A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

The post with no name…

Greetings earthlings! I trust the weekend was kind to the lot of you or – at the very least –you pigged out on chocolate to make up for any shortcomings.

I’m still only about halfway through the ‘catching-up-on-blogs’ portion of my day, and there’s a bunch of stuff around here that could really use my attention, so I don’t foresee a lot of writing this afternoon. I figured I should at least pop in and babble for a moment or two before I get to work cleaning up after the hurricane that apparently blew through my house, but in the hopes of making it a quick ramble, I’ll just pinpoint some of the things currently on my mind; things I may get to in more detail later, but just don’t have the time for at the moment.

1) After visiting about a dozen different dealerships this weekend, we still haven’t committed to the purchase of a new vehicle. While the insurance company saw fit to write off our truck, they didn’t see fit to pay us the full worth of the vehicle; the check they cut was a little more than half of what we paid for the stupid thing; which has left us a little indecisive. Do we a) commit ourselves to financing again (which we just freakin celebrated being done with) b) buy a used truck of the same make and model or c) buy something completely different and if so, new or used? We’ve been going back and forth on this decision for days now, and we’re no closer to an answer. Damn drunk drivers!!!

2) The vehicle shopping is not the only thing that proved fruitless this weekend…. I’ve also been incredibly indecisive about purchasing my new computer. I’ve committed to making a commitment by Friday at the latest… I need to quit putting it off. I’ve narrowed it down to five (one of them being the computer I’ve been eyeballing for a few months already), but I can’t quite decide.

3) If I had more time, I would now go on a very long rant about the state of customer service today. After spending an entire weekend out and about in the commercial world, I have come to the conclusion that I should just start shopping online for everything.

I seemed to encounter bad service at every turn this weekend, and it was more than a little frustrating. I’ve held more than a few jobs in the costumer service industry, and I know it’s not that flippin hard! You’re there getting paid for your time; be courteous and respect the fact that the customer is there to spend their hard-earned money, or piss off and find a different job.

I almost came to a final decision about my computer on Saturday; at Best Buy; but after waiting more than forty minutes for service, I got indignant and changed my mind.

When you’re out and about and looking to drop a couple of grand ($2000 is my current limit for a new machine) you expect – at the very least – for one of the lazy bums leaning against the counter talking to their coworkers to mosey on over and offer you a little aide. I nodded at the one guy, thought he got the message, and then waited, waited, waited while he chit-chatted with his chums. I wandered over an asked another guy for assistance, and he told me ‘just a moment’ so I smiled and waited, waited, waited some more… after another fifteen minutes I said, “screw this!” and I left the store.

I was still reeling a bit from that when we went for sushi (in lieu of traditional Easter dinner) and while the food was great, the service was deplorable. I put a lot of importance on tipping; if I get adequate service, I leave an adequate tip, if I get great service, I leave an incredibly generous tip, if I get shit service, I leave two cents. That’s how it’s supposed to work right? Well, this particular restaurant does that automatic tip calculating thing, so after some of the worst service I’ve ever had in a restaurant, we were forced to pay a %15 gratuity. I call bullshit!!!

There were a handful of other instances over the weekend that irked me, and if I find myself with more time later, I may still return to this rant.

4) Easter was fun! My oldest always insists that we blow eggs rather than boil them (so that they can be kept) and it was rather hilarious to watch my youngest try to participate in this activity. It’s a good thing we bought extra eggs, because Kara singlehandedly broke about a half dozen. Also, her skin was so coloured by the time we were done with the project that she looked a bit like an Easter egg herself.

We spent the early afternoon watching movies (The Muppets and We Bought a Zoo) went to the park in the early afternoon, the public pool in the later afternoon and then had a simple dinner together while watching another movie (The Vow). It was quite different from our typical Easter, but it was a lot of fun.

5) I have this one recurring dream that usually pops up about twice a year. It started about ten years ago, and it always creeps me out. For some reason I’ve had it three times in the last week, and I really want to write about it, so hopefully life mellows for me this week and I’ll get the chance.

6) I think my blog needs a little maintenance, but again, I need some time to get to it. Also, I think I’m going to add a new section, but I’ll wait to tell you what that may be about (tee-hee).

Okay, that’s it for the moment; if it seems rushed, it’s only because it was rushed. Have a great day, and I’ll be back around to finish catching up as soon as I can.

9 responses

  1. TheOthers1

    I’ve done some time in customer service (and i’m a nurse and a teacher so my life is customer service) and it sucks when I don’t get good customer service. I’m not sure why it’s that way either. As per a person’s job, they are at least there to make sure that the customer wants to buy things from their store. I mean, it seems like people hate their jobs anymore and so behave that way because of it, but quit, don’t make my experience terrible because you don’t want to be there.

    I have a reoccurring dream about me being pregnant as well as me traveling somewhere. The pregnant one occurs a lot like 4-5 times a year or more.

    April 9, 2012 at 3:51 pm

  2. i am a waitress and i pride myself on giving excellent service. if the service was lousy, you should have spoken to the management and had the gratuity removed from the bill. our establishment does not add the gratuity and i believe they are correct. it makes you work that much harder! have a good day…i enjoy your blog.

    April 9, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    • I’ve always believed (firmly) in working hard for my wage; not just being there for the sake of the pay check, but actually doing the best I could while there. I used to make great tips, and I knew I’d earned them, so that was great. I don’t know what’s up with the service industry these days, but quality customer care seems harder and harder to come by and it drives me a little nuts!!!
      lol… a lot of things drive me a little nuts.
      Anyway, thanks for reading! I’m glad you enjoy the blog.

      April 10, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      • welcome!

        April 10, 2012 at 7:40 pm

  3. Did The Horse This Post Rode-In-On Have A Name?
    I’m Bettin’ He DIDN’T!!!!!
    Were They In The Desert???
    I’m Bettin’ They WERE!!!!!
    😉
    -BRAD

    April 9, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    • LMAO just after I first published this post, I realized that I’d forgotten to give it a name… and THAT song just happened to be playing at the time; it felt like the right thing to do. Nice catch sir!

      April 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  4. Cool, will be waiting for more great new posts to come! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 5:26 am

  5. Pingback: FYI… « My Own Private Universe

Leave a Reply

