A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Here I go again…

What a long week! I’ve accomplished a lot – though I’m not yet finished all that I set out to do – and I’m quite pleased with the organizational bliss of this house, even if it is only temporary. Sadly though, I really miss you guys and I feel a little disconnected from you fine folks, so I figured it was time to touch base as it were. The best way of doing that (in my mind) is to ramble on about my week. Sound good? Too bad (tee hee) here I go again…

This week I discovered that Kara (my youngest) is not a fan of either classic rock or country music. I’ve just been letting the BIG music list play all week and when I do that you get a little (a lot) of everything. I already knew that she preferred dance/pop, but I had no idea how little she liked the other stuff. Every time a song comes on that she doesn’t like – and apparently there’s quite a few – she covers her ears and says, “Noise! I no lika it!” and repeats this over and over until I switch the song.

Like my oldest, she’s been exposed to all kinds of music since day one, but unlike my oldest, this one seems a little more resistant to diversity. How do you explain to a not-quite-two year old that there is more to music than Lady-freakin-Gaga and Bruno-bloody-Mars?

Musical diversity was never an issue with  my oldest; that kid’s musical knowledge would blow you away; so I find it a little surprising (and super intriguing) that Kara seems to have come from the factory with certain pre-set preferences. Oh well, she’s going to have to adapt; I adamantly refuse to spend the rest of my days listening to nothing but the likes of Nicki Minaj!

I haven’t had much time to sit down with my new computer and get it all set up to my liking, though I have had enough time to figure out that windows 7 is very different from vista – which is mostly great – and that I have a lot of figuring-out to do before I’m completely comfortable with my new machine.

I spent a few minutes the other day trying to get all of the computers in this house on a network, but because of the different operating systems, this was not as easy as it should have been. I’ll have to work that out sometime next week.

I have my oldest computer – the one destined for the computer graveyard – set up on the desk beside this one. One of these days (as soon as I find the time) I have to go through its guts and make sure I’ve removed everything of import. I don’t think there’s much left on there, but I need to be certain. Once I get that done, I’ll strip the old girl for parts and get rid of the carcass. It’s actually just a little sad, this one’s been with me since just after I left my hometown six years ago… we have a lot of history between us.

Throughout this switch-over of machines and the cleaning out of drawers/cupboards/closets, I have come to the realization that we’re living a rather disgusting existence of excess. I have enough toys around here to open my own Toys R Us, an army of barely-to-never used kitchen appliances, and more doodads and thingamabobs than the four of us could find use in two lifetimes. Part of the problem (most of the problem) is that I’m a deal whore; if the sale is good enough, I have to take advantage of it. I haven’t even gotten to the top floor of this house yet (my girls’ rooms) and yet I’ve already dug out six MP3 Players – three of them still in their original packaging – (and that’s not even including my Achos Media Player that I just ‘had’ to have, but that’s been sitting in a desk cupboard since a week after I got it) two  portable DVD players that we bought last year (also in their original packaging) ‘just because they were a great deal’, three of those cute little digital keychain picture frames (I only remember where one of them came from) and Yevon-only-knows how many other gadgets that are of little to no use around here. Today’s smart phones render most of these thingamajigs useless; I have a 32 gig SD card in my Blackberry to take care of my portable music and picture needs and our last two vehicles have had built in DVD players. Also, portable gaming systems; my oldest daughter’s Nintendo DS and PSP; seem pretty useless around these parts since I don’t even remember the last time I seen her playing with either. She’s either playing games on her laptop or PS3 – yes, she has her own PS3, further proving my point about our disgusting excess – and she’s got at least five DS games that haven’t even been opened.

We had a family discussion about this ‘stuff’ the other day and we’ve come to the agreement that some of it will go to the transition house up the way, and then we’ll have a garage sale this spring to unload the rest. The proceeds will then be split between the girls’ savings accounts, and in the future I shall try to avoid pointless purchases – no matter how great the deal.

