A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

What we’ve got here is (a) failure to communicate…

I had a busy morning and – if I’m entirely honest – a ridiculously lazy afternoon. Just after I put Kara down for her nap I started thinking about how lucky babies are for getting to nap, and so I thought to myself, “Self, why don’t you go snuggle up and have a siesta?” It was such brilliant advice that I couldn’t help but take it.

I love my bed; it’s a king size covered with about the best ever quilt a girl could ask for, eight pillows (four of those memory foam) and two body cushions; but I rarely take advantage of my time alone with this piece of furniture because I always feel as though my days just don’t have enough hours in them. In other words I don’t nap half as often as I should; napping kicks some serious ass.

Anyways, after the brief discussion with myself that gave birth to the idea of an afternoon nap, I went and curled up beneath my quilt and got all cozy. It wasn’t long before I was sleeping. I dreamed about yard work in case you’re curious, because it was the last thing on my mind when I went to sleep. I’m almost ready to call spring an official season around here, and that means it’s just about time to get outside and spruce up the place.

Every few minutes my dreams were invaded by the call of, “What we’ve got here is a failure to communicate…” For those of you that don’t know the line, it’s originally a quote from ‘Cool Hand Luke’ (circa 196? something), but it was also used in the opening of Guns ‘N’ Roses ‘Civil War’ from the 90’s. These days it’s the ringtone on my Blackberry to alert me that I’ve a new email message, and it sounds off two to four hundred times a day.

I used to love the song and ‘Cool Hand Luke’ used to be one of my favourite movies, but at this point in time, I am SO sick of the quote that I don’t want anything to do with either one. Actually, this ring tone is driving everyone around here a little nuts. Everyone but Kara that is; almost every time it goes off she echoes, “failure (pronounced fail-air) to municate” The cuteness of this almost makes up for how irritating the ring tone is getting. Besides, if I changed it now we’d all just get sick of whatever I put it in its place, so why bother, right?

Anyway, the point of this post is that there really is no point to this post at all. I used up my free time to write this afternoon sleeping, and now I’d like to catch up on at least a few blogs before I go out tonight. I do have a poem I’m debating posting, but we’ll see how that turns out.

Before I run off, I just want to say thanks to everyone who’s commented lately – particularly in response to the questions I asked in ‘Down the rabbit hole, around Wonderland and back through the looking glass… Part 4’. I’m going to attempt to sit down all morning tomorrow and focus on nothing but my blog, and I promise that if I haven’t responded to you yet, I WILL then. Groovy?

Okay, you folks have a great afternoon/evening and I’ll type at you later.

10 responses

  1. Eight pillows is a little excessive . . .

    April 12, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    • Maybe… but I like to be cozy! And it is a big bed lol

      April 12, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      • Handy for pillow fights too.

        April 12, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      • Absolutely!!

        April 13, 2012 at 11:00 am

  2. Robin, the imagery is priceless. Now lend me some pillows : )

    April 12, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    • Hehe ya… I probably have a few more than I need anyway!

      April 13, 2012 at 10:58 am

  3. SweetP

    I could really snuggle down and get comfy with all those pillows 🙂

    April 12, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    • Right? It was so great that I’m thinking about napping away this afternoon too lol. It’s all rainy and icky out and I’ve been running around like a mad person all morning… it seems like a pretty good idea actually.

      April 13, 2012 at 10:58 am

  4. Who wouldnt just take a nap with all those 8 pillows! 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 6:36 am

Leave a Reply

