A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Attack

Too close,

Move back

Give me room to breathe.

I don’t mean exactly to be rude,

But I’d be happy if you’d leave.

Sigh deep

Feel pain

I hate that you’re so near

I’m freaking out and can’t compute

This most un-noble fear.

Something dark

Chocking me

Until I want to scream

I know exactly how this must look

But I don’t care how I seem.

Racing mind

Pounding heart

I need to calm this crazy beat

Perspiring – despite the chill

Oh, I suffer in this heat!

Don’t touch

Step back

I just want for you to go

How much I loath you in this moment

You really can’t begin to know.

I scowl

You smile

You don’t seem to understand

If I could find my voice to speak,

Your parting, I’d command.

You sit

I rise

There’s something wrong today

You try to be so very friendly

But I just got to get away.

4 responses

  1. I love how you describe the strange suddenness of this anxiety attack. Most of all, I love that you used the first person perspective, because then the already strange reaction becomes even stranger. We as readers are left to appreciate just how out of place everything is. It almost makes me wonder what things would be like from the perspective of the other character, so to speak.

    April 15, 2012 at 8:34 pm

  2. Angel O'Fire

    I know this feeling too well, the wall’s closing in, the voice’s around growing louder, you just need to get out, you have to leave, where’s the exit, move get out of my fucking way, move i said, get out get out, let me out let me out, your head is screaming on the inside, the voices are so loud, why can’t people hear you on the outside, why is it your feeling this silent scream this painful shout, yet nobody else can hear it, nobody else can feel your utter desperation looking at you like some kind of crazy person, some drugo, some drunk, you know this is anxiety, yet you just don’t know how to let it out

    April 17, 2012 at 9:12 pm

  3. I absolutely love this poem! Its stylistically pleasing, and even the undulating shape of the text reminds me of the importance of room to breath.

    April 19, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyeod it. 🙂

      April 21, 2012 at 5:54 am

Leave a Reply

