A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Boy Blue

I saw a little man;  

His jaw line black and blue;

He pushed a rusted buggy

As though it were something he must do.

I took a second glance

And saw this man – he was a child.

I saw the death of innocence

And knew his soul had been defiled.  

My heart filled so with sorrow;  

And a sense of loss I can’t explain;

And I found myself just staring

As the boy traveled through the rain.

So many lined those roads

All just starving for a hit

But boy blue stood out amongst them

Somehow alien to it.

Nine or ten, no older

Seemed this scrawny little lad

Surely of no age nor wisdom

To suffer so for doing bad.

I could see the pock marks on his arms

Like the others on that street.

He wore trousers two sizes large

And wore no shoes upon his feet.

His flesh had a pale greyish look

And his dark eyes were sunken deep,

And I had to sadly wonder

What demons chased him in his sleep.

I longed to know his tale then

To understand how he was there.

I wondered what his life might be

If this world had been more fair.  

17 responses

  1. Ina

    beautiful image, and poem as well.

    March 31, 2012 at 12:09 am

    • Thank you very much. 🙂

      March 31, 2012 at 9:44 am

  2. It’s heartbreaking and beautifully written. The world is a shit place to be sometimes.

    Hugs to you,
    Dawn

    March 31, 2012 at 2:47 am

    • Aye, thank you *hugs back*!

      March 31, 2012 at 9:44 am

  3. SweetP

    Wow, beautiful and so sad!

    March 31, 2012 at 5:19 am

    • Thank you ma’am. It’s based on something that I actually saw a few years ago that really did break my heart a little.

      March 31, 2012 at 9:46 am

      • SweetP

        The world needs more people like you!

        March 31, 2012 at 11:55 am

      • HEH! What a scary thought that is, lol.

        March 31, 2012 at 5:15 pm

  4. You gave me the sniffles again. Stupid powerful writing. *grouchy face*

    April 1, 2012 at 9:45 am

    • Aww 😦 I’m sorry.
      Y’know what’s really sad about this poem is that it’s taken from real life.

      April 1, 2012 at 9:47 am

      • Awww fuck! What did you do when you saw him?

        April 1, 2012 at 10:20 am

      • The short-long of it is this… it was just after I first moved to Vancouver. There’s this one area of the city (the east end of Hastings street and the surrounding area) that has become purgatory for the addicts and mentally unstable over the years. It’s like something out of a freakin horror movie. Anyway, first time out driving around and whatnot after the move, we head down through this area and I kind of wigged out a little bit… that kid was not even the harshest thing we saw that night. I have a ton of writing about that day and other experiences down on the east end… actually, even my story Reflections is based down there. I didn’t actually DO anything… I just watched through the window and shed a tear or two and thought about how fucked up the world is sometimes. I think about that kid all the time though… that was like five-six years ago… I wonder if he’s even still alive. I always think I SHOULD have done something, but even in retrospect, I have no idea what I should have done.

        April 1, 2012 at 10:25 am

      • That’s exactly why I asked you because even I would’ve have had no idea as to what I should’ve done.

        That area sounds really scary, kudos to you for having the guts to drive down there.

        Here’s to hoping that he’s alive. But seriously though, even if he is, I wonder what he’s become. I mean living in a neighborhood like that, you don’t really have a lot of options.

        April 1, 2012 at 10:30 am

      • No, you don’t… and the worst part is that meth is the heavy drug of choice down there these days. There’s not a lot of longevity for meth addicts, you know? But maybe he got lucky – or smart – or both, and he put his life together and moved on. One can always hope. What I really want to know is where the hell were his parents? And why the hell wasn’t he dragged off the street by social workers or something?

        April 1, 2012 at 10:33 am

      • Oh fuck. Here’s to hoping that he got lucky, for his sake. From the way that you described it, it sounds like his parents were probably living there as well.

        And social service didn’t kick in because of the area. They normally don’t target areas like that very heavily because there are just too many kids to take care of. It’s unfair, I know.

        April 1, 2012 at 10:42 am

      • ya. blah! That area is so ignored it’s more than a little disgusting.

        April 1, 2012 at 10:47 am

  5. Again never make me captivated to read every posts so far! Great Job! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 1:21 am

Leave a Reply

