A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Twisted Sisters… and some other stuff…

I’ve had a busy sort of morning (yet again) so I just feel like doing another Randomosity post to let you guys know what’s on my mind, while letting myself get some things off my mind in the hopes that it will leave me somewhat more focused. I think that made sense but if not, oops!

{For the record, ‘Randomosity’ is my favourite made up word EVER!}

Let me start out by saying, I’m not fond of ‘Just a Little Bit of Fun… I can only hope that you guys enjoy it more than I do, but as that the writing is (in my opinion) quite weak, I can’t even bring myself to pretend to like it. When I woke up this morning, I didn’t even want to post the second part, but I dislike leaving things unfinished, and I know there was at least one person waiting to see how it came out, so it really had to be done.  

On the bright side, my brain did allow me to finish something, so I guess (even considering  my feelings about the finished product) that’s a check in the plus column.

When I went to work on this piece, I was only planning on a (very short) bit of flash fiction and the plot (in my head) was really different from what it actually turned out to be in the end. That happens – often – and so I just went with it. While I’m not very fond of the writing, I don’t hate the story… I do think it took an interesting turn.

The best part of this piece (for me) is the twin aunts. You see, the twins were modeled after my own twin aunts. In the really-real world, my aunts are not as mean, but they are far cruder as a rule; they both (constantly) use language that would make a sailor blush; and they smoke these horrible unfiltered cigarettes rather than cigarillos. These two women were born to be characters in some book or movie; they’re really quite amusing. Most of the people in my family call them the ‘Twisted Sisters’ behind their backs – and I’ve always found this rather droll. When I started this story, it was more about the aunts than it turned out to be, and my working title was ‘Twisted Sisters’. Of course, once the plot changed itself on me, that title just didn’t make as much sense, and so I had to give it up. At some point in time, I may have to take another run at the whole crazy aunts theme just for fun.

Anyhow, enough about that…

Last night I watched the season premiere of Game of Thrones; which I’ve been eagerly awaiting for months; and the movie Goon.

Game of Thrones did not disappoint; I find it more than a little amazing how the show manages to follow the books as well as it does, considering the seasons are so short and the books are so long. For those of you who haven’t managed to get into the series, I’d have to encourage you to give it another shot. Of course, I can fully understand how it’s not everybody’s cup of tea. {I’d watch it JUST for Peter Dinklage… he’s amazing and oh-so amusing.}

Goon was awesome! Okay, I admit it; I love hockey and I love Sean William Scott, so it’s not a huge surprise that I liked this movie. As that I’ve just realized I have absolutely no point to make here, I’ll move on…

With spring on the way in, I’m feeling my customary desire to alter my appearance ever-so-slightly. I know a lot of people who get this urge when the seasons change, and at this exact moment in time, I find myself wondering what that’s all about. I’m going to assume it’s just something within us reacting to the changes going on in the world around us… but I’m not going to pretend that I actually have a clue.

I’m not planning on anything too crazy; I need a haircut… that much I’m pretty sure about… and I think I want to dye my hair something funky and bright. Maybe I’ll go full fuchsia for awhile. I’ve done the fuchsia streaks a few times – and loved it – but I’ve yet to go all out. I wanted to go blue, but having just watched my sister’s blue streaks turn green and then grey, I think I’m going to pass.  

I also have an appointment go get my nose pierced for the end of the month, and my cousin’s boyfriend (the only tattooist I currently trust) just sent me the finished sketch for the tattoo I had him drawing up, so if I have a chance this month, I think I’ll take a trip back to B.C. and get that done. In case you’re at all curious, it’s an Eye of Horus (set to go on on the back of my neck) with my kids names hidden in Egyptian lettering. I’m too lazy to plug my phone in so that I can show you the actual sketch, but here’s the picture that I originally sent him to work from… mines better!! Tee hee.    

