A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Across the Room

I saw him there across the room

And knew at once my fate.

I tried to warn myself astray

But the warning came too late.

I knew it best to run away;

To disappear and hide;

But something there within his essence

Had already got inside.

He looked at me with azure eyes

And ‘come hither’ on his grin

And though I knew the wiser path

I went ahead and let him in.

I sensed it all within a beat

And knew that I was doomed

Yet on I moved – this eager fool –

Despite the pain that loomed.

So hungry was I to taste the passion

That my wisdom was soon lost.

And though it was, I sensed the danger

I thought I was prepared to pay the cost.

I was just enough a fool to follow

As he led me with desire,

But if I knew then what I know now

Would I have jumped into the fire?

Ahh… but saw him there, across the room,

And I hungered for his kiss.

I knew it safer to hang back

But I craved to feel that bliss.

So into the dance, I blindly stumbled;

Too eager to believe;

And by the time that dance was over,

I ached to watch him leave.

10 responses

  1. I love the “come hither” on his grin. Also the ache to watch him leave. Lovely Miss Robin!

    Bisous,
    Dawn

    April 9, 2012 at 7:26 am

    • Thank you muchly! Actually, the ‘come hither’ line is my fave in this poem too.

      April 9, 2012 at 7:27 am

      • I know that grin! LOL!

        April 9, 2012 at 7:36 am

      • HAHA don’t we all!!!

        April 9, 2012 at 7:37 am

      • i agree with dawn, wonderful stuff

        April 9, 2012 at 8:42 am

  2. TheOthers1

    Why do I feel like I’ve been in this place before. Great job on this.

    April 9, 2012 at 7:43 am

    • Thank you darlin! And ya… I think we’ve all been there at least once or twice eh?

      April 9, 2012 at 7:46 am

  3. WOW! This is some really good stuff right here!

    April 9, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    • Thank you kind sir.

      April 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  4. Always have been great, Thanks again! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 5:20 am

Leave a Reply

