A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

There’s a party going on right here…

This is my one hundredth post and I have ‘Celebration’ by Kool & the Gang stuck in my head… nerdy yes, but it is what it is.  I was this close ←→ to having had my 100th post coincide with my 100th follower, but it was just never meant to be. 😦

Sadly, I don’t have anything exciting for you fine folks (I’d been hoping to finish up a certain project for this momentous occasion, but things just didn’t pan out – sorry) so instead, I’m going to touch on some of the thoughts currently bouncing around in my head. In honour of my very first ‘Like’ (on my ‘Hello World’ post way back on day one of this little adventure) I’m going to do this Cribbings style. {That’s right, Miss Vargas – it was YOU!}

 

Without further ado, the top 10 things currently on my mind are…

1)     I’m not terribly concerned with this, but I do wander how many of you think that either a) I’m completely off my nut or b) just really confusing. I wonder this because I’ve had 36 years to get used to the way I flip-flop between moods and ideas, and I still often wonder if I’m playing with a full deck of cards. Despite the fact that I constantly teeter between being obnoxiously narcissistic and desperately humble – and despite the fact that I openly argue with myself on the page – you keep coming back… damned if that doesn’t boggle the mind.

2)     I’m dying for spring to arrive. I’m starting to feel a little stir-crazy and I need to get outside! I’m starving for some new inspiration and being constantly stuck indoors is getting more than a little stale.

3)     I hate the word ‘feisty’. Sorry, not entirely sure where that came from, but I do.

4)     I only have three (including today’s) prompts remaining on the 30 Day Blog Challenge, and I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do when it’s over. (Side note: I’ve learned a lot about myself doing this challenge, and I highly recommend it. It can be found here if you’re interested. P.S. The blog that link will land you on is fantastic… take my advice and take a look around while you’re over there.)

I was thinking about starting a new challenge, but I couldn’t find one interesting and/or original enough for my liking so I’ve given up the idea.

I’ve considered writing my life story and posting it here a piece at a time, but I’m still undecided about how much I want to do that, how much I’m willing to share, and about just how much you fine folks would actually want to know… so right now this idea is on a back burner.

I thought I might just concentrate more on poetry and fiction, going freestyle (letting my mind take me where it will as I usually do) and at this exact moment in time, this seems like the best (and most likely course of action). However… you guys are my readers (and the greatest followers a girl could ask for, by the way) and since the whole point of this blog is to make me more reader friendly/comfortable, I would love to hear your thoughts on this matter. What might you like to see more (or less) of?

Now, being as that I’m sometimes painfully stubborn (and sometimes I have very little control over my own brain) I can’t guarantee I’ll follow your suggestions to a T, but I will take them under serious consideration and try my very best to shape this blog into something you guys actually want.

5)     While we’re on the topic of public opinion… I love writing (most days) but I’m really not overly fond of (or confident in) my own skill. I just wanted to formally invite my readers to critique my work when they (you) see fit. Honestly, my inner-writer is a bit of a sensitive lil’ Nilly, but my other dozen or so personalities are all pretty tough so we’ll hold her hand through the worst of it.

All kidding aside, one of the goals here is to improve as a writer. The positive feedback is great for my inner-writer’s ego, but only through having the flaws in my work pointed out to me can I hope to learn from my mistakes, so be gentle, but be honest.

6)     Between family and the really-real world constantly requiring my attention, I only have so much free time to devote to my hobbies de jour. Because I’ve been using up the majority of that free time either working on my novel or posting/reading here, I’ve had to make certain cutbacks with time spent on other interests. I haven’t even picked up a book in over two weeks – which is just about a record for me – and I’ve had to cut down my news reading to one afternoon a week just to keep time cleared for reading and posting on WordPress. I’m not overly concerned with this (yet) as that I tend to be a little obsessive by nature (especially when starting on something new) and I expect things to balance themselves out soon enough… if they don’t, however, I may have to force myself into spending less time here. 😦

7)     Speaking of reading other blogs… I know I need to become a better commenter. I read so many fantastic blogs on here and while I almost always ‘like’ the ones I enjoy (unless I’m reading from my phone) I realize I tend to only comment regularly on the same dozen or so pages. This can only be chalked up to laziness on my part, and I will try to get better at this as time goes on.

8)     I hate to say it (because saying it means I have to admit it to myself) but I’ve been experiencing ‘tone’ issues with my novel again. I don’t know if this is because I’ve been feeling a little dragged out lately, or if it’s just because I’ve let myself get off track, but I’m currently a little frustrated with ‘The Trinity’ and I am thinking about starting back at page one… again. I hesitate to do this, because this is one of my greatest flaws as a writer; I’m great at beginnings, but rarely see things through. Ah well, it is what it is… just though I’d share.

9)     Random thought; there are approximately 30-40 crows perched in the trees in my front yard and I’m starting to feel like I’m in a Hitchcock film. It’s actually a little creepy.

10)  As my final number… I love you guys! Daily I find myself shocked and amazed by the interest and support you continue to show in what I often consider the ramblings of a fragmented mind… I really never expected to find so much encouragement and inspiration as I’ve found here, so THANK YOU!    

As a further ‘Thank You’ there is a few people I feel I must independently thank. While every single one of you are amazing and I appreciate what you’ve done (and what you continue to do) for me, there are a small handful of folks that lit a fire under my butt right from the beginning, and without their influence, I’m all but certain I wouldn’t be working on my 100th post right now.

