A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

22 responses

  1. i am going to have to think about this post before i answer your questions. thought provoking …seems like an adventure is out there waiting for you. thank you for following my blog…

    April 11, 2012 at 4:38 pm

  2. Pingback: Down the rabbit hole, around Wonderland and back through the looking glass… Part 3 « My Own Private Universe

  3. Pingback: Down the rabbit hole, around Wonderland and back through the looking glass… Part 1 « My Own Private Universe

  4. gypsy116

    1) As a writer, do you feel that your dreams are as important to your life and wellbeing as I do? Yes, I do. I have all kinds of thoughts and therories about dreams that would take forever to try to explain, but yes.

    2) Do you – like me – write from your dreams? Back when I used to write poety more frequently I have occasionally, I also used to keep a dream journal, and I used to draw and paint from my dreams a lot.

    3) Have you ever suffered a period of time when you lost the ability to dream? If yes, how did you cope? I dont think I have. I tend to go in cylces. For awhile I wont remember any of my dreams, then all of my dreams will be very random and ordinary (when you cant remeber if something actually happened or if you dreamed it), then for awhile (and this always lasts the longest) very vivid and bizarre dreams. Even when my insomnias really bad, I do dream. Pretty much anytime that I actually fall asleep I go straight into dreaming, so even if I only sleep a total of an hour a night, its all dream sleep.

    4) Do you have a recurring dream? If yes, do you know where it stems from? I do, several, some of them I do others I dont.

    5) Have you ever experienced anything that seemed to be ‘vision-like’ in essence? (I’m especially curious about this one if you’ve experienced something like this despite being a sceptic to all things supernatural.) Yes, but I do believe in the supernatural, I do think that I engage in healthy skeptisim though. I tend to not rule out anything unless I can prove it wrong, but I dont automatically believe in something without good reason, and examining things from different angles, hope that makes sense.

    April 11, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    • Keeping a dream journal… is that something that was suggested to you in therapy? That’s when I started keeping one, but back when I was twelve/thirteen when I was stuck in counselling for the first time to do deal with some ‘issues’. I started keeping a new dream journal last year, but I don’t put everything in it, mostly because a lot of what I dream lately has to do with projects already in the works anyways.
      I don’t know what I believe when it comes to the supernatural… I’m still in the process of working all that out. I do know that I feel really silly every time I catch myself thinking of those things as visions, and yet, when other people talk about having visions, I don’t find it silly at all. Damn I’m weird lol.

      April 13, 2012 at 11:11 am

      • gypsy116

        No, I just started doing it on my own, I think because a lot of my dreams are really bizarre, and theyve just always fascinated me.

        I dont know exactly what I believe either, but I dont discount anything. I think I lean more towards, a there is a rational explanation kind of thinking. Like what most people perceive as supernatural has a scientific basis, we just dont understand it yet, but Im willing to think that anythings possible if it cant be disproven.

        April 13, 2012 at 5:03 pm

  5. bekkie04

    man, i just read all of these. that was wicked. i dont really write fiction, but some of the stuff you talked about-the insomnia, the ‘distractions’, hobbies to keep from thinking, eating certain things for better effects, thats all eerily familiar. even some of the questions and things that bothered you during the spiral down, although i question everything, so i dont freak out(unless ive smoked weed, then i do). the dream stuff is all different though. i remember maybe 3 dreams a month. they all follow a storyline and go in chronological order, but they’re not usually anything i can relate to. i do see faces, clearly. every once in a while i see people in real life, and im almost certain they were in my dream, but i think its probably just my mind taking liberties. i envy you your vivid dreams. i read about being able to control your dreams in that big freud book-i dont know if you read it, but i think hes mostly wrong about everything-but i tried to do it, because i really want to dream about flying. its a no go. i really liked that whole thing, the way you write, the subject, even the rambling. it sounded like you were talking to someone. thanks for sharing this. and that house thing kinda freaked me out because it freaked you out. im now hoping it doesnt show up in my brain haha. i hate seeminly normal things with sinister intentions. give me a zombie any day. lol now im rambling. thanks robin

    April 11, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    • Thanks for the great response… and thank you for reading! I’m glad you were able to enjoy it – rambling and all! LOL I would so prefer a good zombie dream any day of the week than anything psychologically twisted. Actually, I frequently dream about zombies and I love those dreams lol. Be careful… that rambling thing spreads like a disease. 🙂

      April 13, 2012 at 11:08 am

      • bekkie04

        haha duly noted

        April 13, 2012 at 8:42 pm

  6. First – before I get caught in analyzing as I answer your questions, … is the bright house your own mind that you want/like that has also scared you ( when you were “younger” or a “child” in understanding or educated about what was going on in your head? I think the feelings you have associated with WHAT you are dreaming about can reveal things to you. How do you feel when you see the house? Go near it? Leave it? Does it talk? What would it say if it could talk to you?
    Theres a show on TV called Psychic Kids(?) and these kids ( teens ) have abilities but at the start of each episode, these kids are scared of what has happened because they don’t understand their abilities so they are fearful not knowing how to handle it. In understanding and meeting others with similar life stories ( fear, isolation, unknown knowledge etc ) they are able to see themselves in a new light. With that understanding and methods they learned to deal with their senses, visions,spirits, etc., they aren’t burdened and feeling alone.

