A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Uncharted Randomosity…

Okay folks, I’m going to attempt to concentrate here, so do me a huge favour and try not to post anything interesting for say… fifteen minutes. Thanks!

Actually, I’m not going to try and concentrate that hard… I’m just going to go over some of the nuts and bolts clanking around inside my skull to give you an idea of where I’m at on this first day of the new month. Are you ready? Too bad! Here we go…

On the first of each month, I usually sit down and write up a new set of goals for myself, and for the last (nearly) two months since I’ve been blogging here, I’ve been sharing the ‘writing’ related part of those lists with you guys. I am not doing that today because I have opted not to catalogue my writing aspirations this month – at least not for now.

Because I have been a little scatterbrained and unfocused of late, I feel my inner-writer is suffering due to the pressure I’ve been putting on her. Because the last thing that I want to do is damage the poor girl, I have decided to cut her a little slack. In fact, I’m giving her absolute free reign for however long it might take her to get back on track.

What this means is that I’m not even setting goals for working on my book just now; the truth of that is that the weird writing rut I feel I’ve been in lately is effecting my work on The Trinity to the point where I’ve been playing with the idea of either starting from scratch (again) or tossing the whole thing in the trash. Rather than going to either of these extremes, I think the smartest thing to do is ease back on the goal setting for the moment and let my inner-writer do whatever she feels she might need to do.

The good news is that this is not the first time I’ve ever been through one of these cycles; some writers get writer’s block, I get idea-diarrhoea that often leads to my extreme inability to focus; and since it’s not a new experience, I’m already quite certain it’s not lasting either. I’ll just keep letting all the random stuff in my brain spill out and eventually I’ll slip back on to the tracks. In the meantime, you folks might want to hold on; it could be a pretty bumpy ride.

In other news, I officially hit 100 followers today… wow. That’s a lot of eyeballs molesting the contents that keep spilling out of my brain bucket, but I’ll try not to let that number unnerve me too much.

I want you guys to know how grateful I am for each and every one of you; you’re all bloody amazing; and I shall strive not to disappoint. If you can just be patient with me, I’ll work through my current programming difficulties before you know it. I’ll still be a little nuts, but at least it will be (somewhat) controlled nuttiness.

I do have about three dozen projects in the works (or at least in the planning stages) that I’ll get back to once I finish working through my kinks, and some of them are quite interesting, if I do say so myself. I am working on something for you all right now… but I’m not sure yet how it’s going to turn out… it could be pretty weird.

As I mentioned earlier, yesterday was warm and beautiful here; so much so that it inspired a little impromptu gathering of friends last night. It was so lovely that I was just foolish enough to think that spring had actually sprung, and I was full of optimism that I’d be able to spend today outside soaking up the rays while I wrote in the backyard.

I woke up this morning to find that the snow had returned, and I couldn’t help feeling like Mother Nature was playing her own little April fools prank on us… she’s a nasty sense of humour, that one. On the plus side, the last hour or so has seen a return of the sun, and it’s currently melting away what little snow had accumulated, so it’s altogether possible I’ll be able to get in some outdoor writing time soon. (Crossing my fingers here!) Oh, my crows left today by the way. As creepy as the little buggers are, I kind of miss them.

Well, that’s all for the moment… I’m going to get back to that ‘possibly weird’ project I mentioned. Have a good evening!!  

11 responses

  1. SweetP

    Where in Canada are you? I live in Ontario. Congrats on 100 followers! What a feeling!

    April 1, 2012 at 4:32 pm

  2. SNOW? Oh Lord haha NOOOOO!!!! (well, if you like it, okay) 🙂

    What writing rut? I don’t see you not writing so we’re not talking Writers Block (I’ve had it bad so know what it is). And what’s wrong with not having any writing goals this month (unless it’s just related to this “rut”) It sounds to me like you can use a break, based on how hard you’ve been working and the wheels of your mind turning and screeching so. 🙂 I think it’s really important as a writer to go easy on yourself, stretch things out some… I mean look at the publishing world, they move slower than a turtle crossing the road on a 98 degree day.

    Enjoy your weird project ! hehh

    April 1, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    • Hehe, I like the snow well enough… when it first begins to come down in the late fall… by this time of year I’m sick to death of it!!
      I don’t really get writer’s block… like I said; I get that opposite thing – that thing I’ve recently decided to call ‘idea-diarrhoea’. Basically, I’m bombarded with a thousand thoughts and ideas all at once, and I have a really hard time finishing anything because I can’t focus on one idea at a time… it’s frustrating, but I wonder if actual writer’s block might be a lot worse; better to have too many ideas than none I suppose. Eventually it will taper off and I’ll refocus, and I’ll have a dozens of projects to work on from this weird outpouring of thought, so it’s not all bad hehe.
      There’s nothing ‘wrong’ with not having goals; I’m just typically a goal-oriented person. I’ve decided to ease up on that until my mind finishes wrestling with itself; there’s really no point in forcing what refuses to be forced, right?
      And thanks Pete… seriously!
      Oh… and as for that weird project, I managed to knock out the rough draft in totality last night. Later today (when I have time) I’m going to sit down and edit it – see if there’s actually something there or if it’s really as odd as I think it is lol.

      April 2, 2012 at 7:42 am

      • Absolutely no forcing. I wind up just sitting here waiting for something to come to me. 🙂 Right brain all the way! heh

        April 2, 2012 at 11:00 am

  3. Baby! You’re going to be just fine, I know it! 🙂

    April 2, 2012 at 5:49 am

    • lmao Thanks sunshine!! Fear not… most of my personalities ARE just fine… it’s just that stupid inner-writer being a twonk.

      April 2, 2012 at 7:45 am

      • Hahaha. I tried to do the telepathic thing, but I kept getting “Please try again in some time”. Lol.

        April 2, 2012 at 7:48 am

      • LMAO damn!!! I knew I should have paid that bill.

        April 2, 2012 at 7:53 am

      • Tsk tsk. Now I’m focusing on doing my rain dance so that the weather will finally improve. Gah.

        April 2, 2012 at 7:54 am

      • OMG that must be working…. it’s lovely here today!!!

        April 2, 2012 at 7:55 am

  4. Congrats on the 100th follower too! No doubt that yours is whats best! Yea i am too late but Happy april 14th! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 3:16 am

Leave a Reply

