A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Battered

Battered and bruised

Tired and used

She confronts the face in the mirror.

Alone and afraid

Her misery splayed

Her madness draws constantly nearer.

Too many years

A river of tears

And nothing has changed but her heart.

Her infant cries

A piece of her dies

Her soul’s being torn apart.

She’s clouded in doubt

Her time’s running out

It’s a battle to get through each day.

In the world all alone

Her house not a home

But a prison that locks her away.

If she doesn’t go now

And find a way how

She will never escape at all.

His anger will reign

She’ll suffer the pain

And through nightmares she’ll continue crawl.

With her feet on the floor

And her bags by the door

She has endured the final attack.

It’s time to move on;

To get herself gone;

And she knows that she’ll never look back.

10 responses

  1. Lana Bardot

    This is very good and very powerful. Thank you so much for sharing this. You have expressed the emotions, thoughts and experiences of an abused woman in a few beautiful and haunting words. I do hope that she keeps the light and continues to move forward, walking out of the fog.

    March 28, 2012 at 6:50 am

    • Thank you very much!

      March 28, 2012 at 9:12 am

  2. Reminds me of something. Not sure what though.

    March 28, 2012 at 10:49 am

  3. I like how a few of your poems have some sort of a mirror involved. I need to try the mirror thing once. Just to see how it goes. “{

    This one looks like it was inspired from Jasmine’s story, but I maybe off. Whoopsie?

    March 29, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    • There are a few elements I find popping up time and again in my writing no matter how much I try to ignore them; mirrors, rain and thorns just to name a few. Each of these things has a deep meaning for me personally, so that’s likely where it keeps coming from.

      March 29, 2012 at 4:54 pm

      • I like that they do. 😛 Especially the mirror references, because that’s the only one that I’ve noticed so far.

        March 29, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    • Oh ya, and it was inspired by Jasmine’s story in part.. but also by someone I was thinking about (someone I used to know) when it came to mind.
      LOL I’m really distracted right now… there’s a cop here taking my man’s official statment about the accident the other day.

      March 29, 2012 at 4:56 pm

      • Damn. I’m sorry.

        Lol. Heebeejibies because of the cop?

        March 29, 2012 at 5:08 pm

      • Heh, partly, but mostly just because I was trying to eavesdrop lol.

        March 29, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  4. An excellent piece to look at a story of an abused person. Great Work! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 12:04 am

Leave a Reply