    As far as remembering dreams, I don’t have recall like I used to. I’m not focused on it though.

    I visited Dachau Concentration Camp. I was walking and started coughing on smoke but no one was around. I looked around because I knew I was coughing from someone smoking but no one was close. It was a quiet day with hardly any visitors. I have had other “knowing” experiences – but nothing complex.

    You have a very capable mind. I admire your perserverence. If you’re like me, perserverence is all you can hold onto through tough times so it doesn’t really comfort me in a gentle way like I would prefer. You could be like an explorer who has to go places most can’t comprehend much less WANT to go to.
    I’m thinking of you relaxing and sleeping deep. Sweet Dreams.

    April 11, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    • I’ve really tried searching my memory bank for any connection between the dream and my past, but so far nothing has surfaced. I always feel the same when I see the house; utterly terrified. I always want to leave it, but I never can… and it never talks. I’m not sure what I’d say to the house if I could… maybe, “stop haunting my dreams and freaking me out you wretched thing!!”
      Hehe it might amuse you to know that about the exact time that you were leaving me this message, I WAS snuggled up and fast asleep… dreaming sweetly. 🙂

      April 13, 2012 at 11:06 am

      • Well, your story has me thinking in a lot of directions about fear. You have a strong connection to feeling things beyond the “norm”, and it reminded me of the thought that what if dreams are just another reality where we meet people and experience things unlike this world. Maybe we were meant to travel in that way or by astral projection? ?? Curioser and curioser! : )

        April 13, 2012 at 1:56 pm

      • Heh! All things I’ve thought myself in the past.

        April 13, 2012 at 2:09 pm

      • Great Minds… Do you watch the TV show, FRINGE?

        April 13, 2012 at 3:42 pm

  7. Hi, I really enjoyed reading these posts. They did get me thinking but I reckon (at this moment in time) I would probably answer no to all the questions. I rarely remember night dreams (damn it!) but I do day dream all the time and have dozens of stories in my head which I return to all the time but I would never actually use them in my work (on principal). Although, come to think about it, I did have recurring dreams as a child and I do use the characters from these in my work (Homage To The Wolfman for example) – I will have get back to you on this! Anyway, you have a brilliant blog – congratulations!

    April 12, 2012 at 1:31 am

  8. Hi, me again! I’ve just walked the dog and now feel I should answer yes to some of your questions. I will try and elaborate in detail fairly soonish and probably stick it on Gerald’s Space rather than fit it here – you don’t need to read it of course. I am such a boring bugger – feel free to check with my wife for confirmation! – and tend to objectify everything but I do have a successfuly/unsuccessfuly suppressed irrational side. Thats my last comment for the moment – promise! I am actually supposed to be painting so better make a start I suppose.

    April 12, 2012 at 2:28 am

    • I think you’re anything but boring dear sir! Your mind is a treasure trove of fascinating tidbits. I’ll be by your site soon to catch up… looking forward to your full response on this one.

      April 13, 2012 at 11:03 am

  9. Pingback: What we’ve got here is (a) failure to communicate… « My Own Private Universe

  10. 1) Yes. I do indeed. They give me some excellent ideas. I’ve written some of them down to revisit later.

    2) Definitely do. I’ve got a vivid imagination.

    3) No. Never lost the ability. Only suffered from nightmares strung together for long periods of time.

    4) I do. It probably comes from stress.

    5) I have. And it is eerie when it comes true. Frightening when I think it could happen.

    I’ve studied some on the psychology of dreams too. I’ve found that using dream interpretation isn’t that far off. It can get really far out there at times, but if you find the dots to connect, it really does make sense. So, even if it is fantastic or what have you in your dream, it is based on experience in some way (most times). I admire how you’ve broken it down this way. I personally have ignored my dreams too long in favor of my essays. It’s good to start writing my poems again. And hopefully, my stories too.

    April 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    • Thanks for the great reply!! It’s so interesting to get a peek into how other people’s minds work.

      April 13, 2012 at 10:57 am

  11. Pingback: The Mausoleum « Muse In The Valley

  12. You ask some really good questions. I was going to list them out and answer them, until I realized, I am not sure what those answers are for me. I don’t dream often that I know of. I only remember nightmares…and I do have those..I have an “ability” or more like a sense when someone or something is dangerous, and I’ve never been proven wrong yet..I think I want to think about these questions in depth, and maybe answer on my site. You sure can make me think, girl!!

    April 13, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Leave a Reply