Let’s see, what else?

The weather has been fantastic! I have extremely high hopes about the winter being truly over now, and I’m looking so forward to our first bonfire out back. I freakin LOVE BBQ season and can’t wait to have all of our friends over for a night of good food and bad liquor, hehe.  

I have barely written a word all week. I’ve been putting in long hours around the house and by the time I call it quits for the day, I’ve been exhausted. I hope you guys have been enjoying ‘Reflections’, though (once again) I find myself hating it. I’ve gone back and forth on that piece since it’s conception… and like nearly all of my writing, once I release it into the world, I’m filled with insecurities about it. An interesting side note; Reflections was the first large piece I ever wrote in first person. Another interesting side note; there are two other parts to the story (started but never finished) written from Dean and Mort’s perspectives. One day I might actually sit down and finish them… who knows?

I’ll post the final piece of that story later today (as long as I don’t forget again) and then tomorrow – hopefully – I’ll find the time to work on something new.

Okay folks, the coffee’s run out and now it’s time for me to get back to my regularly scheduled day. Have a FANTASTIC weekend!

16 responses

  1. I thought you were a champ at writing this week. Had you previously written the “Reflections” novella, and just posted it this week?

    April 21, 2012 at 7:54 am

    • Ah I thank you. Yes, it’s an older piece… it was something I wanted feedback on, but went unnoticed the first time I posted it because of its length.

      April 22, 2012 at 7:12 am

  2. love it!

    April 21, 2012 at 7:56 am

    • Thanks for reading! 🙂

      April 22, 2012 at 7:12 am

      • you’re welcome! I love the blog! Keep it up!

        April 22, 2012 at 10:25 am

  3. I love reading your weekly round-up stuff!

    April 21, 2012 at 8:13 am

    • hehe, I’m glad you do.

      April 22, 2012 at 7:13 am

      • Even your rambling is awesome…lol!!

        April 22, 2012 at 7:39 am

  4. Israel

    Sorry i haven’t commented on things in a while or read your stuff. Its been …. interesting around here. Maybe not so interesting as it was depressing but anyways.

    You sound like a true mommy now lol Your cleaing out the house. 😉 We have a bad habbit of geting stuff on sale to. But since we a so short on money around here even the on sale stuff looks to high priced much anymore.

    I haven’t read any of the last posts since last i commented, i thought i would be honest about that. Not because i didn’t want to see them or know what was going on in them but a lot of times i don’t feel like reading alot lately. Plus if its story, novella stuff i tend to get head aches and get bored reading so much, not that things i read are not interesting but because i can’t read for that long of a time. Not sure if that makes sense.

    Anyways, i just wanted you to know i am still here and will still be following your blog, though that might be an insult to some people lol 😉

    April 21, 2012 at 9:59 am

    • No problemo dear sir… read what you want when you can. I appreciate that you do!!

      April 22, 2012 at 7:14 am

      • Israel

        😉

        April 22, 2012 at 10:43 am

  5. gypsy116

    I am enjoying Reflections. I love the way you write 🙂 Have missed your ramblings though, lol 🙂

    April 21, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    • I’m glad you’re liking Reflections!! I actually miss rambling lol, but I should (in theory) be back to a regular schedule soon’ish.

      April 22, 2012 at 7:15 am

      • gypsy116

        🙂

        April 22, 2012 at 12:57 pm

  6. SweetP

    I”m enjoying Reflections,got to catch up on the last 2 posts! Sounds like you have accomplished quite a bit this week, feels good doesn’t it! We’ve had a busy week and another one ahead. Had a great Farewell for Summer party with our Florida friends, golf today, off to visit in Lakeland tomorrow for an overnight stay then time to close up the house. Bit sad but looking forward to getting back home. 🙂 Have a great week!!

    April 22, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    • Busy time for everyone right now I think… I’m going to TRY catching up on blogs today. Hope you had a great weekend!

      April 23, 2012 at 7:33 am

Leave a Reply

