A blog about whatever randomosity my fevered mind conceives.

Drive-by blogging…

Okay, I got sidetracked so this is going to have to be a drive-by posting, as that I’m really short on time now…

Yesterday, Bird of ‘Everyone Has a Story’ nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. Now there’s been so many awards that I’ve kind of lost count (how pretentious does that sound, right?) but I’m pretty sure that I’ve already done this one… still, I promised I would accept, and so I intend to do just that. Besides, starting the day on a geeky note is good for the soul. Oh…. the ever wonderful Andromache Wilde of ‘if I die before I sleep’ also nominated me for this award a couple of weeks ago, but I wasn’t being a good sport about the award thing just then… no time like the present though, right?

As we all know, there are always rules for these things. The rules for this award are as follows:

1)     Nominate 15 fellow bloggers who are relatively new to blogging (or whose blogs you enjoy most). Hmm… maybe I haven’t done this award after all… I sure don’t remember one that required as many as 15 nominations.

2)     Let them know that you nominated them. Okay, I’m not going to do this part… the last time that I accepted an award, I pointed out that while I enjoy this sort of thing, I’m not sure how I feel about spamming other people’s blogs with the nominations, so I’m cheating and leaving this one out.

3)     Share 7 Random facts about yourself.

4)     Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you.

5)     Add the Versatile Blogger Award to your blog post. Okay, I don’t recognize the award pictures either, so this might be a new award for me after all.

Alrighty then, let’s get down to business…

Nominate 15 fellow bloggers who are relatively new to blogging (or whose blogs you enjoy most).

Gabriela Vargas of Cribbings – Like you all didn’t already guess that one was coming!! Of course I have to nominate this woman; I love her and I love her blog. Plus, versatility is so her thing!

Kyle Mew of kylemew.com (or Mew Tube) – Kyle won’t play along (he’s a fuddy-duddy about such things) but he’s always going to be right at the top of my list for these sort of award-type deals, so he’s just going to have to get used to the love whether he wants it or not.

Kana Tylerof Kana’s Chronicles – Another one that will always be at the top of my list for such things; her blog practically screams VERSATILITY!

Pete Armetta of Pete Armetta – I can never get enough of this man’s blog!

Robotic Rhetoric of Robotic Rhetoric – What can I say about this blog that I haven’t said already?

Okay, so this list isn’t very original so far, but what can I say? I know what I love, and I LOVE these people!!

Mari Sanchez Cayuso of Peace the cousciousess… – She’s just amazing… enough said.

gypsy of Through my eyes: Adventures in Borderline land – Honesty can be a rare thing in this day and age, but there’s always a good dose of it to be found on this blog.

rebelcoyote of rebelcoyote – I love his poetry! He’s got a unique style and never fails to make me smile, laugh and think.

TheOthers1 of Honesty – This blog kicks so much butt that it’s become one of my most visited pages of late. She’s funny, intelligent and extremely versatile.

All the folks over at seriosome – I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again; I love that this blog is put together from different people/views. It’s a natural pick for an award about versatility if you ask me.

Wobsy of Mental Gymnastics – I have no idea what to expect when I head over here on any given day; that’s how versatile this blog is. I love Wobsy’s unique voice, and greatly enjoy his humour.

SweetP of My Journey  – If ever I need a pick-me-up, I head straight over here for a smile.

La La of tales of a charm city chick – I’ve still got a lot of catching up to do on this blog, but thus far, I have loved every word I’ve read.

Deanjbaker of Dean J. Baker – Poetry and prose poems – This gentleman is quickly becoming one of my favourite poets of all time.

Gerald Shepherd of Gerald Shepherd’s Blog – I love stopping over here for a whimsical look at the world.

Let them know that you nominated them.

Um… hey, you people up ↑↑↑there↑↑↑? You’ve been nominated.

Share 7 Random facts about yourself.

1 – I don’t drive. I don’t know if I’ve said this before, but for some reason I don’t think I’ve mentioned it as of yet. I grew up between a median sized town with a pretty decent public transit system, and an island where it was always a safe bet to hitchhike… plus, I was always broke as hell and couldn’t afford a car back in the day, so I just got used to walking, hitching or bussing it everywhere I needed to go. As I got older and less broke, I was pretty content in my ways and didn’t feel the need to drive; why participate in polluting the planet when I’d gotten along so long without doing so? Now that I’m in Alberta, I live in a small town and I can walk to damn near anywhere I need to go in twenty minutes or less. The only problem is the weather; in the dead of winter, twenty minutes outdoors is hell!! This is why I’m finally planning on getting a license.

2 – Maybe you’ve noticed this one, maybe you haven’t; I don’t call my man my ‘boyfriend’ very often. We’ve been together a long time and ‘boyfriend’ sounds weird when it rolls of my tongue. Occasionally I call him my ‘boyfriend-type guy’ or my ‘husband-type man’ but usually I just call him my man or my beau.

3 – I painted my nails all different colours and used four different shades of crackle as a tribute to the Easter Eggs that will be painted and consumed all over the globe over the next few days.

4 – I hate the texture of Jell-O. I love the flavours, but I almost never eat the stuff because the texture grosses me out. However, when I was pregnant with my first daughter, orange Jell-O was one of the only things I could stomach for some reason, and so I ate a ton of the stuff.

5 – I’m a total closet geek. One of the top 10 things on my to-do list for the next couple of years is to make it to San Diego for Comic-Con. We were actually scheduled to go the summer I found out I was pregnant with Kara, but we ended up giving our tickets away (sad face). For the event, I had two custom costumes made up; Lulu from Final Fantasy X and Alice from Resident Evil Extinction (the movie). Yep, I’m just that damn cool.

6 – My favourite RPG video game of all time is Final Fantasy VII. I’ve been eagerly awaiting an announcement that they plan on remaking the title for the PS3, but it’s yet to come. My bestest nerd-pal tells me it will never happen; I hope this is one of those rare things he’s actually wrong about.

7 – At this exact moment in time, I’m craving an Astro-Pop sucker. Does anyone even remember those things? Does anyone know if they still make them?

Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you.

HUGE thanks to both Bird of Everybody Has a Story, and Andromache Wilde of if I die before I sleep; it was hard making my nominations without putting you both on the list. I feel greatly honoured that two such amazing writers as yourselves would think of me for this! Thank you ♥!!

Finally…

Add the Versatile Blogger Award to your blog post.

{They both had different pictures up for this one, so I figured I should just post them both}

 

Okay folks, that’s it, that’s all… I got to run.

13 responses

  1. TheOthers1

    Woot woot! Congrats on your award. I think you’re incredibly versatile. 🙂

    April 6, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    • Hehe… that’s just a nice way of saying that I have the attention span of a fruit fly, but thanks!!

      April 9, 2012 at 7:13 am

  2. congrats and thanks – i feel the love

    April 6, 2012 at 12:37 pm

  3. bpshielsy

    Congrats 🙂

    April 6, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  4. gypsy116

    Congrats and thank you 🙂

    April 6, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    • Thank you… and you’re most welcome!

      April 9, 2012 at 7:14 am

  5. SweetP

    Thanks Robin and Congrats!!! You are an inspiration! xx

    April 7, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    • Aww, you’re so sweet to say so! Hope you easter was great!!

      April 9, 2012 at 7:15 am

  6. Congrats and thank you for the recognition yet again. I’m glad you love my drivel.

    April 7, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    • Thank you… and you’re most welcome. P.S. It’s far from drivel sir… your poetry rocks.

      April 9, 2012 at 7:15 am

  7. Even your blogging on the run is supremely entertaining!! I love this site!

    April 10, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Leave a comment