A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

April’s fool…

Have you ever really looked at a particularly deep patch of shade nestled into a nook – perhaps beneath a tree or a back porch, maybe in a secreted corner of your yard – on an otherwise brilliant day? Have you ever taken the time to consider the unique beauty of such a bit of shadow, or perhaps even found yourself relating to it in some trivial way?

Yesterday was the first truly beautiful day we’ve seen here since autumn gave birth to winter. The sun was warm and bright and rather lovely, and the sky was an endless canvas of perfect blue. Because of this, I felt compelled to spend the better part of the day outdoors.

In the earliest part of the day – right after I made my first post and decided not to waste such a glorious day shackled to my computer – it was just me and my littlest little’un outside enjoying the nice weather. We flitted about in the yard not really doing anything but having fun with it nonetheless. At some point, she went off on her own adventure, and I plucked a few weeds from my pathetic excuse for a herb garden. As I was doing this, my attention was drawn to a deep sliver of shade tucked into the corner where my back deck meets my house, and my mind drifted momentarily. I knelt there with a limp brown weed in one hand, and the fingers of my other hand pressed against the stiff dirt. I cocked my head ever so slightly and crinkled my brow – something I should really stop doing if I don’t want to look like Yoda by the time I’m 45, but seem to do every time I leap into some new sea of thought – and gazed intently at that tiny scrap of the world that had been completely ignored by the light. At the time, I wasn’t even sure why I was so fascinated by it; I only knew that it struck me as rather stunning and somewhat sad all at the same time.

My reverie was interrupted by the call of, “Mommy… mommy come. Mommy… spider… come.” Kara (we’ll call her that – I just realized I never gave my girls fancy pseudonyms) is currently obsessed with spiders. Personally, I love the eight-legged little freaks, but only from a distance; like in pictures; and I’m really not fond of being close to them, and I pretty much loathe being touched by them. I held a tarantula once for about thirty seconds just to prove to myself that I could, and my skin still crawls with the memory of it. Anyways, Kara found a spider – one of the huge fat ones we sometimes find around here that look like genetic mutations. Her excitement was infectious and I lost my train of thought, stood up and went off to follow her to her treasure and didn’t think about the patch of shade again until I was lying in bed last night.

Just as my head hit the pillow, the memory of that strange fascination I’d felt for the patch of shade came back to me. At first, I couldn’t figure out what my obsession might be about, but after awhile, I finally came to understand it; I identified with it in some abstract way. It was like a nature’s reflection of my own personality; a shard of darkness swaddled in light. The more I thought about it, the more I liked the analogy, and the more I liked it, the more I thought about it. Clearly, I’m still thinking about it now.

While I don’t spend much of my time moping about in depression, there will always be a piece of me that the light doesn’t touch. It’s that place I write from when I look at humanity with pessimism and disgust; the echo of a life that used to be that will never entirely be silenced. Despite what this inner blackness was born from, I actually like this little shard of gloom; I know how strange that must sound, but I do. It reminds me of where I came from and helps me to appreciate (even more) where I now am. Also, it is the source of many of the more (I think) interesting parts of my personality. It’s the part of me that takes perverse amusement in scaring people; if you’re a jumpy sort of person, you do not want to watch horror movies with me, or go camping with me – I do so love my ghost stories; and the part of me that stands as the eternal sentinel to the more vulnerable part(s) of my personality. It’s where my ‘bullshit’ radar is located – that inner survivalist that knows when you’re being less than straight with me when I look you in the eyes – and where all my monsters are born. While I don’t spend a lot of time focusing on my inner shadow, I’m usually aware of it, and while I prefer to live in the light, I would suffer (greatly I believe) if I ever lost that last splinter of gloom.

If you’ve ever watched Dexter, you’ve heard him muse about his ‘dark passenger’. I like that a lot. Not that I have a serial killer living in my internal shade – don’t worry, I’m a little saner than Dexter – I just like the way he describes his darkness. Personally, I believe a lot of us have that little bit of black at the center of our brightly brushed personal painting; that tiny void that gives us a certain balance. I also believe that if we were all brilliance and rainbows all the time, the world would likely be a pretty boring place.

Anyways, that’s my random thought for the morning (every now and then I think of the ‘Deep Thoughts with Jack Handy’ skits from Saturday Night Live when I muse – weird), I’ll be back along shortly with a little something else, but I really need to catch up on some blogs just now. Happy 1st of April folks!  

18 responses

  1. awesome post robin – thanks

    April 1, 2012 at 8:50 am

    • lmao that was my best effort at focusing this morning.

      April 1, 2012 at 8:54 am

  2. I always identified with the reference of the dark passenger by Dexter. Not because I’m a serial killer, unless we’re talking about roaches, but because there’s a little part of me that’s a little evil. Not evil, “Bwahahaha. I keeel you.” but evil in the sense that world just holds a different meaning for her. There’s the nice happy part that always smiles and supports everyone she cares about, and a little dark part, that just refuses to blend in.

    I’m not sure I’m making sense here.