The very top three people to thank (blame) for me still being around are:

Gabriela Vargas of Cribbings: Yours was the first blog I commented on here, and by far the one I’ve commented on the most since. I love your mind and your spirit and your honesty, and I know you are one of the top reasons I kept coming back here day after day. I can’t wait till your schedule clears up some… I miss you like crazy!

Kyle Mew of kylemew.com (or Mew Tube): You’ve been a major inspiration to me from the start. I credit you with the fact that I’ve managed to loosen up a little when it comes to my writing; I’m not nearly so uptight about it as I was in the beginning; and so I must thank you, thank you, thank you a thousand times over. Love ya doll.

Pete Armetta: We don’t chit-chat a whole lot, but know that your work is always an inspiration to me, and that your blog is one of the top reasons I returned here daily from the start; ever excited to read whatever new treasures awaited me on your page; and never have you disappointed.

So that’s it folks; the celebration’s over. You don’t have to go home, but you can’t stay here. Well… you can stay, but I’m going to skedaddle for awhile.

14 responses

  1. Congrats on sticking to your challenge 🙂 When you say you don’t know what youll do after it, just do what you’e done in this post. Talk about whats on your mind! You shouldn’t have to worry what others like, it’s your blog and the people reading it like it because they enjoy your perspective on things or you for being you.

    🙂

    March 28, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    • Thank you darlin. And ya.. I know… more likely than not I’ll just wing it, but I am kind of sad to see the challenge end. It’s been strangely nice to have assignments. Weird eh? hehe

      March 28, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  2. Y can certainly understand what you mean 🙂

    March 28, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    • Fortunately, I’m pretty easy to amuse, so I imagine I’ll latch on to something else the second I’m done with the last two challenges, lol.

      March 28, 2012 at 5:58 pm

  3. Believe it or not, you are quite focused! Love the post.

    March 29, 2012 at 4:05 am

    • LOL I’m really, REALLY not at all. I’m glad you liked the post though!

      March 29, 2012 at 6:10 am

  4. Wooohooo! First off, MAJOR CONGRATULATIONS! 🙂

    And I gave you your first like? REALLY? :O I really really didn’t know that. YAY! I feel super cool. 😛

    You hate the word feisty? 0_0 This might be the first thing we disagree on, because I love that word. Not particular reason for it, but I just like using it. Lol.

    AND EEKS! I hate crows. They always freak me out. Indian black magic and omens are always associated with those bastards. I HATE THEM. Shoo them away or something. Gah.

    P.S. I love you. I know I say it to you almost everyday, but I really do mean it because I don’t say it a whole lot. I’m glad that I’m one of the reasons that you’re still on here and you should know that you’re number one on my list. Your work always inspires me and fascinates the hell of out of me. Keep writing, because otherwise I’ll lose my favorite daily dose of the day.

    March 29, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    • Thanks! And how cool is that eh? I wasn’t aware that you were the first till the other day when I looked all the way back, lol.
      I hate the word feisty because it reminds me of one my stalkers – the single white female one i mentioned before. I can’t hear the word without thinking about her, and so it irks me. A lot of ppl know the word bugs me, lol but not many know why.
      And I find crows interesting… but freaky! I don’t overly like them near me lol.
      Finally… I love LOVE LOVE you too!!! I can’t wait till you’re back full time!

      March 29, 2012 at 4:59 pm

      • Hahaha. YAY! I’m feel so awesome about myself right now, so idea why. You’ve majorly improved my mood.

        Aaah. You have valid reason to hate the word. It’s allowed then. 😛

        I can’t stand crows. I’ve seen and heard too many horror stories that begin with some random crow on some random tree. I always get shivers down my spine when I see one.

        I’ll be online most of today since all my other plans just fell flat on their ace. Yayiee! 😛

        March 29, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      • I LOVE that something I said put you in a good mood… YAY me!! Tee hee
        I like/hate crows because they creep me out lol. I do like things that make my mind go wonky doodle for some reason.. probably because I’m a little wonky doodle myself. The feisty thing I’ll tell all about one of these days… I’ve been really, really tired lately, and I’ve not been able to focus well at all… I think as soon as I can get a little recharge, I’ll get my full throttle mojo back again.
        I’m sorry your plans fell through:( THat sucks. what sucks more though is that I’m gonna have to bail and I won’t be able to take advantage of the free time you’ve found!! BOOOOOO!!!!

        March 29, 2012 at 5:29 pm

      • Yes. I just the read the post about crows. Lol. You said feisty! Awww. 😛

        Get some majorly required rest soon. I can’t wait for you to come back with blazing guns, though your posts seem just fine to me. Lol.

        I know. I hate the fact that I’m so unbelievably clumsy and accident prone. And it’s okay. Gooooo! Real life always trumps WP. I might sleep off too so that I can try and do the touristy thing tomorrow.

        March 29, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      • You have a great night… er day. Love ya pretty lady!! Talk to you soon.

        March 29, 2012 at 5:36 pm

      • Love you too. You will be missed, so come back soon. 🙂

        March 29, 2012 at 5:47 pm

  5. Hooray for the 100 great posts so far, keep going! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 12:38 am

Leave a Reply

