com

        March 27, 2012 at 3:55 pm

  2. Wow. It makes me feel good that I’m encouraging others to think about real issues! Jasmine and I were engaged for a few months, then we broke up (but are to this day still friends). She ended up marrying the wrong person who, like you said, made her life bad. She ended up escaping. The real gut wrenched is that the baby ended up not being born. Hers is one of many stories — of people who face insurmountable trials– but don’t give up.

    March 27, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    • Ah, I am indeed sorry to hear that the baby didn’t make it. My heart goes out to Jasmine, along with my respect.
      Giving up is no longer something in my personal makeup… I’ve seen a lot of horrible things in this world, and I’ve also seen a lot of good; there are two sides to every coin.
      I’m really glad you posted this today. Encouraging people to think about the real issues should make you feel good.

      March 27, 2012 at 4:38 pm

  3. Wow. I’m glad you have places like that where you live. The amount of abuse in this country is CRAZY, but there isn’t any institution to help them out. There are many reasons for it, but seriously, something needs to be done. Even the courts are biased even if a woman somehow manages to get the funds to fight for herself.

    I just read the Jasmine’s story. Dang. Stuff like that takes courage. Kudos to her. I wish more people could find it in them to leave the abuse behind.

    March 29, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    • Ya, it was a really brave story… inspiring for a lot of people I’d imagine, though, I learned after (sadly) that the baby was never born. 😦
      Even here there is a lot of bias about domestic abuse, and we’re actually one of the best countries for things like that. Things are improving though.. it’s just a long march.

      March 29, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      • OMG. What? How come?

        I’m glad things are getting better and people are taking a stand. Once I get the time (and the money), I wouldn’t mind helping out my own country if it would just get it’s head on straight.

        March 29, 2012 at 4:59 pm

  4. Abuse is definitely a no no and some dont even dont seem to understand and for the victims who leave everything behind and forgive, i salute to them. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 12:01 am

Leave a Reply