In other news, I will be going computer shopping this weekend (if I have time). This is something I have been putting off for a long while, mostly because I’m sluggish about this sort of thing, and I dread the setting up of a new machine. This computer is sick of my BS however, and it’s starting to complain a lot more often about the pressure I’m constantly putting it under. I need a computer that doesn’t mind running half a hundred things at once, and doesn’t growl at me for my slave driving ways. It’s sort of sad really; this one’s been with me through a lot, and despite our differences of late, she’s been a good sport. Oh well, it’s not like it’s headed for the landfill… it’s just being moved to my bedroom to replace the computer currently in there – that one is on it’s last legs, and will be going to the recycling depot I’m sad to say.

Let’s see… what else?

I’ve been invited to a Pagan Ball this weekend… I’ve never been to one and it sounds interesting. I still haven’t given a firm response to the invite, but right now I’m leaning towards a ‘yes’, mostly out of curiosity. Of course, this will all depend on how much time I have as that there’s a party/get together thing at a friend’s this weekend that I have to attend (it’s the right thing to do) and I just (this second) remembered that it is Easter. Damn. Okay, on second thought, I may not get around to computer shopping this weekend after all. I’m sure you folks will hear all about whatever it is I DO get up to either way…

As that I can think of nothing else of import right now; and as that I have the sudden urge to do some blog reading; I’m just going to bring this little ramble to an end. Talk Type to you soon!

26 responses

  1. Beautiful tattoo!

    April 3, 2012 at 7:33 pm

  2. Heehee. I hate it when my computer starts acting up. I mean really! I’m trying to do work here! Could you at least try and COOPERATE! Lol.

    A pagan ball sounds AWESOME. You should totally go and tell the rest of us what it was all about! 😀

    And yay!! A tattoo. I’ve always wanted one, but then again I always chicken out. I have parents who’ll critisize me on one side, and then I keep worrying about future employment. Once I do get a job, the first thing that I’m going to do is get a tattoo. 😛

    April 4, 2012 at 2:37 am

    • I know right? Mine has been growling at me A LOT lately. I think it hates me:(
      The ball sounds like SO much fun… and I bought the ticket just in case, but I’m not sure I’m going to be able to make it… this weekend is gonna be wacko.
      This one will be my fourth tattoo…. and I have a fifth I need my guy to do the design for still. They’re all hidden-ish – no one has to see them if I don’t want them to:P

      April 5, 2012 at 10:15 am

      • Aww. I’m sure it doesn’t. It’s just tired, poor thing.

        Be my date to the ball? 😛

        WOW! You have so many tattoos. THAT IS SO COOL. I WANT! *sniffles*

        April 5, 2012 at 10:54 am

      • It is tired… and very sad… and it may be feeling abused.
        DUDE!!!! The ball has been postponed to the 28th… so I’m definately going now. Gonna go out with my girlfiend next week and try to find something really funky to wear. And ya… you should get one if you want one… just get a little one in a hidden place that no one has to see if you don’t want them to.

        April 5, 2012 at 12:32 pm

      • Yay!!! Have bucket loads of fun!! 😛

        I’ll have to figure out where first. I suck at making long term decisions. 😛

        April 5, 2012 at 12:35 pm

      • lol I have one on my right shoulder, another on my inner left ankle (its tiny) and one in a place no one but my man’s seen in a LONG time (tee hee)… the new one’s going on the back of my neck because my hair (or clothing) can cover it when need be.

        April 5, 2012 at 12:39 pm

      • I’ve always wanted one on my left shoulder blade.. Something egyptian.. Never really thought about it enough. In my teens years I really wanted one on my chest, but I’ve changed my mind about that now. 😛 I think I might get one on my leg to hide the burn scar from my silencer. Lol.

        April 5, 2012 at 12:42 pm

      • From your silencer???? DO explain that one please!! lol
        You should see my one cousin… she’s a Suicide Girl (if you know what that is) and she’s barely got any free skin left. I LOVE tats, but I like to keep the option of looking feminine open, so I always chose spots where i can hide them if i want to. I’m obsessed with all things Egyptian and Celtic… the Eye Of Horus is something I’ve wanted for a really long time now.

        April 5, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      • It was a really cold night, and I was out riding in a pair of shorts. When I got off the bike I couldn’t feel my legs, let alone the fact that my leg was resting against the VERY hot silencer. By the time I finally felt the heat, the damage was already done. *sighs* Lol. It’s not very big, but I don’t like it. It’s on my right calf and I think a tattoo would really look nice there because the scar is in exactly the right place. Haha.

