A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

The Ultimate Blog Follower(s)…

Okay, first and foremost – before I do anything else today – I feel I should must acknowledge one of my followers for giving my inner-writer the ultimate ego boost. Over the last twenty-four hours (or so) this follower has caught up on a month’s worth of my blogs; and he’s commented on damn near every one of them. I think anyone with the ability to spend that much time with my thoughts deserves some sort of award… I just hope he doesn’t need to now be institutionalized as a result.

The ultimate blog follower award goes to creativeboys; thank you!

Thank you!

I have another busy weekend on hand, and while I’d like to respond to each and every one of your comments I think it would take me the better part of the next two days to do so, thus, I decided last night that I would do a mass thank you to you this morning by way of a post… this is that post, hehe.

Because I have a family, there is a point in the day when I turn my back on my computer and focus my attention to the really-real world. Even though my computer corner is connected to the main living room in my house – and I can see the thing from almost anywhere on the main floor but from the master bedroom or the bathroom – I don’t have much to do with it most evenings. I do however, keep my Blackberry on hand pretty much always, and (as I mentioned the other day) I hear a call of “What we’ve got here is a failure to communicate” every single time I get an email.

Through most of yesterday afternoon and evening, and then last night while watching the hockey game (my team lost for the second time in a row *sad face*) I was getting the message alert every few minutes. Curious as I am (and ego-petting crazed as my inner-writer is) I tend to check every one of them as they come up. Over and over again last night, this is what I was seeing;

WordPress.com [My Own Private Universe] creativeboys liked your post “______”

comment-reply@wordpress. com [My Own Private Universe] Comment: “______” Author; creativeboys

At one point I turned to my beau and said, “This poor guy is going to need therapy from spending this much time in my head”. In the deep part of me where she lurks, my inner-writer was grinning like a madwoman… this was the sort of boost she needed, and it couldn’t have come at a better time.

Yesterday, I told a friend that I felt I wasn’t taking my blog as seriously as I was in the beginning; I even admitted to being a little worried about losing interest in my blog… yikes. This was stemming – at least in part – from a growing suspicion that I was losing my readers’ interest, and that suspicion stemmed – at least in part – from the fact that I’ve noticed a bit of a trend in ‘instant likes’ of late. Let me explain…

By now those of you who are actually paying attention to the rambling nonsense that spews out of my head should be well aware of the fact that I am the reigning queen of too many words; when I get rambling, I really get rambling. Other than poetry, my average post is typically around 2000 words; not generally fast reads. Still, it seems that the minute I hit the post button, I will get two or three ‘likes’ (What we’ve got here is a failure to communicate…) in rapid succession. This upsets my poor inner-writer since – unless there are people out there with the ability to read at lightening speed – she knows the posts are not getting read, and thus the ‘likes’ are false.

This shouldn’t bother me, but as I’ve pointed out time and again, my inner-writer is disgustingly sensitive. While I know I should only focus on the many wonderful (and extremely loyal) followers who read every crazy word I write and leave behind fantastic (and thought inspiring) comments in their wake, my inner-writer has been obsessively worrying over the fake-likes. The fact that creativeboys spent so much (consecutive) time over here staggers me, especially when it’s absolutely clear that he wasn’t skimming, but actually reading every word. Wow, and then again, wow!

At some point last night I realized something that I’d been letting myself forget; the stats don’t mean a thing, and having the apt attention of the masses was never my focus. What matters – the only thing that matters – is those of you who have connected to me through my words and have opted to stick around rather then running for the hills.

So, while I owe a HUGE thank you to creativeboys for reminding me of what’s important, I also feel the need to let the rest of you know how very VERY much I love and appreciate you… each (and every damn one of you) deserve your own award for being the ultimate blog follower(s)!

Thank you, and you, and you, and you, and you, and you, and you, and you, and you... you get the picture.

P.S.: I’m officially over any and all worries of ‘losing interest’ anytime soon.

5 responses

  1. running for the hills as i type doll 😉

    April 14, 2012 at 9:28 am

    • Ha! You’re not allowed… I’m afraid you’re stuck with me.

      April 14, 2012 at 11:15 am

  2. 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 9:31 am

  3. gypsy116

    Definitely glad youve decided to stick around 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 4:20 pm

  4. I’m glad your not losing interest. I know totally know how you feel, blogging really is a test in many ways. It’s a process. A process of questioning yourself in many ways. You got the right idea though it’s not about stats, it’s about getting your thoughts out there, and whomever is supposed to read them, will read them. 🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Leave a Reply