    April 1, 2012 at 10:50 am

    • Perfect sense, because that’s exactly how I feel. I’m well aware of this little part of me that leans towards ‘evil’… my sense of humour is rather dark at times, and no matter how often I spend out in the real world with the daytime people, I’m always going to have a fragment of myself that belongs to the night. The cool part though is that the people closest to me in the world are aware – at least to some degree – of this darker aspect of my personality, and they’ve just come to accept it… even if it keeps them on edge at times lol.

      April 1, 2012 at 10:54 am

      • Lol. That post about the sunflowers twisting their necks looking for sunlight on Kyle’s blog made me laugh so hard. I actually slipped a little off my bed. My only issue is that nobody in my “real” life knows about this. One person did once, and he accepted it open arms but as things turned out we had to part our ways. I miss him at times. He’s in Delhi.. Hmm.. I think you might’ve just sparked my next blog post. It’s an issue that’s been mulling around my head for a while.

        April 1, 2012 at 11:14 am

      • YAY!! Inspiration!!!
        And ya, it took me finally figuring out how to accept all the little bits of my own personality before I was able to stop hiding them from other people. It’s so important (I think) that we have people around us that actually like/love us for who we really are… all the different parts.

        April 1, 2012 at 11:17 am

      • It sounds damn sad, but I think my mom is the only one who can handle it. Nobody else has the capacity to take in all of it. Lol.

        April 1, 2012 at 11:32 am

      • You’d be surprised. I used to think the same thing. Dude, I spent the better part of my life hiding who I really was and trying to be what everyone else seemed to want me to be. Imagine my shock when I figured out people could actually like the real me (no holds barred) better.

        April 1, 2012 at 11:36 am

      • Lol. There’s this one person, well two actually, who’re getting to know me a little better at time passes. I think they have potential. I just don’t wanna scare them away by showing them all of me, all at once, so for now I’m just giving them little doses at a time. 😛

        Lets see how that goes.

        April 1, 2012 at 11:55 am

      • HAHA oh ya… no, even I take time revealing my different layers to new people… while I love to fun-scare people, the idea of sending some poor bloke screaming for the hills – while funny – is not my goal.

        April 1, 2012 at 11:56 am

      • Hahahaha. My point exactly. 😛

        April 1, 2012 at 12:15 pm

  3. TheOthers1

    This was an enjoyable read though I’m jumpy and will never do anything scary with you because I startle easy. I still like you though. When I stop to think about those inner parts of me that others don’t see, I get nervous. There is so much inside that seems dark and twisted. It upsets me, but I can’t ignore it. We all harbor those parts of us I think. It’s reconciling those parts that’s hard at least for me.

    April 1, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    • Ah yes… you definitely wouldn’t want to do anything scary with me lol.
      I think we all (or at least most of us – definitely those of us with a bit of an artistic flair of any kind) have fragments to our personality that can sometimes conflict with one another. I don’t think of this as a bad thing – though I once did – but more so as what makes us interesting and keeps us unique. Let’s not pretend that it’s easy to reconcile those pieces though – there are still parts of my personality that really don’t get along with one another at all (damn trouble makers;) – but I think forcing them to mesh neatly together is less important than acknowledging and accepting them for what they are.
      Damn I hope that made as much sense as it pretended to in my own head.

      April 1, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      • TheOthers1

        Lol. Yes, some of those parts of me don’t play well with other parts. And this made perfect sense. Thanks.

        April 1, 2012 at 3:08 pm

  4. You’re truly a brilliant Memoirist. I wish I could do it so well. This is amazingly brilliant and I so relate, to the point I’m going to repost it right here:

    “It’s that place I write from when I look at humanity with pessimism and disgust; the echo of a life that used to be that will never entirely be silenced. Despite what this inner blackness was born from, I actually like this little shard of gloom; I know how strange that must sound, but I do. It reminds me of where I came from and helps me to appreciate (even more) where I now am. Also, it is the source of many of the more (I think) interesting parts of my personality. It’s the part of me that takes perverse amusement in scaring people; if you’re a jumpy sort of person, you do not want to watch horror movies with me, or go camping with me – I do so love my ghost stories; and the part of me that stands as the eternal sentinel to the more vulnerable part(s) of my personality. It’s where my ‘bullshit’ radar is located – that inner survivalist that knows when you’re being less than straight with me when I look you in the eyes – and where all my monsters are born. While I don’t spend a lot of time focusing on my inner shadow, I’m usually aware of it, and while I prefer to live in the light, I would suffer (greatly I believe) if I ever lost that last splinter of gloom”.

    April 1, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    • Heh! Thanks again Pete. Actually… I didn’t see it before you pointed it out to me, but that might be the best paragraph I’ve written in like a week and a half. Thanks!

      April 2, 2012 at 7:43 am

      • See THAT? I love when that happens haha

        April 2, 2012 at 10:58 am

  5. Wow that is so great! It is well crafted too! Awesome indeed! Thanks! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 2:23 am

Leave a Reply