        A suicide girl? Like.. To do with the site? I don’t wanna go crazy with the ink either, but I wouldn’t mind having a few here and there. 😛 I love all this Egyptian toooooo! YAY! I always wanted to be Cleopatra for Halloween but mom never got me a costume. It was always, “find stuff around the house and fix yourself up”.

        Love the eye! I’m sure it’ll look amazing.

        April 5, 2012 at 12:53 pm

      • Yikes! And no… tattoos don’t generally go well over scar tissue and calf tats aren’t usually too feminine (though they can be).
        And ya, like the site. I’ve been wanting to write about her a lot lately, but I’ve not gotten around to it for whatever reason.
        LMAO that’s how halloween was in our house as a kid… you just hunted around for anything to use that wouldnt land you in trouble.

        April 5, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      • Yikes. Okay. Cancel plan. Cancel plan. I’m going to go look for new skin now. 😛

        Do write about her soon. She sounds interesting! 😛

        April 5, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      • Aye, that she is… I’m hesitating about getting too involved in tales of the people I know until I make up my mind about changing my name in my Copyright message… I don’t want to feel the need to censor myself if I start down that trail.

        April 5, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      • Aah. Very true.

        April 5, 2012 at 1:07 pm

      • Holy crapola! I missed one day of reading and Kyle went and wrote his little ass off.

        April 5, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      • I know. I’m still running around catching up. Lol.

        April 5, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      • So much to do, so little time!

        April 5, 2012 at 1:11 pm

  3. Love the tattoo! And the craziness begins. I wish I had time to even write the endless list of things to be done; I do it shorthand on a tiny piece of paper between drinking my morning coffee and making breakfast for the kids and making the lunches and organizing my day for work! Life is too hectic and I really hate watching it pass me by as my list slowly ends up somewhere I’ve forgotten and then the new ones start! 🙂 Have a great day. Montreal is freezing this morning! 😦

    April 4, 2012 at 4:25 am

    • LMAO I’m always making some sort of list… and I lose more of them than not. Life is so nutty sometimes… which I like usually, but there are days when I wish I could just freeze the clock so that I can have a chance to do ALL the things I want to get done.
      We got dumped on last night while we slept – there’s got to be a good five inches out there right now… EWWWWW!!! Yesterday was so pretty too, it sucks!

      April 5, 2012 at 10:20 am

  4. bpshielsy

    I enjoyed that ramble!

    I’m amazed you didn’t like your ‘Just a Little Bit of Fun’. What part of the writing did you find weak about it? Just curious.

    April 5, 2012 at 1:31 am

    • To be honest, I haven’t bee much in like (let alone love) with any of my writing of late… it all seems like it’s missing something and yet I lose the patience to tweak it until I get it right. BUT… if there’s one thing I’m really starting to understand, it’s that I’ll never understand my own writing lol

      April 5, 2012 at 10:17 am

      • bpshielsy

        Maybe you just need to take the plunge & contact a publishing house… Ooooh scary. I’d be mortified If I decided to do something like that! 🙂

        April 5, 2012 at 10:20 am

      • LMAO that’s the point of my blog actually… I talk about it WAY too much, but when it comes to my writing, I’m a total wimp. I’m using the blog to help me get more comfortable sharing my work… with the hopes that I won’t chicken out when it comes time to push for publishing on the novel I’m working on.

        April 5, 2012 at 10:21 am

  5. bpshielsy

    Well I’m glad we get the snippets from your future gold nuggets!!

    April 6, 2012 at 1:04 am

  6. Honestly i dont think that your 2 part story is weak, i think it was great, I enjoyed it and maybe if you think is weak maybe you should add extra more twist to it maybe? But I find it great and enjoyed the 2 part series of the story! Nice Tattoo design and yea i agree a computer who grows with quite a long time can be a mess sometimes when it ends. My laptop have failed me at least once each year for two years now. After my third year, if it becomes crazy, i might want to get a new one soon! Thanks for the ramble, i enjoyed your randomosity! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 4:33 am

Leave a Reply

